We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely small and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Los Arcos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Los Arcos
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Cramlington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Definitely small and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

What a lovely hotel this is. Very quiet, has cheap food. You can get reasonable size tapas for 1 euro 50 and pizzas big enough to share for 6 euro. We tended to have our main meal through the day so this was enough at night when you didn't fancy the walk back into town. The hotel is on the outskirts of town which made it quiet - well in January anyway. Lots of ex pats use the bar though as there is happy hour from 5.00pm til 7.00pm where you buy a round of drinks and get the next round free. We booked a superior room which had a large terrace with sunloungers and table and chairs and the terrace got the sun all day. I have also reviewed La Biznaga and Cafe Mandarina for food. Take DVD's/CD's if you like as we had a player in the room which was a nice touch. Also the TV had a few English channels.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PK2Cramlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    156
    45
    8
    7
See reviews for
57
314
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Lovely little hotel, only 17 rooms which were all well maintained and comfortable. We had a room with the terrace onto the pool so got to enjoy the pool and sea view as a bonus. Staff were always welcoming and all we had to do was ask and nothing was to much trouble. Lovely place to relax and unwind. Location is on a pretty steep hill but adds to character and the peace and quiet.

Room Tip: Pool view room enjoy all day sunshine
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KingQuick_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle UK
Level Contributor
160 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Arrived at this hotel from Malaga airport. Stayed 5 nights in November 2011. Journey took about 50 minutes from picking up the car. Hotel idea located from the main road. However it is a distance from the centre of Nerja, a brisk 20 minute walk, there is a short cut down to the beach, about 15 minutes. Hotel is very quiet and has 6 parking spaces in front of hotel and an abundance of parking on the side road adjacent to the hotel. On arrival at the hotel checked in by reception and shown to our room (nice touch). We paid for a standard room which was a very good size. I have the seen the comment about the hotel looking tired, the bedrooms are certainly not, however the hotel has a bar which doubles up as the breakfast area which is used in the evening by ex-pats.Nice people who have obviously made their money and settled for a nice venue in the evening. The bar was not that busy but did offer you second free drinks once you had bought one. The breakfast variety was limited and was just OK. There was however a decent cooked breafast. The hotel does offer half board but strangely the half board option has to be taken at lunchtime. The restaurant which we used twice, was excellent. If you reminded staff you were staying at the hotel they gave you a free bottle of wine with the meal. If you wanted a hotel something closer try the Perla Marina, ideally placed in the centre, but make sure you are located in the main hotel and not the annexe. Would certainly go back to Los Arcos hotel, they had some stunning long stay deals on offer but they are not posted on their web-site.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view albeit some distance away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Qualitytraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Ok so there are some negatives about this hotel but there are many more positives. We were a group of six women on a weekend away. This is an adult hotel and not suitable for children, the pool area is too deep and there is nothing there for kids. We were in standard rooms and all thought our rooms were clean, big with lovely big balconies. There are hairdryers in the bathroom (this is not mentioned on their website) and table and chairs in the room as well as on the balcony.

The breakfast was a bit of a bun fight and they did replenish things if you waited but it was very manyana. Lunches were ok but probably nicer places up the road. We didn't try the restaurant. The hotel is about 15 minutes from the beach. It is uphill on the way back but none of us found it a problem. Town and Balcon De Europa were further and after a long walk one night we got taxis the rest of the time. Only 7 euros though. We would recommend Cochrans in Balcon de Europa for a drink.

They could do with a drinks/snack bar round the pool and should definitely not allow glass around the pool - someone broke a glass while we were there. There were a few older sunlounger covers but most appeared new.

The receptionist was very friendly but the waitress and bar staff were miserable!

If you are coming for a week or two there are probably better places to stay but for a weekend break this is great value and you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VHB550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

We had a very peaceful week at this nice little hotel. Our room was fine with our own little terrace right beside the pool. We could just walk straight in and it was a good temperature. The restaurant attached to the hotel called 'La Braseria Iberica' was very good and as we were of pensionable age, it was nice to have it right there and not have a long walk afterwards. Los Arcos is quite a long walk up and down steep hills to the beach and to town and the buses are a little few and far between so it was either taxis or shank's pony and in the heat, it was rather tiring for us old folks. We took a taxi to Frigiliana, a lovely village of narrow street, whitewashed houses and beautiful flowers and the bus back. We also did the same with a visit to the Caves of Nerja, well worth a visit. I certainly would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jainine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

We came as a group of 8 friends for the last week in August/first week in September and loved our stay.

We all booked the superior rooms which were worth paying the little bit extra for as some of the terraces/balconies were fabulous in size with their own sunbeds and even a shower.
The rooms themselves were big enough in size with lots of storage space. The bathroom was fairly small but had a large shower cubicle. They were cleaned daily to a high standard. The rooms all had good air con along with a safe which cost 2 euros per day to hire. Also they had all the UK channels in the room ITV, BBC etc which was handy. Rooms were also equipped with a fridge and a kettle.

The pool and pool area was great and we had the pool practically to ourselves. One suggestion I did leave on the hotel feedback form was that there should have been a pool bar service offered as you had to dress and then go downstairs to the bar to order drinks. Had a waiter come to the pool and taken orders I am sure we would have ordered much more drinks so the hotel could be on to a good thing if they did that! I did find also that the glasses and bottles were never cleared away until next day so the hotel should really have someone going round clearing up the pool area especially as there were often glass bottles lying around.

Breakfast was adequate and a bonus that it was served until 11am. Quite often though the food trays would be empty but if you asked they would happily cook some fresh bacon and eggs for you. Their lunchtime snack menu was well priced as were the drinks in the hotel bar. The bar area had free wifi in too.

The hotel itself is in a good location- personally I prefer to be away from the hustle and bustle and quite enjoyed a 20 minute walk in to the main town at night, a taxi home only cost 7 euros so not too bad! Burriana beach was about a 10 minute walk from the hotel and I would recommend the “Restaurant at Burriana beach” for dinner- they did a fab 3 course meal for 25 euros which was excellent! Also the paella place on the beach is well worth a visit at lunchtime as they are famous for the making the largest paellas in Nerja and only charge 6 euros plus you can go back and have a 2nd helping for free! Again a great place for lunch.

We ate at some lovely restaurants in the centre of town including Scarelettas and Pinocchio and they were all reasonably priced. We never ate at the hotel restaurant as unfortunately they didn't do vegetarian meals and said that they couldn’t cook anything for our friend apart from potatoes and vegetables which was disappointing.
The caves are a nice 30 minute walk from the hotel and well worth a visit too.

All in all I would stay here again and I absolutely loved Nerja having only been here the once, I will be going back soon for sure!

So if you are looking for a nice clean quiet place to stay in Nerja don't hesitate to book this hotel I am sure you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Book a superior room, worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FionaM39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

We booked a superior room which we found very nice. It had it's own veranda which went down to the pool area so we could sit by ourselves or around pool area with others which were mostly English and Spanish people. The TV had a fair amount of English channels which makes a nice change from German or Spanish only channels. Shower was okay and the room was cleaned to a high standard. We also had a fridge which was handy and the air con was fine. The beds were okay but not the best beds we've slept in.
The public area was fine if a bit dated. Breakfast was not that special and not much off it so get there early if you want a bit of bacon!! I would not recommend half board as the menu was very limited and there are so many other places to go.
The bar was very reasonable with a happy hour between 5 and 7pm. At this time it gets quite busy with ex-pats who were really friendly and told us the best places to eat and drink. The shorts are branded and not the usual rubbish you sometimes get abroad.
The restaurant next door served very nice food but lacked atmosphere as it was very quiet.
We found all the staff to be really nice and very helpful.
Nerja centre is really nice and we walked it most days. It takes about 15 minutes, more uphill on the way back but it was a problem for us. There were loads of good restuarants and many tapas bars. A great place for sitting back with a glass of wine and people watching.
Supermarked nearby and a cashpoint is also there.
Good English bar just up the hill from the Supermarket if that's what your looking for. We ate there twice when we wanted some home cooking after a night on the beer. Have to say that the food was really nice. The guy that runs it was a really nice guy (ex footballer) who kept the place open until the small hours.
All in all the hotel was adequate and value for money. Burriana beach and Nerja really nice and we would return but only if a superior room was available

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karen100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
1.3 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
2.1 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#12 of 38 in Nerja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Arcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Arcos

Property: Hotel Los Arcos
Address: Urb. Nerja Golf | Ctr. Málaga - Almería, Km 293, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#13 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Los Arcos 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Los Arcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Arcos Hotel
Los Arcos Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing