We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, a reasonable stay”
Review of Hotel Los Arcos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Los Arcos
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Overall, a reasonable stay”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

First, the positives. All the staff were friendly, and the lady who generally works at reception was fluent in English and both charming and helpful. The cleaning ladies do a fantastic job and the rooms were kept spotless.

We paid a little extra for a superior room and it was well worth it. We enjoyed a large room with a very large balcony, equipped with a table and two chairs but more importantly two good quality sun lounges each with a good thick cushion; these were very comfortable indeed. Our room was equipped with a small fridge and a safe, included in the room rate. The bed was very large and very comfortable.

At lunchtime there is a good variety of snacks including sandwiches and burgers, all reasonably priced as indeed are the drinks. After about 15:00 (until around 22:00) the bar menu reverts to tapas (which we didn’t try) and pizzas (which we enjoyed and were reasonably priced at EUR 6.00).

Happy hour is currently from 17:00 to 20:00. You pay in full for your first round of drinks and afterwards take your ticket to the bar where the same round is duplicated free of charge. This is very good value.

There is an annexed restaurant which now focuses on gourmet tapas. The best approach is to ask for the special offer which includes a starter tapa, slightly larger “following” tapa, a dessert plus one glass of wine and one glass of cava. The price from recollection is about EUR 16 per person.

This seems like reasonable value, but after VAT is added at 10%, it starts to look a bit pricey. One is tempted by the headline price although to be fair, the menu plainly states that VAT is payable in addition.

All that said, we generally found the quality of the gourmet tapas to be very good indeed although I had a scare when I found one of the pork tapas to be undercooked. Nevertheless, when I complained, it was replaced free of charge with a different dish and without any fuss which I think is fair enough.

Now to some less positive points. Unfortunately, the onset of “happy hour” sees the arrival of a considerable number of expats. Nevertheless we found plenty of room in the drinks garden (happily the evenings were quite warm) but even inside there was plenty of space.

Less enjoyable was that some of the expat crowd could be quite loud and some unfortunately drank somewhat more than was probably sensible. By and large however this crowd largely evaporated shortly after 20:00.

In terms of breakfast, for a three-star establishment, I have had both better and worse. The cooked items usually comprise fried eggs, bacon, baked beans, and sliced-up frankfurter sausage. Inevitably, the bacon is not as lean as we are used to in the UK but to be fair it is fairly typical of what one experiences in southern Europe.

Occasionally we would find that the last two or three eggs in the heated container did not look particularly appetising but to be fair, we simply asked at the bar and fresh eggs were fried to order.

There is a lot of fresh fruit available and usually watermelon. My wife and I both enjoy watermelon, but dare not risk it because it was out in the open and the area was plagued by flies (the whole of Nerja, not just the hotel). I think it would be a good idea for the watermelon to be placed under a transparent cover.

For those preferring a “continental” breakfast, there are warm rolls available which are very nice plus small muffins, small croissants, and white/brown sliced bread together with slices of cheese, ham and salami which are kept in a transparent enclosure and therefore safe from flies. Unfortunately, the toaster is rather slow in its operation.

A plus point for us was that breakfast is served until 11:00 since we are late risers. By then, however, the coffee in the boiler was often cold or the boiler was empty. To be fair, however, we simply asked at the bar and fresh coffee was made for us from the machine.

One irritation was a hotel rule prohibiting guests from taking drinks purchased at the bar into the restaurant. This is contrary to the practice in most hotels and it is difficult to understand the motivation.

As far as I understand it, the restaurant and hotel are owned by the same people and if one has paid for a pre-dinner drink at the bar it should not be a problem to take it into the restaurant. Indeed, at good-quality hotels, the restaurant server will often take your bar drinks through into the restaurant for you. Very puzzling and irritating.

Finally, you should be aware that a large supermarket is under construction almost next door to the hotel. By the time we left (October) substantial progress had been made with the superstructure but it is difficult to estimate how long the project will take to complete. I would not be surprised, however, if this ran into several weeks if not a couple of months.

It is tempting to hire a car, but we didn’t bother. We booked with the hotel directly and obtained a decent price for a taxi transfer to and from the airport (EUR 120) plus discount off the room rate. We tended to walk down to the relatively nearby Burriana Beach (where a number of restaurants and bars are located) and then get a taxi back (uphill ! ) - the taxis charged a fixed fee of EUR 7.00 anywhere within Nerja.

There is a lovely little village nearby called Maro which can be reached on foot. The walk is almost completely flat and if you are of average fitness it will take you about 35 to 40 minutes.

The Nerja cave complex is amazing and can be reached by local bus very easily. Similarly, there is another beautiful little village called Frigiliana not too far away but it would be quite a hike and probably not a good idea when the weather is warm and sunny. A local bus from the centre of Nerja will take you there for one euro each way.

Despite a few irritations, our overall view is that it was a reasonably enjoyable stay.

Unfortunately, the rating system has no point between "average" and "very good" - I would actually rate it as "good".

Room Tip: Best to pay the bit extra for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MadeiraLover75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    166
    46
    9
    8
See reviews for
59
338
22
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had a very enjoyable and comfortable stay. The hotel is spotlessly clean with good facilities. There is a three hour "Happy Hour" daily, sometimes with live entertainment which is very popular both with hotel guests and locals. The restaurant has a high standard of good quality food and is fairly reasonable in price. Free wi fi is advertised but its not always available which can be fustrating.

Room Tip: rooms on pool level very convenient if you are a swimmer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 283Nerja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had a superior room, which was spotless, spacious and comfortable, the fridge was a nice touch. The HUGE balcony had lovely padded loungers (and a shower!) with great views of the mountains and town. The pool area had the same comfortable loungers and was very attractive. However, there is some noise by the pool from the supermarket being built opposite, although this will be only a temporary inconvenience. Location was easy to find, car parking available in the side street if no spaces in front of the hotel.
Downsides are the breakfast, which I would rate as only ok, and the fact that we couldn't get wi-fi in our bedroom.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoreenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Another very enjoyable stay at this lovely,quiet,peaceful little out of town hotel.This hotel is only classed as a three star but deserves higher very good value for money.
Don't be put off by some reviews about the walk into town it is not as bad and steep as people say or the three hour happy hour. From the moment you check in with Alicia you are made to feel very much at home ,all the staff are very friendly and polite always saying hello.
The rooms are cleaned to a very high standard every day with a change of bathroom towels if required.All the public area's are kept spotlessly clean as well.
This time we stayed in a superior room well worth paying the extra for.All the rooms have a little fridge with tea and coffee making facilities.
The tapas in the bar are very good value as are the bar snacks.If you want to pay extra the restaurant is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are very good but superior rooms are bigger with bigger balcony well worth paying the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard1265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hotel has a bus stop right outside it, so if you fly to Malaga you can get here for less than 10 Euros per person (bus to Malaga bus station, then bus to Nerja) as opposed to £30 plus per person on a shuttle bus. We booked a superior room and it was lovely, spacious and very clean. The terrace was very large, private and comfortable, with views of the mountain to one side and views over the town and the Med to the other. For the price you pay this hotel is truly remarkable, the decor in the room is pleasant and modern and you get a decent sized fridge without having to pay extra per day for it. The drinks in the bar are a good price, we didn't try the tapas here but the pizzas from the bar are tasty and the hotel restaurant is exceptional, you must visit it even if you don't stay in the hotel. The breakfast is pretty average but there's plenty of it and lots of choice. The staff here are absolutely brilliant, wonderfully friendly and genuinely happy to help. We have to give a special mention to the lady on reception who was amazing. The pool is also great, a bit on the chilly side but you soon get used to it, and it's nice to see the pool guy there every morning cleaning it and maintaining the water quality. We never had a problem getting loungers. We've gotten into the habit of staying in 4 star and above so we weren't sure how we'd find it, but we were really happy we booked this hotel. I don't think we've ever enocuntered such fab vale for money in such a beautiful holiday destination. A tip... the beach is easy enough to get to walking downhill for 10 to 15 minutes, but walking back up in the afternoon sun is a killer, so if you do walk down to the beach, call into a bar, get a cool drink and ask them to call you a taxi... apparantly there's a flat fee of 7 Euros for anywhere in Nerja.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 110. The terrace feels private and the room door is handy for the pool, we felt sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The best hotel we have stayed in for a long while,the staff make it.
Upgraded to a superior room prior to arriving, emailed Alicia and she came up trumps (nothing wrong with std rooms, room 112 was a treat for us)
The hotel was clean & tidy. the food excellent, only the outside could do with a few euros spending on it and a bit of TLC, tapas lunch 1st class not over priced.
Out of town location was ok for us, a bit of a drag up and down to Nerja centre.
Please Mr Los Arcos look after the staff you have got they made our stay fantastic.
This was a good thing as we went with Thompsons and the rep never came to the hotel, we were dumped on a coach at the airport, had to load our own suit cases, a rep didnt travel with us to any of the hotels on route to ours. The following morning we spoke to a rep in the street out side the Nerja Club, she asked why we didnt attend the welcome meeting (what meeting) she said the airport staff hadnt done their job (AGAIN) she noted our room number on the back of her hand and said she would push a welcome pack under our door that night, it never came,and we never clapped eyes on her again, I am only glad we didnt need to use their 24hr emergency number,we also spoke to other guests in other hotels who mentioned the same problems, one guy called her (katie) a liar. NOT GOOD THOMPSONS many many thanks to all the staff at Los Arcos, not quite 5 star yet, lets hope it wont be long.
PS we are trying to book for next year the hotel is almost booked just need to arrange flights (not be going with Thompsons)

Room Tip: Any problems with the rooms the staff will do their very best to sort, small and friendly only 17 ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Just spent a week at this hotel and we think it's great. It's small, lovely and clean with friendly staff and value for money. I would say it's probably more suited to adults without children as the pool area is quite small. It's situated on the edge of Nerja and it is a bit of a trek to the beach, quite a hill coming back. Level walk to the beautiful back streets of Nerja with plenty of restaurants and little shops. A trip to the caves is a must...about 2 km up the road.
We will definitely visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#6 of 37 in Nerja
147 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.6 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
1.3 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 37 in Nerja
300 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Arcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Arcos

Property: Hotel Los Arcos
Address: Urb. Nerja Golf | Ctr. Málaga - Almería, Km 293, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nerja
#13 Family Hotel in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Los Arcos 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Los Arcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Arcos Hotel
Los Arcos Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing