We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Located in a great neighborhood near the Ferry terminal”
Review of La Casa Amarilla

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Casa Amarilla
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Donnelly, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Located in a great neighborhood near the Ferry terminal”
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We booked our stay for one night only and arrived in the afternoon in time to check in and walk the neighborhood, dine and then prepare for are next day trip to Tangier. We found the hotel fairly easily in the small narrow streets and were able to park illegally with flashing lights long enough to get check in and bags to out room. Getting bags to your room is a chore, we had 4 flights on beautiful marble steps. We should have packed a lighter overnight bag and left the rest in the car. Trying to get it all down the stairs very early the next morning without waking other guests was difficult.

The woman checking us in was delightful and helpful with suggestions for secure parking. Our room was large enough to provide a loft full sized bed, a pull out couch trundle and a kitchen and dining area we did not use. The pull out bed was what you would expect but manageable. The bath was large with shower and tub. Bring your bath kit for shampoo, etc., as they are not provided.

Two things to consider. The desk is not staffed from I believe 9PM to 9AM. We were offered to leave our bags in house until our return from Tangier - but could not as we had to leave before a clerk was available and thank goodness as our delayed return brought us back after they closed. None of these are reasons not to select this pleasant hotel. Just be aware so your expectations are met.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DillonPayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    44
    19
    10
    8
See reviews for
20
56
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Good option if you are not looking for all the usual hotel amenities. The hotel is centrally located, close to beach and the ferry to Morocco. The rooms are nice with a little kitchen and dining area, but as the building is quite old, some parts look worn out. A hair dryer in the room would be nice. Service at front desk was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathalie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

The hotel pictures are exactly like the hotel. Very cute and quaint. However, we were taken to our rooms and one room they put us in (we had a 1 year old with us) how the bed up metal steps in a loft area, and the other bed on the lower level. While looking at it, I feel down the steps and cut my leg in two places. They never followed up, or even offered a band-aid. They do move the room. We had 3 adults and 4 children, we did book 2 rooms. The room was fine. But it did not have a phone so if we wanted to communicate with our daughter and her children, we had to go to the next level up (3rd floor). Most of this we could overcome, but there is nothing worse after falling, putting ice on my leg (I did have a contusion from the fall, and the side of my foot bruised, my being clumsy). I wanted a hot shower (did not have a bathtub), I could not get any hot water.....not even luke warm. Neither could my daughter. So none of us could bath or shower. We had to take a wash cloth and heat in the microwave. We did not have a phone in our room to be able to call the front desk, and when my husband went to the front desk (after we paid) we could not find anyone about to help us. We own a small lodging as well so I try to offer as much info as possible. I would still recommend this hotel, the town is lovely, etc. but I would ensure the hot water is addressed prior to checking in. This is where you want to stay if you plan to travel by ferry to Morraco the next day as we did. No internet and no parking, hard to find.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

I wasn't expecting much due to the low price of the rooms (less than 65 Euro) when I booked several months out, but I was pleasantly surprised. We booked the single rooms, not the apartment rooms as we were only going to need one night prior to a day trip to Morocco.

It wasn't too hard to find and the staff was friendly and very helpful. The rooms were tastefully decorated in a style complimentary to the small town of Tarifa with spanish tiles, marble, and colorful walls. The room was larger than I'd expected as well, with plenty of room for some furniture or a seating area which I wished had been available, but wasn't. It was air conditioned. The room we had wasn't facing the front, but rather a side alley, so it was very quiet at night.

We were unable to make the new-looking plasma TV to work, it appeared there might have been interference with the satellite signal possibly? But we didn't mind as we were pretty tired anyway.

The bathrooms were very large compared to most I've had while traveling in Europe. There was a lot of counter space to put personal belongings near the sink which I hadn't had any many other hotels or B&B's.

We did have to park our car a little farther down the street and then later moved it to a parking lot (paid). I don't know if we could have left it on the street, but I suspect so. We wanted the car in a safer location as we were leaving it for nearly 24 hours. The hotel is located right by the busy Cafe Central, and a few other local hot spots, so we felt more comfortable moving the car to a secure lot.

All in all it was a great find and I now wish I had stayed in Tarifa a little longer. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat0chs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

After spending 2 nights in Girbraltar our first stop along the Atlantic coast in Spain took us to the windy, but charming town of Tarifa. We quickly stumbled upon this hotel - what a lucky find. We were greated very warmly by Marylou, who showed us a number of rooms, and quoted us what we thought was a very decent rate. The rooms are all very clean and complete with the amenities you would expect for a hotel at this star level. We booked 3 rooms for 3 nights, one with a kitchen, where we were able to prepare some of our meals. We felt very safe in this hotel, everything met our expectations, and I felt it was great value for the money. It was centrally located - right off the main street in the old walled city. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, although you must speak at least a bit of Spanish to get by.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GraftonSpaGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 15 April 2009

I had a little trouble booking this hotel as the staff weren't completely fluent so didn't know what to expect. But it turned out to be gorgeous, perfectly located, stylish and well-priced. We booked one single and one double and my single overlooking the main street was stunning - will attach pics. The apartment style double was less slick but still very handy with it's mini kitchen and had nice flourishes - charming bathroom etc..

Couple of small quibbles - Tarifa incredibly windy and it blows the ariels of of sync so neither rooms had working TVs - despite mine being a big flash plasma thing. Staff said they would get it fixed 'manana' which I interepreted optimistically as tomorrow but think they just meant - 'Whenever, sometime soon'. Also the weekend we stayed was their annual Fiesta weekend - which was a riot but was still blasting in my ear drums at 5am. We didn't really mind as up for a party but if it had been my parents they would have hit the roof - they could have mentioned the fact we shouldn't be expecting to do much sleeping in their fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treepixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2009

We adored our funky, artsy hotel room. It looked directly (with two balconies) into a lovely street in the old quarter of Tarifa. The bathrooms were clean and modern and the building nicely renovated. The prices are great and the staff friendly. One hint for travelers who don't speak Spanish, casa amarilla means yellow house -- it's the big yellow house.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HT3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
5.6 mi away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#4 of 19 in Tarifa
446 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostal Alameda
Hostal Alameda
#6 of 19 in Tarifa
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa
0.1 mi away
Posada Vagamundos
Posada Vagamundos
#14 of 19 in Tarifa
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Tarifa
Hostal Tarifa
#2 of 19 in Tarifa
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa Amarilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Amarilla

Property: La Casa Amarilla
Address: Calle Sancho IV El Bravo 9, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Hotel Class:3 star — La Casa Amarilla 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Casa Amarilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Amarilla Tarifa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing