We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and freindley” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Los Arcos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Los Arcos
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel and freindley”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

Love this litle hotel,had a week hear in june,its in a great spot at the top of town,its abought 10/15 miniutes walk to the balcon,4 mins to a large supermarcedo, The pool was good one prob a bit short on parasols, I ate at the bestro two nights its ok and a bit pricey and salty, so its a good
idea to get down town lots of choice and inexpencive,
Only problem i had and some of the other guests was double booking, I booked with hotels.com
and had a phone call the day before departure informing me they had no room in the hotel and they would have to put me in an apartment, the hotel receptionist said it was near the pool and had a balcony,but it was a private apartment and they would not be cleaning it,
So i thougt ime only there for a week, No problem no extra charge it was brill, No aircon so just
left ceiling fan in lounge on full wak 247 (And it had a bath) gave that some hammer,
I never got to see what the hotel room were like but i know they had showers,
I am thinking of going back to nerja and i would book this hotel direct a little more expencive but i bet ther is no problems.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gromit071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    156
    45
    8
    7
See reviews for
57
314
19
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Stayed here for 8 days in July and upgraded to the superior room although having seen the standard rooms there really is no need unless you are looking for space as all the rooms are lovely . Our room was spotless, cleaned every day , sheets every other and towels as and when you needed. The shower was amazing and the calmness of this hotel spreads all over.

The pool area is stunning and so so quite, the beds have matresses on that are three inch thick so it feels like you are in bed outside in the sunshine. I could have quite easily stayed there all day every day but there are so many beautiful things to do in Nerja that I couldn't ( If you have no walking difficulites then do the Mountain River walk, it was the best thing we done)

There are only 17 rooms here so the staff here have the time and attention for you, the bar area is well maintained , they have happy hour from 5 till 8 and the bar is well stocked. The breakfast is plentlyful and the restaurant serves fantastic food!

Good location ( although the beach is a trek) all in all an amazing find, we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunchaserLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex England
Level Contributor
129 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Small family-run hotel but not in the least cramped. Far from it and the layout and colour scheme is much more attractive than the Thomson guide suggests. The standard of finish is high and the free WiFi is a bonus (particularly useful as despite what it said in the Thomson ring binder about a rep visiting three times a week to offer local help, no Thomson rep ever came near this Hotel during our two week stay, and the few pages in the binder itself tell you nothing of the region). Very friendly staff (not all English-speaking despite most guests being British but no communication issues nonetheless). A very relaxed atmosphere for guests though the staff work hard. Many guests were regulars and make direct bookings, buying cheap flights and catching the subsidised bus to and from the airport, saving on the Thomson package price - very wise given that there is not even a rep on the Thomson bus transfer. However, Thomson guests do get access to all the facilities of Nerja Club nearby including a gym but that is a cold, generic hotel with a roadside restaurant and expensive drinks so we avoided it. However, book excursions through their Reception with Viages Verano, to save walking to Chaperil; do not bother with Gibraltar especially if you do not hold a Euro passport as you will not get in
Burriana beach is a good 15 min walk (20 mins back as it is all uphill) and the town centre is more like 25 mins walk in Summer (not allowing for refreshment stops on the way). Although the hotel is on the outskirts of town the caves are a long walk (especially in 40 degrees of relentless sun) so take the bus for 1 Euro each way. It stops right outside and the trip is well worth it.
The restaurant is good for an Hotel, verging on excellent but not expensive. Tea making facilities (not coffee) in the room and a small (empty) fridge which you can fill with beers and wines from the supermarket almost opposite. Buy a couple of cheap towels for poolside use as the Hotel rental charges of 1 Euro a day per towel quickly mount up. All in all, a good place to stay but you can save money on the Thomson brochure price by booking your own flight, transfer and room, just avoid the poolside chalets that have no air-conditioning. If we return, we will do so because that is all Thomson provide (though you can phone their UK support office if you can get through and do not mind paying international mobile rates, or text them for £1 per text surcharge - but do not expect same-day response.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms are better than road facing ones. Some self-cater chalets may not have aircon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

our first visit to nerja,whilst the hotel is a little way out of town its so nice we stayed round the pool most days and walked into town in the evening when it was cooler.plenty of sunbeds in a nice quiet pool area surrounded by tropical plants and trees.a well stocked bar and snacks provided all day.tried to book a superior room but settled for a standard-no complaints,lovely large balcony and plenty storage space in the room which was cleaned everyday.we thourougly enjoyed our stay at los arcos-friendly'charming,well kept and value for money.

Room Tip: superior rooms have terraces with their own sunbeds but all rooms have decent sized balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindisfarneWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Our second visit to Los Arcos, and it just gets better each time. If a quiet, easy going, relaxed atmosphere is your thing then you can't go wrong at this hotel. None of the usual fights for sunbeds around the pool etc, and the clientele seem to be the same sort of like-minded people who are looking for a quiet break in the sunshine. It is a walk uphill back from Nerja town as a lot of people have commented on but it really is a pleasant one. The drinks prices in the bar are so reasonable, and with happy hour 5 until 8 every evening it's very easy to spend your pre-dinner drinking time outside the hotel in the bar, listening to the unobtrusive music in the background and the water fountain adding to a really lovely atmosphere. The staff seem genuinely please to have your custom and are all so friendly and helpful, especially Alicia, the lovely receptionist for whom nothing is too much trouble. We look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Superior rooms have there own sun terrace and is well worth the slightly extra room rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DollyMixture37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Our card keys would not work there was no night porter there was a phone number but we were at the festival Saturday night so did not take phones with us we ended up sleeping rough as we could not get in the front doors when we told the management they were not interested offered no apology we were treated very badly with this we also could not get into our room on several occasions we had seven different room keys but nice hotel uncaring staff

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquivous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Quality!

It's always a real pleasure when a chosen hotel exceeds expectations, it makes the entire holiday so much more enjoyable and Los Arcos is exactly that, a small, friendly, expertly run , superb value hotel - a genuine gem!

Our standard room was impeccably clean and comfortable with the added bonus of multiple English speaking channels, including ITV,BBC and Sky Sports - essential for wall to wall football coverage of Euro 2012.

Other excellent facilities included highly reliable, super fast free wifi in public areas, superb value snack bar including a selection of Tapas for just €1.50 each. Coupled with two for one drinks during Happy Hour from 5-8pm it was difficult to spend money and easy to spend lots of time around the hotel.

Although there is an almost overwhelming abundance of delicious eateries in Nerja, the Hotel's own gourmet taps restaurant ranked among the best if you ask us. It's also superb value with one option which includes a small tapas starter, followed by a larger tapas one not quite the size of a racion but substantial enough, then coffee and dessert and accompanied by a glass of vino tinto and a glass of Cava for €15 per head! Fantastic!

I get the impression the restaurant is new. The hotel itself was built as recently as 2007 by two Spanish brothers who each, incidentally married English girls earlier this year. This is worth mentioning as there is a definite family atmosphere to Los Arcos which is maintained by friendly efficient staff, all of whom speak English - mas menós.

Also the hotel will arrange their own transfers to and from Malaga Airport for just €60 which is reasonable enough as an alternative to an otherwise arduous bus journey. We took to bus to the hotel which added greatly to the transfer time. Fifteen minute wait at the airport, 20 minute travel time to the bus station for another 40 minute wait and finally an 80 min bus trip to Nerja centre and a five min taxi ride to the hotel. While this is undboutedly the cheapest way to do it without a hire car we reckon speed and comfort of an airport transfer costing 60 yo yo is worth it just for the extra time in Nerja. To put this in context it meant we could have breakfast and check out at ten rather than leaving the hotel at 7 or 8am for a 12pm flight

Breakfast is not exactly inspiring but it is plentiful. The buffet is small as befits the hotel but they replenish everything promptly upon request if required and crucially breakfast is served until 11am which is exactly what every hotel should do!

Rooms on the ground floor open onto a cloister with arches leading directly to the pool which has ample sun-loungers of the highest quality - the cushions are 3 inches thick. We also spent many long lazy hours soaking up the sun in perfect peace and quiet as there are no families with young kids.

Nerja is our first choice destination in Spain from now on and and we will definitely stay at Los Arcos again. We highly recommend it to anyone.

Top quality - a genuine gem!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MP1Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
1.3 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
2.1 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#12 of 38 in Nerja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Arcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Arcos

Property: Hotel Los Arcos
Address: Urb. Nerja Golf | Ctr. Málaga - Almería, Km 293, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#13 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Los Arcos 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Los Arcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Arcos Hotel
Los Arcos Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing