We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Directly at the beach”
Review of Hotel Dos Mares

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Dos Mares
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Tarifa
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Directly at the beach”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Dos mares is a quiet place in the winter months, directly at the beach with tons of activities near by. You can go horse riding on the beach and/or go kite surfing, wind surfing, wave surfing and more. In the summer theres more of a nightlife in Tarifa town as well as more restaurants open. I prefer the autumn/winter months since I don't mind the cold (and really it's not that cold) and it's less crowded on the beaches than in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YiyiRica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    158
    40
    19
    17
See reviews for
100
184
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for 5 nights. Highly recommend the beach bungalows with a sea view. The hotel is all you would imagine it to be - relaxing, pleasant and fantastic facilities with a great location (on the beach). I have only given it 4 stars though as the breakfast could have been a lot better (e.g have local produce) and varied. The restaurant for dinner was pleasant but poor on service (very under staffed). The menu was also the same each night which got a little boring (but often all we wanted was a quick meal and not to go out to other restaurants in Tarifa due to young children). Overall a great hotel but they let themselves down slightly.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JALA75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itala, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We weren't really sure what to expect when we booked, but It was an absolute great choice to stay here. Tarifa is a lovely town, but staying just outside of town in this hotel directly on the beach was amazing. The sea and beach are so beautiful it can't be described and this hotel enables you to enjoy it to the full. It is a very windy place, but I felt like the wind took away all my negative thoughts and stress. The bungalows are simple, beautiful and very comfortable. The cleaning staff is doing a really excellent job. Breakfast was fab too and to have it outside was awesome. I only missed some fresh orange juice ... Unless I didn't see it of course ;-)
I hope to go back soon!!!

Room Tip: We had a bungalow superior, already very nice, but I would go for the bungalow with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

My wife and I stayed in a bungalow for three nights recently at Dos Mares. The room (3 I think) was excellent - spacious, spotless and very comfortable. Although it was right next to the car park barrier which wasn't ideal for noise.

But the main issue for us was the very up and down service we received throughout our stay.

Check in was ok, but not much more. The person started to show us to our apartment (away from the main building) and then just gave up and pointed to our room half way there. This wan't too much of an issue, but a little odd.

From there onwards though, despite some of the younger staff being friendly, the rest of the service ranged from unhelpful to actually quite rude.

On our first day we had several power cuts in the hotel, with the first lasting for a good couple of hours. But it was a bit like the staff were pretending it wasn't happening. I walked into the main hotel and the staff were just sitting in the dark - all a little amusing! Anyway, nobody explained what was happening, let alone offered an apology. I completely understand that unforeseen things can happen, but it's how these issues are dealt with that can impress or otherwise - so from the hotel's perspective it was a bit of a missed opportunity really.

Along with this, we were completely ignored in the bar on two separate occasions. And then to top it all off at check out, my wife was again ignored so obviously that the person who was served instead had to point this out to the member of staff - who didn't even apologise.

At 50 odd Euros a night this would have been disappointing, but to pay 150 Euros per night and receive this sort of service is unacceptable to be honest.

All a real shame as apart from the service, the room and hotel itself was excellent - and we spend a lot of time in Tarifa so it would have been nice to have returned.

Room Tip: Room 3 was excellent, but a bit too close to the car park barrier so was a little noisy at times. Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Totally chilled out and wound down in our weeks visit. Will defo go back again. The pool area was very quiet and sheltered with bar service available to your sun lounger. Kite boarding and windsurfing facilities also available which I will do next time after I've had my lessons in the UK.

Room Tip: I'd say looking at the hotel, any room would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We are a couple over 50 who stayed here four nights in April. We had a lovely, relaxing time. Décor and location are superb, and the viewing of dozens and dozens of expert kite surfers every afternoon kept us entertained. Cabins are minimalist and comfortable. The restaurant menu was very good and breakfasts were varied and healthy. Overall the vibe is relaxed, colorful and happy. There were a number of families with children, which we were not delighted about at the beginning, but rooms are private and quiet, so we were not bothered. Staff were very helpful and positive.

Room Tip: Sea view cabins are lovely, and you can hear the waves all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cwarrenlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gibraltar
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed weekend of 26th April fortunately not to much wind until late afternoons so took full use of the swimming pool area, from 4pm Straights of Gibraltar are full wind surfers, a real eye catcher.
The beaches are beautiful sand and must be 15 Klm or more wide all set in a Natural Park
The hotel is delightful, we had a 1 bed bungalow looking towards the sea and horse stables, we ate in Tarifa town but wished we'd stayed in hotel, the breakfast was good with eggs bacon and very fresh fruit.
Gonna make an effort to spend a few more nights there during 2014.
Finally they allow dogs and there are quite a few but all well behaved as where their owners

Room Tip: As for a bungalow with the private parking area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuervtttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Copacabana Beach Tarifa
6.5 mi away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#3 of 19 in Tarifa
453 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Dulce Nombre
Hotel Dulce Nombre
#11 of 19 in Tarifa
98 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hurricane Hotel
Hurricane Hotel
#10 of 19 in Tarifa
298 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Tarifa Lances
Hotel Tarifa Lances
#13 of 19 in Tarifa
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dos Mares? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dos Mares

Property: Hotel Dos Mares
Address: Ctra. N 340 Km 79.5, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tarifa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tarifa
#7 Family Hotel in Tarifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Dos Mares 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Dos Mares reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Tarifa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing