We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb quiet hotel. ”
Review of Convento Tarifa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Convento Tarifa
Ranked #19 of 34 Tarifa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Friendly reception, all staff helpful and polite. Spacious room, nicely decorated, great shower. Room totally quiet. Highly recommended for a relaxing stay in Tarifa. Good parking arrangements with secure parking building a short walk away (parking on street is almost impossible)

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mr_Mrs_Muttley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

This place is loaded with charm: it's small, cozy, serene, and very comfortable. We spent two nights here, as a jumping off point for a day trip to Tangier. Frankly, the biggest challenge was making a reservation, as their web site never worked while I was planning my trip. I ultimately made my arrangements through another travel website, and all was in order at arrival.

The room for three was ideal -- sort of a "mini suite," with two beds in one space, and the third in another. We had a mini-bar/frig, large patio door/windows that opened (in both rooms and in the bathroom), comfortable beds, lots of power outlets, and a beautiful bathroom with spa-like shower. Street noise was blocked out well with closed windows, fortunately, although we would have preferred to have been able to sleep with open windows.

Yes, there is an ice cream/coffee bar attached to the lobby. And evidently there is some kind of breakfast service, but it was never open when we wanted breakfast, so I can say nothing about the breakfast food.

Parking was available in a garage just a short distance away, paid through the hotel. Wifi was provided, and worked, although it intermittently lost signal. Tarifa is a small town, which we enjoyed -- but beware that in the off-season, services are reduced. We noticed many restaurants just closed down completely. But if you're looking to hop over to Tangier, this is the best place from which to do it: the ferry ride is shorter, and it lands right in the city, rather than a long bus ride away. The ferry terminal was a five minute walk from the hotel.

We enjoyed our stay, and I can safely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reefwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My wife, son and I booked this hotel the day before going there and despite it being on a very main street which we knew we couldn't place it. When we arrived at the address you walk in past a cute little cafe into a beautifully finished hotel. There are not many rooms but they are fantasitcally done. The only issue with our one is that there was no outside window but there was plenty of space for our sons travel cot and buggy.
Out the back of the hotel is one of its most impressive surpises, an outside bar area in the surroundings of an old courtyard.
The staff were so accommodating and helpful with anything we needed and our son made some great friends in them.
Would highly recommend Convento and can't wait to return.
Ronan, Charlotte and Luca.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Ac works well & the rooms are clean. It is a 5 min walk to the ferry from the hotel. It is just outside of the city walls (2 blocks). The people who run it are very nice & try to make your stay a pleasant one.

Room Tip: The hotel is not well marked & I had a hard time finding it when I was driving. Get them to giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cgamb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

After the debacle of 'upmarket' Koala, searched for an alternative room and found a double room here at Convento. We could have had a larger room but the quiet room with air-con, sizeable bathroom was totally apt. Not frills here. It's a simple but very clean, friendly establishment. Breakfast was served in the cafe and the young staff were always engaging, upbeat and nothing was too much to ask including ironing a white shirt for a wedding and looking after our luggage for 2 days. THANK YOU.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Very nice small hotel (only 10 rooms) just outside the old city. Nice and friendly staff. Choose a suite, it is not a big difference on the price. They have a connecting door to standard room. Clean and fresh. You can pay ekstra for parking to blocks away from the hotel. Breakfast is also ekstra, it's ok but nothing more. They had glutenfree bread - just reme,mber to tell them whn you check in.

Room Tip: Suites has king size beds. Standard room has queen size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

On a day visit to Tarifa with friends we came across a "little" shop selling ice creams so escaped the heat to go inside and relax with lovely Carte d'Or ice creams. There was a lounge/cafe area behind the shop and it was only then that we discovered the "little" shop was actually part of an hotel. Didn't go to look at rooms, took a business card so I could look up the website later on but it was under construction. However the ground floor patio with lots of traditional Spanish furniture, decorative tiles and plants was really attractive as was the large outside area, the bar and very swish, modern toilets! Quite a surprise to find such a modern interior in an old building.obviously cannot rate the hotel but it certainly looked very promising and the staff we chatted to were friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianauni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
342 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Dulce Nombre
Hotel Dulce Nombre
#13 of 19 in Tarifa
105 reviews
5.6 mi away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#3 of 19 in Tarifa
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Tarifa Lances
Hotel THe Tarifa Lances
#7 of 19 in Tarifa
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Vagamundos
Posada Vagamundos
#15 of 19 in Tarifa
117 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Convento Tarifa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Convento Tarifa

Address: Calle Batalla del Salado 14, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Tarifa
Price Range: £57 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Convento Tarifa 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Convento Tarifa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing