We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst stay ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Melting Pot Hostel Tarifa
Ranked #10 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Tarifa
Certificate of Excellence
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worst stay ever”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Me and my partner stayed in this hostel as our friends were getting married on the beach.
We booked a double room but it was so small, you can only fit the bed and your suitcases.
There are 2 bathrooms with only one toilet for everyone, the door close but hasn't got a lock in, so if you're comfortbale with the idea that someone can come in anytime while you're using the bathroom then I guess it's ok but not for me.
The shower was not that clean, beacuse so many people used it before.
Then, dont expect to sleep well in this place, it's really noisy, the room is just by the reception, the walls are thins and our room was beside someone else house, who was cleaning? working during the night..who knows what he/she was doing at this time of the night (around 4.00)
Although we were meant to stay for 2 nights, we were so disappointed and exhausted from the lack of sleep we had, we decided to leave.
The host was not really bothered but only said he had to charge us the 2 nights anyway.
To be honest, we couldnt care less as we wanted to go away.
Sorry Melting Pot, but this is poor :-(

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nutty_Squirrel678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meltingpothostels, Propriétaire at The Melting Pot Hostel Tarifa, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
miss,

I beg you to accept our apologies that your transition to the hostel was disappointing.
It is true that the double room is not big but still enough for the majority of our guests feel so good. Actually there are 5 bathrooms in the hostel for a capacity of 30 beds (soi 6 person bathroom when the hostel is full) and not two as you say. The door without the lock was repaired the same day but nevertheless you are right to point out and I reiterate my apologies for any inconvenience occasioned.
Our cancellation policy is the most flexible and less restrictive so, simply cancel your reservation one day before the date in question and no billing will be done on our part. You should have to explain why you left receptionist and it certainly will not do charge.

Again, I'm sorry, and our apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    37
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
4
20
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

My cousin and I stayed in Tarifa for just one night in March so we could take a day trip to Morocco. We arrived by bus and it was about a 10 to 15 minute walk from the bus terminal to the hostel. The best part though was how close it was to the ferry port. It took no more than 5 minutes to walk there which was so nice since we needed to be there by 7.30AM. The walled area of the town is right by the hostel which was nice for an evening walk to look at the shops. Also some restaurants and tapas places there. The hostel itself isn't too bad. I didn't like the bathrooms much because the setup was a little funny. The 5 person room we stayed in was just fine. A little cramped but we spent hardly any time there so I didn't mind. The lounge downstairs was a nice place to sit and unwind while talking to other travelers. Didn't seem like it was too busy though, probably because of the time of year. The people at reception were nice, just not overly friendly. There is a friendly cat that lives there though! While you're in Tarifa do not miss the sunset!! If you go out of the hostel and make a right, the beach is somewhere over that way. Most beautiful sunset I've ever seen! I'd stay here again if I returned to Tarifa, although I'd pick somewhere a bit nicer it it was for more than a night or two.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clm1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

I liked the stay in Melting Pot very much, very clean rooms though you sleep with seven other travellers. Great location not far from the beach and city centre. You can cook by your own at any time as the kitchen is at the guests' disposal. Decent bathrooms, nice living room where you can meet a lot of interesting people being a passionate travellers.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

I was staying in the Melting Pot Hostel on a round trip through spain and was totally content with what was offered there. The staff was very very friendly and helpful not only with things in the hostel but also recommended places to eat and visit. The rooms were clean and the common rooms and the kitchen had everything that was needed. The atmosphere was very relaxed and we met some nice people there. The hostel is located in the middle of the city right next to the old part and the ferry port. We didn't book any thing beforehand and it was no problem to get two beds, but I guess it might be different in the summer season since we stayed there in March. Definitely recomendable for fair prices.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabian_St1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Loved this hostel. Super close to the ferry port and beach. Free breakfast and wifi. Clean rooms and bathrooms and free use of the kitchen. Love love love

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pipilaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I was probably there at a strange time as there were really strong winds, so there was no surfing/kitesurfing and no ferries to Morocco. Most people were stopping in Tarifa to go to Morocco, so the vibe was a bit dull as everyone was disappointed. However the hostel is fine, nothing special to be honest, but OK. Annoyingly though I didn't have a shower for two days as there was no hot water. And hand held showers? Really? The beds were fine, particularly if you're a fan of your Gran's bedspreads and blankets. The communal area and bar is actually really nice and a good place to hang with the hippies, I mean fellow travellers. Staff were very helpful too, though failed to tell me the ferries to Morocco were cancelled when I checked in and booked two nights specifically to go there for the day. All in all, average my friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IronManTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I was here with a group of friends in the beginning of December. We were on a road trip through the south of Spain. I really enjoyed staying in this hostel. It felt like one big family. There were a lot of surfers in the hostel which only made it nicer. It has a hippy kind of feeling. The dorms are not that special but it is a very cozy hostel. The kitchen was a bit small but ok. We had one bathroom in a dorm for 8 people so it took a long time. But the bathroom was nice.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dewii_i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Alameda
Hostal Alameda
#9 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
5.7 mi away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#5 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Tarifa
Hostal Tarifa
#3 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
1.0 mi away
South Hostel Tarifa
South Hostel Tarifa
#1 of 52 in Tarifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Residencia Tarifa
La Residencia Tarifa
#2 of 52 in Tarifa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Melting Pot Hostel Tarifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Melting Pot Hostel Tarifa

Property: The Melting Pot Hostel Tarifa
Address: Calle Turriano Gracil 5, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 52 Speciality Lodging in Tarifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location:The hostel is located in the center, very close to the famous and beautiful Tarifa beach, with its views to Africa, its white sand dunes, and turquoise waters, a true wonder… The hostel:We have completely renovated a typical Andalusian chalet, to make it as practical and comfortable for the traveler: a large fully fitted kitchen, computers for guest's use, WIFI throughout the place, nice terraces (and one of them overlooking the strait and Morocco), large living room, etc… We’ve got a place where you can keep your bags on check-out day. Breakfast and sheets are also included in the price. In addition, we also have free maps of the city, board games, and the best information and recommendations on Tarifa and its surroundings.Rooms:Our rooms are spacious, with 5, 6, or 8 beds. The beds are new and comfortable, and there are individual lockers for security. Cleanliness is an important issue for us. We have hair dryers and reading lights should you need these.Activities:W collaborate with various companies in the town so that you can take advantage of the best prices if you want to try activities like kitesurf, windsurf, scuba diving, mountain excursions, horse riding, parachuting, etc…Staff:In addition to Spanish are staff speak various languages, some better than others… we can help you in English, French, and Italian. You’ll find a member of our staff 24 hours a day for any need you may have. See you soon in Tarifa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Melting Pot Hostel Tarifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing