We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth a stay here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Escondite del Viento

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tarifa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel El Escondite del Viento
Ranked #2 of 32 Tarifa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Well worth a stay here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

A small family run modern hotel great location in the old town . Big rooms with lots of individual touches . Staff and owner very very helpful phoning for us to find out bus timetables and ferry crossings , suggesting places to eat . Good Wi fi and lovely big showers .. Don't be put off by glass between bedroom and toilet as there is a pull down screen . Would highly recomend this hotel .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaRoobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APFernandez, Gerente at Hotel El Escondite del Viento, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you very much.Your words are our best reward.
They push us to continue working hard.
Thank you for your stay and your time to writte online about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    48
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
103
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Staff were helpful and welcoming. Hotel is decorated well blending modern with the tradition of the old building. Beds were comfortable and gave us a good night's sleep. Located in the old town close to bars and restaurants - would stay again when we next revisit Tarifa.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadiz
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Modern hotel yet sympathetic to the history of the building. Great sized rooms with a very big and comfortable bed. The decor was in great condition and the hotel seemed very new. Great location in the centre of the old town.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Rooms are modern and bright,
Same for bathrooms,
Common areas very nice. Wifi not working properly in rooms. We have not tried the breakfast, but there are plenty of nice and cheap terrace options around. Room cleaning was ok but not more- when we arrived there was a forgotten shaver in the (cleaned) shower and there seems to be sand all the time in the rooms. Marta at the reception is friendly and helpful and speaks very good English. It seemed relatively expensive to us in view of the quality out of season in a small town like Tarifa, but that's maybe the local standard.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APFernandez, Propietario at Hotel El Escondite del Viento, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very much for your stayed at my place.I´m really really sorry about what you said about the shower.For us is so much better if you complain, just the same moment when you have a problem.We try to check all the rooms after the cleaners, but sometimes we make mistakes.As long as you say it, just when it happens, it is posible for us to send the cleaner back to your room. ..But if you don´t complain at the hotel, is imposible for us to make your stay better.Sorry and
Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The hotel is located in the centre of Tarifa's old town. All bars, restaurants and shops are very close. Although the hotel is very quite and we slept excellently as the nightslife does not take place in the same street as the hotel is. The staff is very friendly and the know Tarifa and the around area very well. The room is very beautiful and extreamly clean (it is cleaned every morning as soon as you leave the room, so when you come back at midday its always already cleaned). We would highly recommend this hotel and will certainly come back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank melanie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APFernandez, Propietario at Hotel El Escondite del Viento, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you very much for your stay and most of all, for your great words, we work hard to please our guests, so your commentsare our best regard.
Thank you very very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Lovely spotlessly clean room in beautifully renovated old property in great location.
The owner Alejandra was extremely friendly and helpful showing us places to visit as well as recommending the best places to eat. She even gave us some great tips on where to go in Madrid a couple of days later.
Tarifa is a gem and we will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We have stayed here before when the owner and her team worked here, they are not working here now. We had upper rom last time, as per normal with Tarifa, rooms in the Old Town are hard to find and overpriced. WE had no choice but to stay in the box room on the ground floor. Right next to reception, great for wifi but quite noisy with people coming and going and staff early in the morning very evidently at work. room itself is a single, TV is uselss and no aircon and fan that did not work. Breakfast was joke and in honesty when owners leave boutique B&B's 9/10 just fall flat on their face. no different here, plus PT staffed. to be told we could not check in due family issues is not what we are paying for and at 80plus euros.
Raise your game people. Tourists are not walking Euro signs, we are just like you and we deserve the same respect.

Room Tip: Upper rooms only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outside101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
APFernandez, Propietario at Hotel El Escondite del Viento, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Very sorry for your unfortunable stay.The best way of fixing this unfotunatelly stayed is telling us right away but you didn´t.Yes the room at the ground floor is more noisy and that´s why is also cheaper.Yes we don´t have AC, de fan always work, mayby is a little complicated with the remote control.
We do respect our costumers,we make our living with them,that´s why is the most important part of the business and we try very hard on it.
Very sorry that you didn´t get what you expected.
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal Tarifa
Hostal Tarifa
#3 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Alameda
Hostal Alameda
#8 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Dos Mares
Hotel Dos Mares
#5 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#4 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
0.0 mi away
Apart Hotel Koala Tarifa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Escondite del Viento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Escondite del Viento

Property: Hotel El Escondite del Viento
Address: Calle Comendador 1, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Tarifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Butique hotel in an old buliding completely restaured.Incredible fourniture, Wood and glass, the perfect covination.8 rooms .Silent and light. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing