We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did the job, but wouldn't stay there for more than a couple of nights” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Azahara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostal Azahara
Ranked #4 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Nerja
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Did the job, but wouldn't stay there for more than a couple of nights”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I was a bit shocked reading the negative reviews below, as we didn't think it was that horrific. It was what you would expect for 25 euros a night really. We were there for one night, passing through Nerja on our way to another destination.
The owner was very friendly towards us actually, and we got free parking, internet usage, and lots of advice on where to go to eat etc. He was also very relaxed about what time we had to check out which was a nice change from other places we stayed at.
It is true that the room was not clean though, and the beds were questionable. Fairly large bathroom, and a nice balcony, but this did not really make up for the poor quality of the room. We found the fridge in our room useful.
The hotel is slightly away from the centre of Nerja, but all it takes is an enjoyable 5 min walk and you're there. The location suited us but might be for those who want to be closer to the beach.
Breakfast was in a nice little outdoor patio area and we enjoyed it.
Having said all this, we probably wouldn't come back and would splash out a bit more on somewhere nicer next time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveladdictmabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    31
    20
    7
    13
See reviews for
25
54
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

I reserved 3 night in this hotel in August2011. Cause i decided to go to nerja only last minute i took this hostal cause on booking.com they talked in good way about this.
It's really incredible this cause this is the worst hotel i've never slept in my life (and i often go throw europe for business).
Room was not so big, but not a problem. Furniture was not so modern, but not a problem. Bathroom was not so shine, but not a problem, breakfast not so good, but not a problem. Wireless not available but not a problem.... but it's nonsense give 2 star for an hostal in which they didn't give you anything to wash yourself (like shower gel and shampoo), a place where they didn't make your bed each day, an hotel in which electrical safety rules are ignored. In addition no air conditioning but only a noisy fan!!! But The even worst thing was the total absence of courtesy; i only asked why they didn't clean my room and make my bad and the responsible scream toward me that they were 2 star hotel and it's nonsense to waste time cleaning room every day! He didn't believe i was not able to speak spanish and started talking about his money and other strange speech regarding the fact that the hostal has only 2 star and clean a room or make the bed is for top level structure!. At the end the clean my room and the other 2 days were ok but i cannot forgot the way they talked to me without apologizing for their reaction.
The fare in addition was not so good compared to other 2 star hostal in the city (50% less!!!!). So i can suggest you, if you want to stay in economic structure to look around for hostal in nerja also more close to the city centre...you'll find them!
Ah, i forgot to write that is really a noisy hotel. Only for who could sleep in every conditions.
Hoping to have helped someone.
Bye

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cillo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Awkward feeling of being in the way the whole time. Owners, a couple I presume, were always fighting in their native tongue, extremely uncomfortable to be around. Internet was cut off, or should I say, the door to the room in which the computer was, was locked most of the day, and at night. This also meant no tea or coffee making facilities as they were in the same room, not that I really wanted to eat/drink any more of their food/coffee after the first mornings taste.
Rooms were definitely basic, (even for hostel standard), absolutely tiny, small fan, dirty, rusty, and just felt cramped and gross! Did not want to be there for any more than the hours that I slept at night! I didn't even shower a few mornings, as the bathroom was not very clean. You could lock the door, but due to everyone having to lock the door after use (apparently people from the bus stop come up to use it without paying for accom.), people could have unlocked it while you are in there, not realising it was occupied, very silly system.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2011

After being badly let down by another hostal (Lorca), by chance becuase we found a parking place in front of this hostal we thought we would take a chance as had remembered the negative reviews.
What a result we were offered a room at the back of the building overlooking a school,no noise after 1600 and weekends and a one-way street with no through traffic,a small balcony to sit out on,T.V.,fridge,good size bathroom and comfortable bed.The room was spotless.
When we asked for the price for 4 nights wehad to ask again as we could not believe it was 100 euros and that included breakfast!!! this was taken in the inside patio and was a plated continental,plus as much toast as you wished to make and the same with tea and unlimited coffee.
As for the comments about rudeness, Tony is a large man and in a hurry to please this combined with his loud voice and Polish accent may seem to some off putting but rude he is definitely not.
As we travel a fair bit we get asked would you use a hotel again, with this hostal we would say if you going to Nerja use this place it is well positioned,clean friendly and a bargain

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldfeller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

We had booked our one night stay at the hostal because it was near the bus station (for our return to the airport) and because it was a reasonable price. The internet booking service told us we could check in at 11am. Unfortunately, the proprietor had other ideas and he was extremely rude and said we had to come back an hour later. I'm afraid we did not think the same and told him so. He got irate and we stood our ground. He relented, eventually, and we compromised on returning half an hour later when we had all cooled down.

The room was clean. The a/c unit was noisy but worked, and we had to empty out the condensation every four hours from a plastic bottle. One night was fine. The owner's wife was very friendly, as was the owner eventually. He could, however, do with a lesson in customer service and manners.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

I booked this hostel for some friends of mine as they were coming to visit me,my son and myself had a terrible experience with the owner when we tried to book them in,a very unplesent man,i dont think he was spanish we have used a number of hostels in Nerja but will not be using this one again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilyava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2009

Two of us girls stayed in this lovely little hotel, and we had an incredible time. It's a 10 second walk from where the bus drops you off in Nerja, so it couldn't be more convenient for bus travelers, and there are supermarkets nearby. The ocean is about a 10-15 minute walk away, and is absolutely gorgeous and welcoming.
Breakfast at the hotel is toast with jam/nutella/butter, good thick coffee with heated milk, and different teas. Nothing fancy, but it does the trick. Cute little breakfast area.
Also, the owners will provide beach towels if you ask!

In this price range, this place is PERFECT!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nerja hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Balcon de Europa
0.4 mi away
Hotel Puerta del Mar
Hotel Puerta del Mar
#2 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Los Arcos
Hotel Los Arcos
#7 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
MB Boutique Hotel
MB Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Flamenca
Hotel Villa Flamenca
#12 of 38 in Nerja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Andalucia
Hostal Andalucia
#21 of 38 in Nerja
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Azahara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Azahara

Property: Hostal Azahara
Address: Avenida Ciudad de Pescia No 1, 29780 Nerja, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Nerja
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Nerja
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal Azahara 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel Azahara Nerja. Familiar and cheap hostel in the center of Nerja. If you're looking for the hostels in Nerja, the Azahara Nerja hostel will surprise you, as it is situated in the heart of the town of Nerja (Malaga) and only an 8 minute walk from the beach, the Hostel Azahara is the perfect place for a relaxing vacation and to enjoy all the attractions of the area. Nerja is currently one of the towns on the Costa del Sol with greater offers of cultural wealth and leisure facilities so it has become one of the most popular tourist destinations in Andalusia. Amongst all the hostels in Nerja you can book for your holiday, Hostel Azahara is one of the hostels that offer the cheapest prices. But without sparing all the amenities you need during your stay in the city. In this way, you can save money on your vacation and travel on a tighter budget, because our low prices are affordable for every budget. But besides being one of the cheapest hostels in Nerja, the Hostel Azahara offers to visitors an excellent room service, continental breakfast, air conditioning, heaters and Wi-Fi free of charge, so you can be linked by your laptop or mobile phone at any time and get to know more about the tourist attractions of the city. In any case, at the front desk of the hostel we are always happy to give you information about interesting places to visit during your holidays in Nerja. If you decide to book a room at this cozy hostel in Nerja, you will have the opportunity to walk around the center and visit famous landmarks such as the famous Cave of Nerja, the balcony of Europe, that offers spectacular sea views, or to visit a lot of beaches of the town, adorned by beautiful cliffs such as the Natural Park of Maro-Cerro Gordo that has the quietest beaches. Ideal for those who prefer to get away from the hustle and enjoy the stunning scenery that surrounds the area. In addition, this budget hostel in Nerja is located just within a few minutes from bars and restaurants where you can grab a snack or enjoy a variety of dishes from southern Spain where the fish is usually the protagonist. Anchovies, mixed fried fish, eggplant with honey are just some of the delicacies you can taste during your holiday in Nerja. If you are travelling with friends and want to enjoy of the nightlife of the city close to our hostel you will find a lot of pubs and clubs of all kinds. Nerja also offers a wide range of leisure activities which you can enjoy during your stay in our hostel such as golf, tracking, horseback-riding, etc. In addition there are water sports such as jet boating, diving or kayaking. If you think about spending your next vacation in the city and look for a cheap hostel in Nerja, Hostel Azahara it is without doubt the best choice. And its location in the heart of the town allows not only to visit its beaches and relax from the stress of everyday life, but also to get to know the beautiful places in the area and choose from its wide range of leisure activities. Reserve your room in the cheapest hostel in Nerja and enjoy an unforgettable vacation! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Hostal Azahara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Azahara Nerja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing