We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

A nice hotel in a fantastic location. Small room but clean and with a decent sized bathroom. It also had a fridge and good (and most importantly quiet) air conditioning.

The view was non-existent (basically onto an internal courtyard).

The pool area had plenty of room, sun beds, parasols and tables to sit at. The pool, while small, was comfortable to cool off in.

The staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating (willing to advise on where to eat, get your laundry done, etc).

I'm giving 4 stars instead of 5 for the simple reason that our room only looked out onto an internal courtyard and as a result was quite dark.

You can get cheaper hotels in Nerja but I doubt you'll get as good value as here.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (567)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Puerta del Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

My family stayed in this hotel as a one-night stopover en-route to Salobrena.

The hotel was clean, had good facilities and the staff were polite and helpful.

There is no hotel parking so the best option we found was to park in the adjacent underground car park (entrance from Calle La Cruz), a minute’s walk away, and once unloaded move the car elsewhere due to 24-hours parking costing about 24 euros. However, the first 15 minutes were free.

With some perseverance we found a free ‘blue’ car space just outside the old town centre and walked back to the hotel – about 10minutes. There is a free open car park just north of the old town (entrance from Calle Ingenio) about 10 minutes away, but we knew we would come back to a car thick in dust.

Because the hotel is located up a narrow alleyway within the old town of Nerja, there is no sea view; however, this does not detract from its charm.

Literally around the corner is the Balcon de Europa with its spectacular views and bustling night-time activity - as were all the main streets in the old town.

Breakfast consisted of a ‘help-yourself’ menu offering cereals, ham, cheeses, bread, pastries, tea, coffee and fruit juices. As much as we could eat.

We would certainly select this hotel again if we needed to stay in Nerja.

Many thanks to the hotel staff.

Room Tip: The best rooms were overlooking the alleyway with small balcony. However, being in the town centre t...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Panaman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

If you are planning a visit to Nerja this hotel is a great choice for a few nights. It's right downtown and close to everything. The rooms are not the biggest but enough. Roof top has a great little pool and a nice view over the mediterranean and the rest of this touristy city. We had a few problems with check-in, since the staff didn't acknowledge our booking through hotels.com. It took quite some discussion to solve this. Eventually the manager solved it but not without arguing.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kfriis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This small hotel is close to Balcon del Europa and all the amenities. The hotel room was spacious and very very clean and clean bedding every day of our stay. Breakfast had plenty of variety, staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The pool area is small but adequate. Although our room was on the street side we were never disturbed by any night life. We have just returned home after 11 nights there and would definitely return. Well done to all the staff at Peurto del Mar, there are a lot of hotels that could learn a thing or two from them!!!!
Forgot to say this hotel also has a lift

Room Tip: We were in room 102 which was street side next to the church and a three bedded room for two of us...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie3891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights at Puerta del Mar recently and really enjoyed it. Very clean hotel, fairly priced, with friendly staff and a great breakfast. Set in a brilliant location it is just 3 minutes to one of Nerja's smaller beaches, and located just off the Balcon de Europa, this hotel offers something for everyone.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Kerry82Kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

From the moment we engaged with this hotel, our experience was exceptional. The staff could not have been more friendly & helpful, the location was great, it was very clean and the breakfast was really good. We would definitely recommend the hotel and we hope to return ourselves soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Stayed here a few times in the past and have found the staff, the cleanliness of the hotel and the breakfast very good. Perfect sunbathing area with a spalsh pool to cool down! The staff here made us feel very welcome and would return here in September but we just fancied a change this year. Puerta Del Mar comes highly recommended!

Room Tip: Only tip is to ensure you seek parking somewhere in and around the town as there is limited space ne...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nasha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#4 of 37 in Nerja
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,820 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
1,052 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerta del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta del Mar

Address: Calle Gomez s/n, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#1 Family Hotel in Nerja
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range: £50 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Puerta del Mar 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nerja 50 meters from the beaches, this small and recently renovated hotel features a saltwater POOL, Solarium, WiFi, Air/Heating, Refrigerator, Safe, TV. Includes free Continental Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Puerta del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta Del Mar Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing