We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and Great people”
Review of Nerja Donkey Sanctuary - CLOSED

Nerja Donkey Sanctuary
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking
Leighton Buzzard, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good and Great people”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Having just come back from Nerja have to say the highlight for me my wife and little girl has to be the Donkey Sanctuary. We went took the short walk from our hotel last wed and on arrival met the lovely lady who runs the sanctuary its free to get in they just ask for a small donation so you can feed the animals I was more than happy to give them 10 euros. The work these people do is amazing and the animals are looked after so well. We met the gentleman from Manchester as well had a really nice chat with him and he gave us some history of the place... I cant speak highly enough of this place its amazing the work these people do def def go and visit if you are in Nerja. Keep up the good work guys

.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    99
    20
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great activity with kids”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We were happy to visit the Donkey Sanctuary. We were there with our college age son who really enjoyed this experience. For a nominal fee (just 2 Euros), we were given a large bucket of food to feed the friendly donkeys, horses, pot-bellied pigs and a VERY friendly sheep. So nice to see volunteers taking such good care of these animals. A nice stop, and our son's favorite!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ijaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Good work going on!”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Had a short visit to the sanctuary during our stay in Nerja. 2 euros for a bucket of food to feed the donkeys which was good fun as was the sheep who just helped itself! Lots of flies around but that was to be expected so not really an issue. The volunteers here are doing a great job.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gilldawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Pot-bellied Pigs & Neanderthal Knuckle Scraping”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Before this educational visit to Nerja Donkey Sanctuary my previous experiences of donkeys were restricted to Blackpool Pleasure Beach, a restaurant in Südtirol and a bootleg DVD that was illegal in Western Europe.

Rarely a family holiday passed without my father leaping on to a salty donkey and riding it along the lapping, turd-ridden shores of the Côte d'Blackpool like an obscene rodeo.

It was heart-warming to see donkeys in their natural habitat of the Costa del Sol, as they burped their way along the strip, feasting on San Miguel and swearing at Looky Looky Men.

The wonderful volunteers at the sanctuary also care for several pot-bellied pigs, their comical undercarriages scraping the ground, much in the same way as Wayne Rooney's neanderthal knuckles. The pigs, not the volunteers. Several expats give up the time and money to care for these animals and it is wonderful to see the empathy that Britons have with their animals.

Some of the donkeys had been used as literal drug mules, transporting narcotics across the Spanish countryside. When the authorities had seized the drugs, the local authorities were planning to melt down the bones of the poor donkeys and use the glue to bind together the Spanish economy. Fortunately the kind-hearted souls from the sanctuary noticed the donkeys' plight, intervened and transported them to Nerja to live out their days being petted by British tourists.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Thuram T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A Must See if you Love Animals”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We decided to see two Nerja attractions in one day, so went to the caves at Nerja first and then caught a taxi from the caves to the Donkey Sanctuary. Nice to go to a place where people are caring for animals and rescuing them after having been mistreated or abandoned. Good idea of the sanctuary to give you a bucket of food for the animals when you give a donation. We saw the tallest donkey we've ever seen at the sanctuary! Watch out for the friendly greedy pot-bellied pigs as I didn't watch out and was nudged by one of them quite a few times which then left big muddy (or worse!) pot bellied snout marks on my new cut-off pants and legs. My fault for not watching out - the pigs are only doing what comes naturally. Is also a good idea of the sanctuary to give out a laminated sheet giving you info about the animals as you walk around. There were some lovely big eared puppies there when we went too. The sanctuary isn't as big as I thought it would be as the walk around is short, but obviously the most important part is giving the space to the animals. If we go to Nerja again, we'd definitely visit the sanctuary again. It's not too far a walk from the sanctuary to the centre of Nerja as we then walked back to our hotel.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TillyFloss_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nerja Donkey Sanctuary also viewed

 
Nerja, Costa del Sol
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing