We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cueva de Nerja

Cueva de Nerja
Book In Advance
More Info
US$35.37*
and up
Frigiliana and Nerja Day Trip from Malaga
Ranked #2 of 47 things to do in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: With a volume of more than 100,000 m3 and a surface covering 9,371 m2, the Tourist galleries represent approximately one-third of the cave. The cave has been used as a habitat, a burial site and for cultural expression. There are remnants testifying to the passage of hunters, gatherers and fishermen from more than 30,000 years ago. The General Visit starts with the screening of a audiovisual presentation in which you will be able to see spectacular details of the cave (10 minutes). Then an audio-guided visit through the different chambers of the Cave, in a pleasant walk of about 45 minutes where you will discover the many secrets the grotto keeps (audio-guided in Spanish, English, German, French, Italian and Russian). When the cave closes its doors, a small group of privileged people can enter the mystery of the underworld to enjoy the magnificence and beauty of the cave, and discover its secrets. You can choose between three modalities of Exclusive Tours
Glasgow
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I was very impressed by the caves, they were stunning. Well worth a visit. There is a bus from Nerja or you can walk it (if you are reasonably fit) it takes a bit more than 30 mins. The caves shut around siesta time, so check opening hours before you go.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank icecreamfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,166
    1,149
    346
    90
    66
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A different world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

This far exceeded my expectations. The caves are massive and breathtaking. I felt I had walked into a scene from a fantasy movie. Just amazing, not at all claustraphobic. The lighting was so well done. Do wear shoes you have a good grip with as you have to negotiate steps. Entry is 9 euro - very worth it. We spent approx 1.5 hours enjoying. There is a cafe outside with beautiful views - great for an ice-cream sundae. This is definitely worth visiting if you are in the area.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank paddyzim42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Would have liked to have seen more!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

The Caves of Nerja are really stunning in both size and beauty. It was a shame that none of the cave paintings are on public view and that only 1 replica is on view in Nerja museum. The bus services are a little erratic along with the closure for siesta, best to go early morning and make the last bus before the closure as you can find yourself a little stranded.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachelbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
496 reviews
221 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“I've seen a few caves in my time.........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

......and these are amongst the very best, indeed claimed to be the best in Western Europe. This was in late April so well out of season and with about 30 people inside the vast space. There was no water on the floor to make for slippery conditions but the first few yards were where you could lose an ankle or twist a cartilage. There is a step down of about 4-6 inches completely unmarked and it gave me a shock, thereafter it was plain sailing. The largest column in the world apparently at 15m wide and 30m tall is worth the visit alone and it is surrounded by a field of vast fallen chunks of stalactite. All the usual formations are there to see and in abundance. The comparative lack of colour (there is some) and the dryness and lack of dripping water surprises after visiting so many caves where the rain still falls on the land above. These caves were made when
Spain in the South was still a temperate place. Allow somewhat over an hour to do the place justice. Whatever their website says there is no discount for seniors but at 9Euros it's a bargain for such a magnificent spectacle. Parking is 1Euro on exit, again very reasonable. Cafe on site and the inevitable gift shop selling tourist tat as the whole world over.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank OLDGIT71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Get Here Before The Buses!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We have had holidays in the area many times over the last 5 years and this was our first visit to the caves. Our daughter is 7 so we didn't visit earlier as I don't think it is a place to go for under this age as there are a lot of steps and slippery spots. It was a very reasonable price to enter and you can easily spend 1 to 2 hours when taking your time and stop and sit in the viewing areas. I can imagine it can get really busy here with coach trippers, so my advice if you are hiring a car is get here before 10.30am before it gets too crowded to be enjoyable. I have been told by a reliable resident that one of the current beach bar owners on Burriana beach was one of the original boys to have discovered these caves, apparently he was found by the police to be using a skull as a football with his friends after they had found the caves, it was then he was questioned, and the caves revealed. Well worth a visit!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank torremendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cueva de Nerja also viewed

Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Cueva de Nerja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing