We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast progress with semiprivate lessons”

Tarifa Max Kitesurf School
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tarifa Max Kitesurfing School has been giving kite lessons in Tarifa, Spain since 1998, making us the kite school with the most of experience in the area, with proven techniques to ensure you learn to kitesurf quickly, safely and with a lot of fun. Our experience makes the difference. We are a hands on owner run business looking to give you the best service and value for money and will be on the beach to instruct and ensure the quality of your course. Our commitment: in our school the teacher will be with you in the water, to help you out and give you the best chances to get up on the board from the first go. Your course will be tailor made with detailed step by step instructions. You will be taught all the techniques of kitesurfing through step by step instructions which will provide you with all you need to know to improve your level quickly. We offer reduced group courses with 2 to 4 persons per instructor, semi-private lessons and private tuition, from 18€/h with all material, insurance, assistance boat and IKO license included. At the end of your Tarifa Max kitesurfing course you'll get your own official IKO card (International Kitesurfing Organisation) allowing you to go forth into the world as an independent kiter, and rent your equipment wordwide. We sell new and second hand material at the best price and you will be able to get one day for free to try the equipment. We are always happy to advise you and answer any queries. Tarifa Max has some new and exciting developments with the partnership of B3 Tarifa who will be providing our kite school with the newest and best 2017 Slingshot kites and boards. We also offer accommodation package in our kite House, 2 minutes walk from the town beach and the town center where you will find bars and restaurants. The house also offers gear storage for those who come with their own material, free pick to the beach and an ideal place to share great times in Tarifa. There is a great ambience in this newly renovated town house, with amazing views overlooking the old town and Moroccan cost. Come and enjoy kitesurfing with us in the midst of the amazing scenery and beauty of Tarifa, the southern point of Europe. We will take you to the best spots every day depending on the wind direction. Let the Tarifa Max Kitesurfing team take care of the details, our experience does make the difference. See you soon for some great days kitesurfing !
Reviewed 22 April 2015 via mobile

We are a couple from Australia and took semiprivate lessons for two days in Tarifa.

Our instructor was Robert. Robert's English was good and we made fast progress. Also, we got advised to change the dates of our lessons due to the wind forecast, which turned out to be very good.

On the last day, unfortunately the kite kept deflating and had to be pumped several times inbetween. This meant that it kept dropping out of the sky, which was a bit annoying and also scary. Then the wind dropped and the kite kept falling out of the sky for this reason. In the end we decided to finish an our early. But this was our decision. Our instructor Robert would have given it a few more tries. We did not ask for a refund even though it was offered to us earlier.

Our instructor Robert made us feel very safe on the water. He is an exceptionally good swimmer and swam out a fair distance to assist with the kite, when my partner couldn't relaunch it by himself any more. I'd choose this kite school again next time.

Also good value for money.

Thank JudyTschakka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarifaMax, Owner at Tarifa Max Kitesurf School, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2015

Thank you for your feedback,
I m really happy to know you enjoy your time learning kitesurfing with Robert and appreciate is dedication. Robert told me you get a really good progression during this 2 days and both manage to get up on the board riding, well done !!!
Some time the kite can deflate a bit due to hard crash the valve release some air to don t break the kite.
I hope you will have the opportunity to practice again back to you home town in Western Australia, and we will see you again in Tarifa, or may be sharing a session in your home spot Lancelin.
All the best,
Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"kitesurf school"
in 13 reviews
"the owner"
in 7 reviews
"amazing days"
in 2 reviews
"patient instructor"
in 2 reviews
"great progress"
in 2 reviews
"learned how"
in 2 reviews
"two days"
in 4 reviews
"private lesson"
in 3 reviews
"water starts"
in 2 reviews
"body dragging"
in 2 reviews
"big thanks"
in 2 reviews
"professional team"
in 2 reviews
"whole team"
in 2 reviews
"coming back"
in 2 reviews
"these guys"
in 3 reviews
"kite lessons"
in 2 reviews
"roberto"
in 13 reviews
Filter

52 - 56 of 198 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2015

Max Tarifa is an excellent kitesurfing school. The teachers know what they´re doing, are enthusiastic and really flexible with times. Their level of English is very good. Mathieu is very flexible and would really go an extra mile to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
I stayed at the kitehouse, which is perfect! It´s centrally located, all brand new and clean.
Thus, Mathieu and the guys made my stay in Tarifa to a great stay!

2  Thank Mijke2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarifaMax, Propietario at Tarifa Max Kitesurf School, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2015

Thank you for your review Mijke,
It was great to share with you our passion for Tarifa and kitesurfing.
You get a really good progression over this 3 days and manage to get up on riding, well done !!!
I hope you will have the opportunity to carry on practicing in the UK and we will see you again son in Tarifa to enjoy some days kitesurfing with us..
All the best,
Mathieu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2015

Last summer I finally took my first lesson Kite! I had little time available to me to choose a school and then I decided to stake everything on the first impression and confidence ... I could have not better!
Two days of intense lessons with people, let me tell you, it was clearly they take the sea as a passion, as well as work.
Very professional, they knew motivate me even more!
Thank you so much again guys!
The next time I'm in Tarifa, go on to find definitely!
Mark

1  Thank CapitanoChore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarifaMax, Propietario at Tarifa Max Kitesurf School, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2015

Thank you for your review,
It was our pleasure to share with you our passion for kitesurfing and Tarifa.
Hope you get the opportunity to carry on practicing and we will see you again soon for some great days kitesurfing with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2015

I went to Tarifa for a 5 days (20 hours) kitesurfing course with a friend during the last January. We were both complitely beginners, but we had great expectations since we waited a long time for taking this course. At our arrival Mathieu and our instructor Roberto were ready to pick us up and drive to the beach for the first lession. The 5 days course is really well organised, and it gives you all the bases for standing on the board and slide for the first meters, and understanding how to control the kite. Indeed it leaves you the need of keeping practicing! Roberto was a great and patient instructor, he was able to teach us the fundamentals of kite always with a positive attitude and, in addition, we had good out of the context chats during the several transfers to and from the beach. Moreover, he was able to give us precious tips about how proceeding with our trainings and wether and how buying our personal material.
The choice of the kite was always appropriate and optimised depending on the wind conditions, and all the safety measures were highly stressed and explained.
Last but not least, I must mention the convenience for what concernes the prices. We paid for 4 people group lessions and the prices were the most competitive among all the schools of Tarifa. But since (being January) we were the only two students we trained the same amount of hours as we were in four, without any overcharge.
Thus I deeply recommend Max Kitesurfing School, for the professionality of its staff, for its effectiveness and convenience.

1  Thank Luca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarifaMax, Owner at Tarifa Max Kitesurf School, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2015

Thank you luca.
You really both had a great progession during this 5 days course, and will be able to carry on practicing safely now.
I m really happy to know you guys appreaciate our service, our experience teaching kitesurfing in Tarifa since 1998 and the dedication of our team always in the wáter to help really make the difference.
Hope to see you again soon in Tarifa for some great day kitesurfing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2015

I had 4 hours of lessons with Tarifa Max Kitesurf School followed with some supervision. Both the lesson and supervision were with Roberto who was easy to get along with and a great instructor! Mathieu, who we arranged the lessons with was really helpful, always keeping us updated with wind, time of lesson/supervision etc. By the end of the week we were up on the board easily and wouldn't have been without Roberto's and Mathieu's help!

1  Thank Alistair J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TarifaMax, Owner at Tarifa Max Kitesurf School, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2015

Thanh s Ali,
It was great to have you around after your lesson and see you starting riding by the end of the week. You will be for sure jumping really soo!!!!
See again son in Tarifa for some great day kitesurfing with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tarifa Max Kitesurf School also viewed

Tarifa, Costa de la Luz
 
Tarifa, Costa de la Luz
Tarifa, Costa de la Luz
 

Been to Tarifa Max Kitesurf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing