We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Value right at the Balcon del Europa”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Marissal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Marissal
Ranked #5 of 32 Nerja B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
154 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful Value right at the Balcon del Europa”
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Could not believe this location for the price. You are right at Balcon del Europa. Soooo handy!

Rooms were pleasant, neat and clean. One warning: our Garmin did not reflect that the streets in the area are walking only. One needs to head DIRECTLY to the city car park and then walk the last two short blocks

Room Tip: Streets in the area are walking ONLY
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry98027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    74
    18
    9
    2
See reviews for
38
120
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

have stopped at this hotel 3 times in the past 10 years and found on each and every occasion that the hostal provided great value for money. Based on the Balcon del Europa at the heart of the old town the hostal provides clean and neat accommodation at everyday prices. Car parking is in a nearby municipal car park but don't let that stop you.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockyRobin70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2012 via mobile

This was by far one of the best stays I've had. The service, cleanliness, rooms, locations and value for money was exceptional. 3 nights of great sleeping.
Will definitely recommend and most certainly come again.

Muchas Gracias!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluelightning1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
125 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

Hostel is in a perfect location right beside balcon, room probably needs to be refurbished but had a comfty bed,WiFi was free and worked very well in room ,staff were friendly ,it's good value for money

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed here in August of 2012 for a week. The location was perfect! The front desk staff were extremely helpful. Anything we asked for, they were able to help us with. Our room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant food was great for breakfast; however, service was a bit of a letdown. Would highly recommend this hotel for its convenient location, price, comfort and service.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the Balcony of Europe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Stayed here with a family group for a wedding. The location is second to none right beside the Balcon De Europe hotel and with a big open restaurant with seats onto the main square which quickly became our base for the holiday.The food was tastey here too.Bonus. The hotel is cheap and cheerful with plain traditional style rooms. Our view was of a nasty plastic internal roof but other family members got lovely sea views or street views so request one of these if it matters to you.The bonus of this place is that there is aircon thats fairly good and nice big clean towels aswell as a fairly big room and bathroom. The location is the best thing though so would stay here again for this alone.
The negatives are that its more like a self catering place.Reception is at the back of the restaurant and is not manned. You must wait for a waiter to see to you when they have a chance. And incidently the staff are not very friendly to the point of passive aggression.They serve you but with a sense they would rather be scooping poo with their hands than doing it. Shame as Nerja is a lovely town but they seem to look down their noses at tourists.HEY WAKE UP we are your bread & butter. I personlly found Portugal a waayyy more friendly country. Anyway I digress, another thing i didnt like was the lack of iniformation on check in or available in the room such as the fact that the main door gets locked at night and after this there are no staff around.very worrying if there is an emergency as there is no emergency phone number and the main door is blocked reducing the fire exits to one which is a bit of a fire hazard! So hold onto your key cards safely because if you loose it you are stuck sleeping on the street!! All in all read my warnings and if they dont matter to you this is a great place to stay :)

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view of the square or the street NOT the internal roof with cigarette butts on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babydoll27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We stayed at the Hostal Marissal in August 2012 for 4 nights. We decided to stay at this hostel for two reasons, 1) due to its central location right on the Balcon de Europa, and 2) it was a fair bit cheaper than booking any of the nearby hotels. On arrival we were not disappointed. The room was clean and comfortable, and had everything a basic hotel room would have. Our room had a view overlooking the square and church, and had a small balcony which was nice - even though the square is quite busy at night time, I didn't have trouble sleeping at all, it wasn't too loud. The reception desk is open all day, but closes at night, you can access the hostel through the restaurant/bar area. If coming back to the hostel late after closing-time, there is a side door where you can swipe your key to gain access. I felt the place was pretty safe and secure. The only negatives that I can think of is that it doesn't have a swimming pool and the food/service in the restaurant downstairs wasn't great. I wouldn't bother paying the extra rate for breakfast to be included, better to go elsewhere for breakfast, although it is a lovely spot to sit and relax if you're just having a snack during the day or a drink in the evening.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the square and church may be a little noisier at night time, but it never affected...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crow84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 38 in Nerja
518 reviews
0.4 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Hotel Plaza Cavana
#15 of 38 in Nerja
380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 38 in Nerja
941 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#11 of 38 in Nerja
562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Marissal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Marissal

Property: Hostal Marissal
Address: Paseo Balcon de Europa 3, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Marissal 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Marissal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Marissal Hotel Nerja
Hostal Marissal Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing