We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel in the heart of everything.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
La Loma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great little hotel in the heart of everything.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Just got back from a short break in the Puerta Del Sol in Nerja and had a fantastic time. The hotel is amazing, clean, fresh, cure and the rooms are fantastic, we had a triple room with an extra bed and there was still enough room to have a party in if you wanted to. The room is basic but just great. Bathroom is ace and very big also. The only thing bad I have to say is that the beds were a little hard and the pillows were far too hard and flat. The breakfast was great too, simple but enough to get you going for the day. The reception staff were fantastic and nothing was too much for them (Javier, thanks). There is a left luggage room too so you can still use the pool etc on the day you go home and even showers and towels for you to clean up before you travel. The pool is small but adequate to cool off in and we usually had the pool and roof terrace to ourselves for the day. The only thing I missed was a poolside bar but drink could be purchased at reception to take to the pool or your room. We will definitely be visiting this hotel again, it is a little gem amidst the massive, non personal hotels surrounding it. Free WIFI in all rooms and all over the hotel too. Well done.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lalomaRY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    120
    29
    1
    2
See reviews for
83
322
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at the Puerta del Mar for the second year running, and, as last year, it didn't disappoint. The rooms are a good size, and scrupulously clean; the cleaners visit every day. The air conditioning has a 'quiet' setting, which was great, once I'd worked out how to use it! Our room, which had a small Juliet balcony, was overlooking the street. Despite this, it was very quiet with the blind down (you can hear the chiming bells of the Church of San Salvador, which is opposite, but I like that!) Breakfast is a buffet style, with plenty of choice. The salt water pool on the roof is lovely. All in all, a great hotel in an ideal location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennylou077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Hi, have been my wife and I in this hotel and everything was perfect, clean rooms, polite and very friendly staff, and excellent food. We caught taxi to visit the caves of Nerja and firigliana which is highly recommended. The transfer from the airport we have done with a company called www.transfernerja.com which also has a 5% discount for round trip, that comparing it to the airport taxis savings is much higher. In addition the car has brought free Wi-Fi and card payment system which was great. THANKS

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

A nice hotel in a fantastic location. Small room but clean and with a decent sized bathroom. It also had a fridge and good (and most importantly quiet) air conditioning.

The view was non-existent (basically onto an internal courtyard).

The pool area had plenty of room, sun beds, parasols and tables to sit at. The pool, while small, was comfortable to cool off in.

The staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating (willing to advise on where to eat, get your laundry done, etc).

I'm giving 4 stars instead of 5 for the simple reason that our room only looked out onto an internal courtyard and as a result was quite dark.

You can get cheaper hotels in Nerja but I doubt you'll get as good value as here.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

My family stayed in this hotel as a one-night stopover en-route to Salobrena.

The hotel was clean, had good facilities and the staff were polite and helpful.

There is no hotel parking so the best option we found was to park in the adjacent underground car park (entrance from Calle La Cruz), a minute’s walk away, and once unloaded move the car elsewhere due to 24-hours parking costing about 24 euros. However, the first 15 minutes were free.

With some perseverance we found a free ‘blue’ car space just outside the old town centre and walked back to the hotel – about 10minutes. There is a free open car park just north of the old town (entrance from Calle Ingenio) about 10 minutes away, but we knew we would come back to a car thick in dust.

Because the hotel is located up a narrow alleyway within the old town of Nerja, there is no sea view; however, this does not detract from its charm.

Literally around the corner is the Balcon de Europa with its spectacular views and bustling night-time activity - as were all the main streets in the old town.

Breakfast consisted of a ‘help-yourself’ menu offering cereals, ham, cheeses, bread, pastries, tea, coffee and fruit juices. As much as we could eat.

We would certainly select this hotel again if we needed to stay in Nerja.

Many thanks to the hotel staff.

Room Tip: The best rooms were overlooking the alleyway with small balcony. However, being in the town centre t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Panaman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

If you are planning a visit to Nerja this hotel is a great choice for a few nights. It's right downtown and close to everything. The rooms are not the biggest but enough. Roof top has a great little pool and a nice view over the mediterranean and the rest of this touristy city. We had a few problems with check-in, since the staff didn't acknowledge our booking through hotels.com. It took quite some discussion to solve this. Eventually the manager solved it but not without arguing.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kfriis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This small hotel is close to Balcon del Europa and all the amenities. The hotel room was spacious and very very clean and clean bedding every day of our stay. Breakfast had plenty of variety, staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The pool area is small but adequate. Although our room was on the street side we were never disturbed by any night life. We have just returned home after 11 nights there and would definitely return. Well done to all the staff at Peurto del Mar, there are a lot of hotels that could learn a thing or two from them!!!!
Forgot to say this hotel also has a lift

Room Tip: We were in room 102 which was street side next to the church and a three bedded room for two of us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie3891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.4 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#10 of 38 in Nerja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.4 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#6 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Puerta del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Puerta del Mar

Property: Hotel Puerta del Mar
Address: Calle Gomez s/n, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Nerja
#1 Family Hotel in Nerja
#3 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Puerta del Mar 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nerja 50 meters from the beaches, this small and recently renovated hotel features a saltwater POOL, Solarium, WiFi, Air/Heating, Refrigerator, Safe, TV. Includes free Continental Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Puerta del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puerta Del Mar Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing