We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have paid more for better accommodation”
Review of Hostal Azahara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal Azahara
Ranked #5 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Nerja
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Should have paid more for better accommodation”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Awkward feeling of being in the way the whole time. Owners, a couple I presume, were always fighting in their native tongue, extremely uncomfortable to be around. Internet was cut off, or should I say, the door to the room in which the computer was, was locked most of the day, and at night. This also meant no tea or coffee making facilities as they were in the same room, not that I really wanted to eat/drink any more of their food/coffee after the first mornings taste.
Rooms were definitely basic, (even for hostel standard), absolutely tiny, small fan, dirty, rusty, and just felt cramped and gross! Did not want to be there for any more than the hours that I slept at night! I didn't even shower a few mornings, as the bathroom was not very clean. You could lock the door, but due to everyone having to lock the door after use (apparently people from the bus stop come up to use it without paying for accom.), people could have unlocked it while you are in there, not realising it was occupied, very silly system.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    36
    21
    7
    14
See reviews for
28
59
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

After being badly let down by another hostal (Lorca), by chance becuase we found a parking place in front of this hostal we thought we would take a chance as had remembered the negative reviews.
What a result we were offered a room at the back of the building overlooking a school,no noise after 1600 and weekends and a one-way street with no through traffic,a small balcony to sit out on,T.V.,fridge,good size bathroom and comfortable bed.The room was spotless.
When we asked for the price for 4 nights wehad to ask again as we could not believe it was 100 euros and that included breakfast!!! this was taken in the inside patio and was a plated continental,plus as much toast as you wished to make and the same with tea and unlimited coffee.
As for the comments about rudeness, Tony is a large man and in a hurry to please this combined with his loud voice and Polish accent may seem to some off putting but rude he is definitely not.
As we travel a fair bit we get asked would you use a hotel again, with this hostal we would say if you going to Nerja use this place it is well positioned,clean friendly and a bargain

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldfeller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

We had booked our one night stay at the hostal because it was near the bus station (for our return to the airport) and because it was a reasonable price. The internet booking service told us we could check in at 11am. Unfortunately, the proprietor had other ideas and he was extremely rude and said we had to come back an hour later. I'm afraid we did not think the same and told him so. He got irate and we stood our ground. He relented, eventually, and we compromised on returning half an hour later when we had all cooled down.

The room was clean. The a/c unit was noisy but worked, and we had to empty out the condensation every four hours from a plastic bottle. One night was fine. The owner's wife was very friendly, as was the owner eventually. He could, however, do with a lesson in customer service and manners.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

I booked this hostel for some friends of mine as they were coming to visit me,my son and myself had a terrible experience with the owner when we tried to book them in,a very unplesent man,i dont think he was spanish we have used a number of hostels in Nerja but will not be using this one again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilyava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2009

Two of us girls stayed in this lovely little hotel, and we had an incredible time. It's a 10 second walk from where the bus drops you off in Nerja, so it couldn't be more convenient for bus travelers, and there are supermarkets nearby. The ocean is about a 10-15 minute walk away, and is absolutely gorgeous and welcoming.
Breakfast at the hotel is toast with jam/nutella/butter, good thick coffee with heated milk, and different teas. Nothing fancy, but it does the trick. Cute little breakfast area.
Also, the owners will provide beach towels if you ask!

In this price range, this place is PERFECT!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Campo
Level Contributor
74 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

Good, Clean rooms. Bathroom enormous and clean. Breakfast was basic but very welcome. At this price you cannot expect the Ritz! Great Stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clementina06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2007

Just returned from staying 9 nights at Hostal Azahara in Nerja.Must say this place was clean and basic with one or two nice touches.We had a room overlooking the bus station and, consequently,main road into Nerja.Unfortunately,traffic noise was pretty well relentless,right into the early hours of the morning.Other guests,however,who didn't have a balcony like us or window facing onto the street,didn't suffer such problems.Noise from early morning buses and those typical Spanish mopeds was particularly grating!
Our room was large and comfortable.Towels were changed daily,including bath towels and the room was spotless.Great to have a fridge in the room,very handy for a nice cool beer or glass of wine after a day in the baking sun.The bathroom was again,large and clean.However,the bath was so small it could only be classed as a shower only,which wasn't a problem for me personally.
Good to have use of the internet during our stay.
Breakfast was basic,bread rolls,toast,croissants,and coffee/tea was available for free virtually for most of the daylight hours.No meats or cheeses to accompany rolls though.
The hostal is located in a good situation,5-10 minute walk into main restaurant area and Balcon D'Europe and fab.for bus journeys to Malaga/airport,Caves,Granada,Frigliana etc.
Would I recommend this hostal?Yes I would,but perhaps if I was to return to Nerja again for anything more than 4 days,personally I would be looking for somewhere slightly more luxurious and without the traffic noise.Lots of backpackers used this hostal during our stay and I would say it is ideal for this type of traveller and good for those wanting a bit more of a longer term base.
The people running the place only had a slight understanding of English,but this wasn't really a problem and their English was definitely better than my Spanish!

  • Liked — Cleanliness,value for money
  • Disliked — Traffic noise!!
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank shadowfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#6 of 37 in Nerja
147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bajamar
Bajamar
#17 of 37 in Nerja
204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Andalucia
Hostal Andalucia
#21 of 37 in Nerja
38 reviews
1.5 mi away
Marinas de Nerja Aparthotel
0.3 mi away
Parador de Nerja
Parador de Nerja
#3 of 37 in Nerja
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Azahara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Azahara

Property: Hostal Azahara
Address: Avenida Ciudad de Pescia No 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 53 Speciality Lodging in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Azahara 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Azahara Nerja. Familiar and cheap hostel in the center of Nerja. If you're looking for the hostels in Nerja, the Azahara Nerja hostel will surprise you, as it is situated in the heart of the town of Nerja (Malaga) and only an 8 minute walk from the beach, the Hostel Azahara is the perfect place for a relaxing vacation and to enjoy all the attractions of the area. Nerja is currently one of the towns on the Costa del Sol with greater offers of cultural wealth and leisure facilities so it has become one of the most popular tourist destinations in Andalusia. Amongst all the hostels in Nerja you can book for your holiday, Hostel Azahara is one of the hostels that offer the cheapest prices. But without sparing all the amenities you need during your stay in the city. In this way, you can save money on your vacation and travel on a tighter budget, because our low prices are affordable for every budget. But besides being one of the cheapest hostels in Nerja, the Hostel Azahara offers to visitors an excellent room service, continental breakfast, air conditioning, heaters and Wi-Fi free of charge, so you can be linked by your laptop or mobile phone at any time and get to know more about the tourist attractions of the city. In any case, at the front desk of the hostel we are always happy to give you information about interesting places to visit during your holidays in Nerja. If you decide to book a room at this cozy hostel in Nerja, you will have the opportunity to walk around the center and visit famous landmarks such as the famous Cave of Nerja, the balcony of Europe, that offers spectacular sea views, or to visit a lot of beaches of the town, adorned by beautiful cliffs such as the Natural Park of Maro-Cerro Gordo that has the quietest beaches. Ideal for those who prefer to get away from the hustle and enjoy the stunning scenery that surrounds the area. In addition, this budget hostel in Nerja is located just within a few minutes from bars and restaurants where you can grab a snack or enjoy a variety of dishes from southern Spain where the fish is usually the protagonist. Anchovies, mixed fried fish, eggplant with honey are just some of the delicacies you can taste during your holiday in Nerja. If you are travelling with friends and want to enjoy of the nightlife of the city close to our hostel you will find a lot of pubs and clubs of all kinds. Nerja also offers a wide range of leisure activities which you can enjoy during your stay in our hostel such as golf, tracking, horseback-riding, etc. In addition there are water sports such as jet boating, diving or kayaking. If you think about spending your next vacation in the city and look for a cheap hostel in Nerja, Hostel Azahara it is without doubt the best choice. And its location in the heart of the town allows not only to visit its beaches and relax from the stress of everyday life, but also to get to know the beautiful places in the area and choose from its wide range of leisure activities. Reserve your room in the cheapest hostel in Nerja and enjoy an unforgettable vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hostal Azahara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Azahara Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing