We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Hotel Misiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Misiana
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed here for one night on my way back from Morocco to Malaga. The room was bright, lovely, spacious and with a great bed. It is right in town and walking distance to great tapas bars and sights. The receptionist was very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drjackyjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomas C, Owner at Hotel Misiana, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you very much for such a review.
It is great to have guests like you.
It'll be great to see you again (but try to stay longer to enjoy our incredible town...)
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    108
    24
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
189
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Not new to Tarifa, we stayed two nights in the Misiana Chic accomodation. It was located right on the main street which was a problem in itself, the cafe / bar downstairs didnt stop playing music until 0100hrs (AM) and people would be up and about early making too much noise to sleep properly. And I'm not a light sleeper. Add to that the constant chimming of the church bells, one DING! for each and every hour i.e. 12 DINGS for midnight, and you get a distinct lack of sleep.

Besides issues of noise. The room is pretty good. The bathroom and bedroom was tiny but considering the location I can accept that, just perhaps not the 70EUR a night price. The extra price might have been because there's a bed above the bathroom as a kind of loft for children. I tried to use the ladder provided but found it down right dangerous as it slips off its purchase. I wouldnt trust any child of any age, even an adult, to climb that up and down without a person spotting them.

Lastly, WIFI doesnt reach the room which I find is a reasonable expectation for that price and this part of the world.

Room Tip: If you stay on the street you're going to have a bad sleep (wear earplugs)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tyson_Cable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomas C, Owner at Hotel Misiana, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We are sorry about your experience.
You are not talking about Misiana but Casa Blanco which is our Chic Hotel (not Misiana, the one on which you have written your review).
The problem with the hotels right in the middle of the city is that they are a bit noisy than others. We could choose different windows, different construction, different style... but we would loose our soul, the essence of what Tarifa has and what we want to share with all of you.
Tarifa is noisy until 2:00 a.m. (max. 3;00 a.m.) because of the night life but just these months (mid June, July and August).
The church is located 150 meters from the hotel and they "ding", of course, but none has said anything about being bothering by them. Some of our guest even like getting onto the roof terrace to hear them.
We really feel sad by your review, because of your experience. Maybe next time, if you wish, with west wind instead of Levante, the "dings" will not bother you. And, of course, coming out of those months, be sure that you will enjoy your experience.
Please, note that we receive yoga groups and they repeat every year because of the sensations that they get: peaceful and relaxing time.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was in Tarifa to learn Spanish and enjoy the beach and the Misiana was the perfect place for me to stay because it offers nice luxury in the absolute center of the action in Tarifa

Good points:
- Really nice and helpful personell who really cared about their guests
- Really comfortable and modern rooms - I really felt at home here (I usually have high standards)
- Rooms are really clean and the beds are really good
- Location could not be better - you only need to go out the door and are in the middle of the bars, restaurants etc. To the beach it is just a 7 min walk
-

Potential bad points:
- The internet failed from time to time and was ok again after reception restarted the router which always took 3 min
- If you are very noise sensitive you could be annoyed from the noise from people in the street at night
- The Misiana is not a cheap hotel (unfortunately)

Room Tip: Best choice are the rooms to the street on the 3rd or 4th floor (301, 302, 401, 402) (that is if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Schiffi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomas C, Owner at Hotel Misiana, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you so much.
We have solved the Internet problem and we keep on improving it.
Next time you come (we hope so), you'll have a perfect connection. I promise you.
About the price... if we could offer a better price, be sure we would do. But we rather doing things as the best we can even if it means an extra cost. Most of you enjoy the differentiation that we give.
Again, thank you very much for reviewing and helping us to keep improving.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here after seeing it from the outside on a previous visit to Tarifa. We stayed first floor (101), room was nice, towels lovely, nice ambiance. Couple of minor negatives, shower head a bit wobbly, bathroom a bit smelly and the shower sealant could do with a refresh. If I stayed again, would request a bit higher room to have less noise, our room close to stairs and lift. All that said, we enjoyed our 3 night stay and what a fantastic location!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank coansha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tomas C, Owner at Hotel Misiana, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review.
As you say, the room 101 is the closest to the stairs and the only double room with shower instead of bathtub.
Also, as you say, the days with Levante wind, some times, there is a bit of smell that we take off by using an special product. Maybe the maintenance staff didn't realize about that but if you have that problem the next time you come (we'll be very happy!), please, let us know and we'll solve it in a minute.
Sorry about the inconveniences and be sure that your next stay will deserve a 10.
Very kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

5 pro's;
1. The staff are super sympathetic and know a great deal about the city. Don't hesitate to ask them about good places around. They will tell you their honest opinion.
2. Beds. Perfect beds. Not too soft and not too firm. The pillows come in two different sizes.
3. Location. Close to the beaches as well as to the great things that the city of Tarifa has to offer.
4. The interior design and the colors of gray and white scales that this hotel have, transmits a calmness that I love.
5. Good water pressure in the shower. Ladies (or gents with longer hair) here it's totally possible to wash your hair here.

3 small con's

1. No shower curtain.
2. Hard to find parking (but have patience because it will be ok.)
3. Internet of the hotel didn't work so well.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ninuzza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vonore, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
888 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,004 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We can only repeat all the good things said about this hotel. 1. The location cannot be beat. It is 5 minutes walk from the port. There are cafés and restaurants outside the door. We counted the steps to gelato--100 women size steps. It's not much further to a wonderful seafood restaurant recommended to us by the lady working here--the Pescaderia, where we had the fabulous tuna fixed 4 ways. 2. The room is lovely. The colors are all light wood and beige and white with driftwood look. It is modern looking with a beach feel. We were on the 4th floor and had a great view over the goings on outside. We had perfect quiet when we closed the windows at night. Good hot water in the showers. Immaculately clean. Coffee, tea, cookies and candy in the room. The beds definitely are the most comfortable we have slept in while in Spain. Free Wi-Fi (and fast) in the rooms. There is an elevator so no problem with rooms on the 4th or 5th floors. 3. Value. Our room was around $100 US. 4. Parking. We could unload in front and we parked on the street about 5 steps away for only a couple of euro each night. There is free parking at the port as well, but it was full at times. And finally 5. The staff. Every one spoke English quite well and were wonderfully helpful with all requests. They made us feel as though we were honored guests.

Room Tip: Higher floors with good views over the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Torte_Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

What a really great location this hotel is at. Right slap bang in the centre of the town . The bedrooms are beach lime washed wood style. Great beds. Wifi free. Air con. Just lovely. No hotel parking BUT We got street parking outside the hotel. A little tip: parking is more available after 3pm,when the shop keepers etc are having a siesta. After 4.30 things get busy again. Also u can park overnight but u must put up a ticket and pay 2€ which saves u getting up early to do so, the parking ticket only kicks in at 10am the following day. U can walk 20 meters to numerous cafes for breakfast or Desayuno. About 5€each. Tarifa is a great town to holiday in. Lively open all night cafes, bars, people out and about. Bohemian, arty, with wonderful beaches nearby. Windsurfers paradise. Don't miss it.. The reception is present all day and evening and are extremely helpful. There are three hotels in this little group. This is the second one we've stayed in and definitely would stay again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank RealFoodIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
5.6 mi away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#4 of 19 in Tarifa
446 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa
0.1 mi away
Hostal Alameda
Hostal Alameda
#6 of 19 in Tarifa
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Tarifa
Hostal Tarifa
#2 of 19 in Tarifa
320 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel La Torre
Hotel La Torre
#9 of 19 in Tarifa
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Vagamundos
Posada Vagamundos
#14 of 19 in Tarifa
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Misiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Misiana

Property: Hotel Misiana
Address: Calle Sancho IV El Bravo 16 | La Calzada, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Misiana 1*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privileged space in the center of Tarifa: a 21st century Hotel with charm that peeks out in between two seas, with beaches bathed in sunlight; A special lodging that is surrounded by hundreds of interesting corners that are just waiting to be discovered. Let the aromas of Southern Spain envelope you in Hotel Misiana. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Priceline, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Misiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing