We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem !”
Review of Hostal Marissal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal Marissal
Ranked #6 of 32 Nerja B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Forget any notions of dorms or roughing it when confronted with the term "Hostal" - this is a very comfortable place right on the amazing promenade called the Balcony of Europe; although I booked 2 months ahead of time I was not able to get a room with a sea view but I was very happy with my room overlooking the square. I did take a look at the amazing 2 bed apartment that the Hostal has in the event that I were to return one day with my husband and friends - although this lovely little place, Nerja, offers lots of apartment rentals, too. Wonderful updated bathroom, lots of towels, friendly staff (very busy though, seem quite "stressed" at times), easy communication, also by email - I was not sure exactly how to handle my reservation (website, security etc) but I eventually decided to give a creditcard over the phone (I rang from Canada) and then asked that person to confirm my reservation by email. This worked for me.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kdk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2010

Our second visit to Hostal Marissal then, we took care to check with the hostal for available dates for a sea view room. We'd been lucky before and didn't want to leave it to chance.

For those who haven't realised, the Hostal refers to rooms over a bar/restaurant, but don't let it put you off: it's basically like staying in a small B&B or hotel, it's not like Youth Hostelling or the YMCA: no dodgy dorm rooms or substandard accommodation. You have your own entrace round the side, with swipe access to keep you secure (and a safe in your room).

For the second time, email correspondence to organise our stay was rapid and very helpful, and this carried on during our stay. The staff are busy with cafe/bar/restaurant work, but always find the time to help you out if needed (it largely isn't).

We found the room to be clean, unsurprising given the maid's attentions daily (not just going through the motions). The location is great, between beaches and within easy walking distance of scores of characterful tapas bars well worth a visit. And yet still it's relatively quiet. Nothing is flashy, but it's not necessary; I wanted Andalusia not Tokyo.

For the price, a great choice, although if it was more than two of us we'd probably have found an apartment for less - but with this location, we'll check the apartment at the Marissal first, trust me.

Give it a go. Lovely place in a lovely town.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amentothat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We only stayed one night here which was not nearly enough. I made the reservation after reading Rick Steves' guidebook. The staff was very helpful letting us store our luggage since we arrived too early to check-in. Our room was on the 1st floor with a balcony overlooking the Balcony of Europe and the Mediterranean Sea. The room was clean and comfortable and with a view like that, who needs frills? It was nice to get some TV channels in English as well. The value of this room compared to the luxury hotel directly next door was a real bonus. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maryo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

We would certainly hope to return to this hostal. II will not reiterate other people's positive comments, but would like to disagree with the people who criticised the staff as being cold and unwelcoming. We found quite the reverse. Certainly they were not a bundle of laughs all the time but they were efficient and did their best to comply with requests where possible, and they did have a muted sense of humour which became apparent after a day or two. They were very honest with their charges on the terrace, where it was a pleasure to have breakfast (or at other times of the day a drink or meal) watching life going by on the pedestrian promenade next to the sea which leads up to the Balcon de l'Europe. If you feel you are having to wait too long for the bill one can always go and pay at the till. One waiter who had forgotten to bring our orange juice said he was sorry he was having a bad day and our coffees would be on him. We were charged 50 Euros for a double room (overlooking the church square and only metres away from the sea) when my husband was with me, and 35 Euros when I had the room to myself for several nights when he was away walking in the mountains. We have only good memories of this Hostal. Oh, and considering its location, we were pleasantly surprised at how relatively quiet it was at night.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank schurman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2010

I booked two rooms in January for our stay in May and requested rooms with a view. We each had rooms with French balconies that looked out on the Balcion de Europa and the Mediterranenan. Rooms were clean and basic. Bathrooms were updated. Security gate kept non clients out of hotel area. Cafe at hotel had great calamari. We loved the low key feel of Nerja. This hotel put us right in the middle of the town's main area and beaches. We parked car in the big public parking garage. Short walk from there to hostal. Wish we had stayed more than one night to unwind and enjoy the little town. Hostal was a real bargain!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel-Seal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

For value for money Hostal Marissal surely cannot be beaten. Location incredible. Service and cleanliness was amazing. Room serviced daily.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharpies9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Spent eleven nights at this hostal at the end of September '09. Check in was simple and quick having booked by e-mail some months earlier. Was initially a bit disappointed with the room given (No210) as it had no view ( only of the inner courtyard ) but it was spacious and very clean.Bathroom also very clean. This room, and the one next door, were the only two rooms in the hostal to have an adjoining door. After the second night we asked to be moved as we could clearly hear through the door the person in the next room snoring and the T.V. .Reception were happy to accommodate this request and moved us to room 114 which we found much quieter ( but still only a view of the courtyard ).All this apart, both rooms were clean and spacious with plenty of drawers and hanging space, T.V., chairs, safe's, hairdryers etc.
Breakfasts in the Marissal cafe mainly consist of toast, croissants, scrambled eggs, fruit juice, coffee. ( but NO cereals ) this was o.k. but other meals were just average. Meals are paid for as taken and not include in the room tariff ( which was 60 euro's per night ).We found the restaurant staff had a bit of a ' didn't care' attitude - wouldn't rush to take your order at the table.
Best place we found for breakfast was the Jamaica cafe - opposite the large RIU MONICA hotel (about 6-7 mins walk) - 2 eggs, 2 bacon, sausage, beans, tomato, 2 toast, fruit juice & good coffee - 3.90 euros ( about £3.50 ), but still NO cereal !!
Good beach near to the Hostal - exit side door, down the pathway, about three minutes walk.( 2 sunbeds & parasol - 8 euros all day )
The Marissal's best point is its location - on the Balcon de Europe, so your right in the centre of town.That said, it wasn't noisy at night (apart from the snoring !) and most of the town centre doesn't wake up untill about 9.00am. If your hiring a car you won't be able to park anywhere near as most of the nearby streets have no on-street parking, but you should find somewhere within 4-5 mins walk.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redboyNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 37 in Nerja
580 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#3 of 37 in Nerja
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Cavana
Hotel Plaza Cavana
#10 of 37 in Nerja
433 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Perla Marina
Hotel Perla Marina
#19 of 37 in Nerja
853 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mena Plaza
Hotel Mena Plaza
#11 of 37 in Nerja
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Marissal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Marissal

Address: Paseo Balcon de Europa 3, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Nerja
Price Range: £39 - £153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Marissal 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Marissal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Marissal Hotel Nerja
Hostal Marissal Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing