We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Great Location”
Review of Hostal Marissal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Marissal
Ranked #6 of 32 Nerja B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just back from a 6 night stay in this hotel. It's called a hostal but it is really a hotel. We upgraded to a room overlooking the Balcon and it was the most amazing view to walk up to every morning. We were a bit worried there might be a lot of noise from tourists (like us!) walking up and down the Balcon, but we were very surprised and had a great night sleep every night. Beds were very very comfortable and all in all a very pleasant stay. The breakfast included in the price is very basic (tea or coffee, orange juice and a croissant or toast), if you want anything more you can - but pay for it. It was great to have breakfast on the terrace with great views of the mediterranean. Rooms were very clean with daily cleaned, although a little tired looking. A big plus for women - the plug for your hairdryer was right beside a mirror! Hotel guests get the benefit of 10% off all food and drink and there is free wifi and a safe in the room. The reception is not manned over night but there is an emergency phone number. All in all, highly recommend for the most fantastic location and would stay again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to rooms overlooking the square or Balcon. We stayed in room 104. Standard rooms are calle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HikerGerro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed two nighte here and would have liked to stay a lot longer. The location is fantastic and the rooms lovely. It was very nice to have breakfast on the terrace with views of the Mediterranean. We definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise_Berglund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Having booked through booking.com I sent a request for a sea view which was completely ignored however on arrival I was offered an upgrade at a cost to a much smaller external room which could not possibly fit me and my two children. The staff were friendly but the room is very dismal with a shower to high to reach and the water pointing at the wall, very difficult to use. I booked because each room has a balcony, ours was internal, looking into another room, not even a pleasant interior patio. I've stayed at much more pleasant hostals in nerja, also without a sea view.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank samgreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Stayed at this hostal in March 2014 as we had checked out of the Mediterraneo after staying one night (it was awful). This hostal was a palace compared to the mediteraneo. Staff were lovely and the rooms are great value. Situated on the Balcon de Europa you you think that this hostal would cost a fortune but it was not and I would definately recommend it. I would book this hostal again when I return for a holiday.

Room Tip: There are rooms overlooking the Balcon De Europa, rooms overlooking the plaza and rooms on the side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda j J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I have stayed in this hotel before and after this trip am planning to stay again.The staff are friendly, helpful, and the rooms are spotlessly clean, The continental breakfast is a great way to start the day sitting on their terrace overlooking the sea and watching the world go by.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark10London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is actually a hotel, not a hostal. Nothing fancy but a great location and everything was clean and nice. The rooms were surprisingly quiet. Some rooms have no view so ask for a room overlooking the plaza for just a few euros more. I loved hearing the church bells ring! Being here off-season was perfect, not too crowded, and the weather was nice. The wifi works perfectly. We ate breakfast in the restaurant one morning, which was just OK. This is a great value hotel, very affordable. Great location for the town, plaza and beach. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCuriel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Great hostal in the heart of Nerja and in the most popular part of the town. My room was spotlessly clean and a decent size, with a nice view over the plaza. Friendly and helpful staff too. Well worth considering as an alternative to a more expensive hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#4 of 37 in Nerja
580 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#2 of 37 in Nerja
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Hotel Plaza Cavana
#10 of 37 in Nerja
433 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
854 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mena Plaza
Hotel Mena Plaza
#12 of 37 in Nerja
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Marissal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Marissal

Address: Paseo Balcon de Europa 3, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range: £39 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Marissal 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Marissal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Marissal Hotel Nerja
Hostal Marissal Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing