We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nerja Caves”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cueva de Nerja

Cueva de Nerja
Book In Advance
More Info
US$35.48*
and up
Frigiliana and Nerja Day Trip from Malaga
Ranked #2 of 48 things to do in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: With a volume of more than 100,000 m3 and a surface covering 9,371 m2, the Tourist galleries represent approximately one-third of the cave. The cave has been used as a habitat, a burial site and for cultural expression. There are remnants testifying to the passage of hunters, gatherers and fishermen from more than 30,000 years ago. The General Visit starts with the screening of a audiovisual presentation in which you will be able to see spectacular details of the cave (10 minutes). Then an audio-guided visit through the different chambers of the Cave, in a pleasant walk of about 45 minutes where you will discover the many secrets the grotto keeps (audio-guided in Spanish, English, German, French, Italian and Russian). When the cave closes its doors, a small group of privileged people can enter the mystery of the underworld to enjoy the magnificence and beauty of the cave, and discover its secrets. You can choose between three modalities of Exclusive Tours
Franklin, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nerja Caves”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

The caves were interesting and claim the largest column in the world (according to the Guinness Book of World Records).

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank nette15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,239
    1,173
    357
    92
    73
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Saved this visit for a wet day. Unbelievable to think someone actually lived there all these years ago. I found myself looking at my feet and hanging onto the railings a lot in case I stumbled. Would have liked a guide or a commentary, even a map, to point out and describe more than we probably noticed. We were held up behind a large party with a Spanish Guide, and there was no room to pass them, so I guess in the height of the season it could take a lot longer from beginning to end. Glad I visited though.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anne1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga
Level Contributor
466 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Try it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Go there, beuatiful. The walk was ok, but what we would really like to try is a music experience in the caves

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank DonaMalaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

If you can manage steps make this trip. We went on local bus which was busy but fine. Gift shop and very nice restaurant on site and pretty gardens. Spectacular caves and colours. They will take your photo entering the caves.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dettorifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Totally spectacular!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

Went here on a rare rainy day in Nerja. Cost is 8.50 per person, but it is totally worth it.

Once you get down into the caves, it is absolutely mind-blowing to think that these were formed over millions of years by dripping water.

I went with 5 other people, and we were all very impressed. I have been to a few other caves in Canada and France, but these were by far the most spectacular I have ever seen.

The path to walk around them was very well-maintained, and clearly signposted.

The caves themselves are lit very nicely - so you can see all the detail, but it is not too bright. Very atmospheric.

Overall, impressive, and well worth a visit to anyone - especially on a rainy day in Nerja!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank christocar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cueva de Nerja also viewed

Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Cueva de Nerja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing