We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice looking beach shame about the raw sewaga”
Review of Burriana Beach

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nerja
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Burriana Beach
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We loved the look of the beach of burriana and the bars and the tapas bars that run along side the beach but what no one tells you is that the sea on most days well when i was there 1st 2weeks in sep 2012 is that there is raw sewaga in the sea and that a boat has to come along to scoop it out every day this really should be sorted out so dissapointing

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
12  Thank mort8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed in Capistrano Playa in a wonderful villa, booked with flights separate. Wonderful pool for residents. Had a great time in the waves in the sea first couple of days and first week. Second week, lines of dirty brown stuff started appearing in the sea, accompanied by the retreat of a lot of swimmers.

Last few days, the various contents of what you would normally see in the bin by the toilet started appearing in the sea plastic bags, personal hygiene stuff etc.

Our family got back to UK with daughter suffering bad diarrhea. Myself and daughter both had slightly odd feeling tummies after first week and now we suspect we know why.

Having Googled "Burriana Beach pollution", we've now seen quite a few comments.
We booked our holiday partly because Nerja was supposed to have some sort of 'blue flag' beaches or equivalent.

What a mockery that the Spanish "Q" rating has been given to the beach.

If you go, make sure your hotel or whatever has a great pool.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank bobrally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Have a drink on the far end, but say no to Ayo's restaurant. Mixed beach of locals and tourists, very full, lots of umbrellas, chairs, etc obstructing true enjoyment of the beach but lovely none the less. Lots of good waves if the water is warm enough to enter. Topless is acceptable!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChiquiHerrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2007

If you are staying on the main road that goes through Nerja to the north of town and want to try this beach, bus only seems to run in the morning to the beach. It is a very steep walk back up hill to main road which took us 30 minutes in the heat so hire car best option. Beach is bigger than the others with selection of small bars and restaurants suited to British tourists. The beach is clean with plenty of sun loungers with some divided into sections with roses which is a nice touch.

When I tried to go into the sea in May this year there was a big dip in the sand which took me by surprise and was suddenly waist high in water. I dont know if this was just the time of year or the norm so word of caution I would say.


10  Thank Countryquine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2007

I live here in Nerja, two minutes away from Burriana Beach, and local opinion generally has it that these days Ayo's is far from being the best paella on the beach - never mind the coast!
It is entertaining watching it being cooked but the content is disappointing - there should be all sorts of ingredients in a true paella and not just a large amount of cheaper cuts of chicken with a few bits of shellfish and a whole load of rice!
Watch the show, but if you want a good paella try somewhere else - a number of the other merenderos (beach restaurants) offer a Paella Especial option, (usually for a minimum of two people) -it is a bit more expensive but well worth the difference.
Can't agree about the beach being quiet either I am afraid - at weekends it is impossible to get parked after about 10.00 in the season, and by 11.00 you'll be lucky to get a sunbed.
The rest of the beach is packed most of the time especially in August, as are the restaurants and bars in the majority of cases.

Stayed: August 2007
12  Thank joninnerja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2006

Having been visiting Nerja for around 15 years at least once a year we feel that we have a good knowledge of this lovely resort. Burriana beach in particular has seen many changes and when we first went there were only a couple of restaurants (including the famous AYO's). Now the beach has been fully developed (in the best possible taste!) - there are many eating/drinking places from your basic 'English breakfasts' to the very stylish but not too pricey eateries (all child friendly). The main Spanish restaurants are on the beach and serve varied menus - AYO's serve the best paella on the coast - he cooks it in a 5 foot pan on an open wood fire - a site to be seen even if you don't eat paella.
The beach itself is a safe sandy arc of bay with plenty of sunbeds if needed. Lots of loo's and showers. It's never over busy and it's clean. The beach can shelve in places and may take small children by surprise if they are not aware of it.
All in all a quiet beach for a quiet holiday - enjoy!
Les & Judy

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nydelig utsikt over sjø og strand
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank familietur2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Paraiso del Mar
0.2 mi away
Jose Cruz Hotel
Jose Cruz Hotel
#27 of 37 in Nerja
39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#4 of 37 in Nerja
220 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Hotel Plaza Cavana
#11 of 37 in Nerja
421 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carabeo
Hotel Carabeo
#14 of 37 in Nerja
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burriana Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burriana Beach

Address: urbanizacion El Litoral 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Nerja
Price Range: £54 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Burriana Beach Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing