We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find....”
Review of Hotel Misiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Misiana
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Certificate of Excellence
Rabat, Morocco
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A great find....”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

What a great little hotel in a fabulous location! The hotel is fairly newly renovated, beautifully done. The rooms are fairly small but sufficient, we had an extra bed in the room for our youngest child and it was fine. The bathrooms are good.

We found the staff friendly and helpful. There is no breakfast at the hotel, but we got vouchers for churro's, coffee and orange juice at a nearby cafe. The parking was a little walk away but had been precooked by the hotel.

The location to all the bars and little shops was perfect. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomas C, Owner at Hotel Misiana, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for your comments.
The idea by offering the breakfast out of the hotel was because we love involving people with the town, with its customs and traditions, with the people.
Much of you appreciate it. And we want to keep on doing this: you can visit many places, taste the sensations and flavours of the different proposals.
Your opinion is very important to us.
Of course, thank you very much for the score. It is helpful for us and we hope for the people considering to come.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    108
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
189
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Only stayed one night as moving between a number of properties owned by the same group as we booked at short notice. Rooms clean and well appointed although not large but certainly adequate unless you intend spending a lot of time in your room. As with other properties in the group the only down side was randomly operating wifi. Good location as with other properties but front rooms can be a little noisy if the locals are having a big night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomas C, Owner at Hotel Misiana, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
We appreciate your comments: the good ones, like yours, to keep on working on the direction we are. The others, to try to learn and improve.
We are very happy when our guests say what you say.
Thank you very much.
PS: wifi is our daily fight. Some days it runs perfectly but others... Sorry about it. We'll keep on working on that until we get the perfect solution.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, England
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I hope the translation is fairly helpful! The hotel certainly was a gem of a find.

More of a riad or boutique hotel rather than a traditional or indeed large modern Spanish hotel. Reminded us a bit of a hotel we stayed at in Camp's Bay, near Cape Town.

Four floors with 3 or 4 rooms on each floor, the best being to the front of the hotel in our opinion. Rear rooms are by the lift and have no view.

Minimal but painted in cool funky greys. Very comfortable beds (we stayed there three times over two weeks!) with friendly, bright front of house staff including Victoria, Virginia and Mercedes.

Powerful showers and a welcome tray in the rooms. Baths in most but not all bathrooms. Nice shamppos and soaps etc. Fresh, top quality bright white towels too.

But if you are looking for out and out luxury, or public rooms or hotels bars this may not be for you. The restaurant didn't open every day.

In the middle of bustling Tarifa and surrounded by restaurants, coffee shops and dozens of bars, many with live music, we fell head over heels in love with both Tarifa and this little hotel.

Two or three miles from the very best beaches.

Only minor negative was the car parking which is an extra e16 a day and a few hundred mtrs away up the hill in a commercial car park. Not quite as described by the hotel!

Highly recommended. We will certainly be return in the spring. It may be dead in the winter when many bars and restaurants close we are told.

Room Tip: we liked 402 best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sirlenscap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomas C, General Manager at Hotel Misiana, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear guest,

Misiana team thanks you for your comment and hope to see you on another occasion.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Had intended to stay in Casa de la Favorita, but it was full and the manager recommended Misiana, owned by the same group (they also own Casa Blanco). I stayed only one night but thoroughly enjoyed it. The room, although tiny, was well designed and had everything you need. It was comfortable, clean, and quiet except for some construction going on next door. There was wifi in the room, and staff were very friendly and helpful. The only downsides were an unpleasant smell in the bathroom, and not so convenient parking. It was also conveniently located, close to many restaurants and historical sights.
There is no fitness center or pool. I couldn't unmark the ratings for them.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sequoia16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomas C, General Manager at Hotel Misiana, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear guest,

Misiana team thanks you for your comment and hope to see you on another occasion.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We fell in love with this city! The hotel was small and the staff was very nice. The room may be tiny but it has everything you could need. You won't spend much time in your room. The hotel was within walking distance of the port. We did have to walk pretty far from the parking lot that the hotel used to the hotel, but we were fine. The location could not be any better. It is near a gorgeous chapel and lots of bars and restaurants. Breakfast at the hotel was just okay.
Really enjoyed our time in Tarifa at Hotel Misiana.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aley v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomas C, General Manager at Hotel Misiana, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate your comments which encourages us to continue working and improving. We hope to see you soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crimsonidle
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Just stayed here for one night, and not really any complaints. The location is the best thing. Its right in the heart of the old town, near the port and the best restaurants. You can walk anywhere in 5 minutes. Had a good nights sleep, didnt notice the noise from the street.
I did find it a bit expensive though. 125 euros a night not including breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crimsonidle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomas C, General Manager at Hotel Misiana, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your valued comments to help us continue to improve our services. We hope you return to this beautiful city and enjoy with us.

Thanks and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, location and staff! We were very happy with our stay at the Misiana. The room was really nice and a good size for two adults and 1 child. The hotel is in a great location In the center of Tarifa close to restaurants, shops, the beach and Port. Our room overlooked the street, but the noise didn't bother us. There was a group that began singing at about midnight, but they were so good we got up and listened. Breakfast was really good. The front desk staff couldn't have been more helpful. They spent a lot of time arranging a guide for us for a day trip to Tangier which worked out really well. We'd highly recommend the Misiana for anyone traveling to Tarifa.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devPortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomas C, General Manager at Hotel Misiana, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Guest,

We're glad you and your family had an enjoyable stay in Misiana. We welcome your comments encourage us to continue working and improving our services.

thanks and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
5.6 mi away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#4 of 19 in Tarifa
445 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa
0.1 mi away
Hostal Alameda
Hostal Alameda
#6 of 19 in Tarifa
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Dos Mares
Hotel Dos Mares
#3 of 19 in Tarifa
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Tarifa
Hostal Tarifa
#2 of 19 in Tarifa
320 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel La Torre
Hotel La Torre
#9 of 19 in Tarifa
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Misiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Misiana

Property: Hotel Misiana
Address: Calle Sancho IV El Bravo 16 | La Calzada, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Misiana 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privileged space in the center of Tarifa: a 21st century Hotel with charm that peeks out in between two seas, with beaches bathed in sunlight; A special lodging that is surrounded by hundreds of interesting corners that are just waiting to be discovered. Let the aromas of Southern Spain envelope you in Hotel Misiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Misiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing