We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really cool place”
Review of Hurricane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hurricane Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I had lunch and nosed around...will definitely come back to stay over.

The setting fabulous...the lobby, bar and grounds are spiffy. The service I had was friendly.

I had lunch in the beach bar and it rates a place all of its own in the list of great lunches along this strip. A big plate of four salads..hunks of fresh tuna, mushrooms, potato and shrimp. There were other choices, but this hit the spot.

Five minutes to town in another world.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amen9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Excellent location situated close to the beach! Only 10 minutes drive to the old town of Tarifa. Good facilities, nice dining, two pools and a beachbar. Rooms are simple but large enough. We enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IVRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

We had a family room and I think they were a bit overpriced. Quality was ok, beds not new, not hot water all the time. A bit damp feeling in rooms in February but likely to be nicer in summer! Restaurant in hotel was a gem, nice atmosphere and good food! Location just by the beach, good for a morning run or afternoon surf. Horse stables next to hotel where you can rent nice Andalusian horses w guide for a good price - great experience and service!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_PSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We have one child and booked one of the 3 (I think) family rooms. We found it spacious (huge bathrooms) with nice decor and clean. It also had 2 outdoor sitting areas. The beach is about a 3-4 minute walk from the room. I don't think any of the rooms have sea view, the property is lush with vegetation, which provides a nice ambience and wind protection. The breakfast had something for everyone and we had a very nice lunch a few times at the pool bar/restaurant.

They have 2 pools, we only used the one which allowed kids, is clean, no shallow end and had plenty of comfortable seating. The beach is the place to be, you can walk a good hour, great for a morning run, a bit rough for swimming if you have wind.

As we went for windsurfing, unfortunately we did not have wind. The one day we could have windsurfed, we were told to drive down to another location, because there are too many rocks in the water directly in front of the hotel. We like to surf where we stay, so we will not return for windsurfing, but that would not stop us from booking again at the Hurricane.

Hit and miss internet connection and if you want to shop for food there are some nice shops about 10 minutes driving at the edge of the city. Tarifa has some nice restaurants and driving to the neighbouring villages for the scenery and food is a must.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swissmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Wonderful location over looking far end of Tarifa beach. Service too casual / slightly grumpy; not eager to help or please.
Rooms a bit run down, shabby chic appearance taken too far. Rusting bath feet, cracked glass door, stained blind, broken insect netting. Family room also very small for 5; could barely fit 5th bed in the room. Breakfast acceptable cold buffet.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debandjimUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Many people have spoken about this hotel and the experience of actually being there was truly wonderful. What an amazing place...a few seconds walk from the sea, a dreamy and enchanting restaurant, charming staff. We can't wait to get back.
A must for romantic couples or for the poetic solo traveler. It made us realize just why we live in southern Spain. We could have reached out and touched Africa from our terrace.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I've been to the Hurricane three times in the last 15 year and it really hasn't changed much, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, air conditioned and quiet even though the road is quite close by. The restaurant has a great selection of very well cooked food and they have stables at the hotel with some fine Andalucian horses, just be sure to book the horse riding in advance as they get very busy. Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sports-Physio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Dos Mares
Hotel Dos Mares
#5 of 19 in Tarifa
406 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
353 reviews
7.1 mi away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#4 of 19 in Tarifa
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Punta Sur
Hotel Punta Sur
#9 of 19 in Tarifa
174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel La Torre
Hotel La Torre
#8 of 19 in Tarifa
171 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hurricane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hurricane Hotel

Address: Ctra. Nac. 340,Km.78, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tarifa
Price Range: £66 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hurricane Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded by the Whaley brothers in 1983, the Hurricane quickly became Tarifa's most famous hotel, renowned for its laid-back atmosphere and unique setting. It is one of the only beach-front hotels in Tarifa, and boasts spectacular views across the straits to Morocco. The Moroccan-inspired architecture is enhanced by the tropical gardens and two large swimming pools. ​ The hotel Beach Bar overlooks the sea, and is the perfect place for a relaxed lunch. In the evenings, the garden transforms into a candlelit restaurant overlooking the pool. The Hurricane has a gym, riding stables, a surf school, and two swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hurricane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hurricane Hotel Tarifa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing