We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb little place just a few minutes stroll from the heart of the old town.”
Review of Hostal Abril

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hostal Abril
Ranked #4 of 32 Nerja B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights 23rd to 27th January. We already knew that the location was good as we had noticed it on a previous visit to Nerja. It's just a couple of minutes stroll in one direction to the main bus stop for Malaga, Frigiliani & Nerja caves and a couple of minutes the other direction to the heart of the old town with its abundance of restaurants and tapas bars. The decor is very sophisticated, giving it the feel of a boutique hotel. Our room, which overlooked the rear garden, was very modern with ample wardrobe space, flat screen tv, digital safe, kettle and small fridge. which was handy for milk and water. One very minor niggle was the lack of power sockets which meant we had to unplug the bedside lamp and fridge in order to charge mobile phones/camera batteries.
It really is a lovely place in an excellent location and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2012

This is as pretty as it looks in the photos. Located a short (200m) walk from the main bus stop so great if you are feeling brave and use public transport - which is really EASY from Malaga airport (just over 6 euros each way instead of 30 for pre booked transfers) The family speak a little English and are very nice. The rooms are just like a hotel, cleaned daily - fresh towels. FANTASTIC shower! We were in 104 - there is a secure safe in the room. I have one criticism... as I think the room could benefit with a chest of drawers as there is a nice fitted wardrobe and bedside tables as well as a nice big mirror. There is a small balcony and the patio door has shutters which is brilliant as we slept in until 0930 or later as the room is pitch dark - I wake when the light comes in so I needed shutters. When the weather turned a little cooler a duvet was placed between the sheets by the cleaner, there's aircon, radiator and a TV. Perfect. Free WIFI too in lobby as well as in the room. There was also a PC for guests to use. They do not do food, however 20 yards downhill is the DUQUE cafe and they do English Breakfast for under 5 euros... bacon, eggs, beans toast and tea/coffee.... Lovely cafe. The hostel has no lift but the man carried my bag upstairs which was nice. Thank you it was a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Our ensuite in 104 was shower only no bath which was perfect for us and it is at the back of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngieMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We booked a 3bed room for 2 nights. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. The Hostal Abril is good located. The stuff is friendly but speaks little English. If you come by car, you have to park it in a garage near the hostal. We can recommend the Hostal Abril for a short stay in Nerja.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Big_Three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Stayed for the first time in this Hostal and we'll go back for sure!
Clean, modern and cosy, a 5 min. walk to the 'Balcon de Europa' and close to many bars and restaurants.
Friendly staff, a nice little garden, free wifi...
For me this is not a 2* Hostal but a 3* Hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bierlover72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012 via mobile

I booked hostal Abril for one night and u just travelled by myself, can't believe that they offered me an apartment!!! Oh my god! It's really amazing!! The house is very very cozy and comfortable!! Everything is perfect in the house but the wifi !! I can only receive the wifi signal in the living room! The bedroom have no signal at all!!
The location of both hostal and apartment are close enough to the bus stop and balcony of europe !!
I like hostal Abril ! Good value!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kennixnix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here for the firt two weeks in July . We had a room facing the narrow street to the front. The room was small but it was cleaned every day , towels changed etc. the shower was ok for me as I am tall and slim, but if you have a weight problem , as in ,a wide girth, then the shower would be a wee bit tight. The people who ran the Hostal were very helpful and friendly. And we could use the wi fi free of charge, we also had air con ,free. And a small safe in our room,also free. To the rear of the property was a lovely garden where you could just chill out on the sun beds or or there were several seat and tables. We found the Hostal perfectly situated for all the bars and restaurant ,but just far enough away from these places that we had no noise problems. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
5  Thank FaginWestlothian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

During May we toured Andalucia and stayed at a variety of hotels; hostal abril was clean and basic, good value for money, parking was non existant although we could unload and load the car from a few metres away, we then found a free car-park for the rest of our stay. Don't expect wifi it was hopeless!

Nerja is an excellent resort, the Balcony of Europe is stunning, fantastic views, hostal Abril was a 10 minute walk from the beach, in the old town. We liked the tapas bars especially La Biznaga in the square next to the church, excellent wine too.
When staying on a room only basis it's ideal if you take a travel kettle and tea bags, maybe its an age thing!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Angela186351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#3 of 37 in Nerja
245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Monica
Hotel Riu Monica
#5 of 37 in Nerja
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
580 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#4 of 37 in Nerja
1,112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nerja Club
Nerja Club
#12 of 37 in Nerja
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Abril? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Abril

Address: Calle Pintada 124, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range: £27 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Abril 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New and modern hostal located at the main Street of Nerja Town. Just a few minutes walking to the Balcon de Europa and the Salón and Calahonda Beaches. The hostal has double with single use, doble bedroom or family rooms. All the rooms has completed bathroom en-suite with hair dryer, flat screem television, air conditining, central heatin, free safe deposit box. There is a terraze / solarium with sunbeds where our clients can have sun. Free Wiffi in all areas ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hostal Abril reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Abril Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing