We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than I Expected”
Review of Hostal La Calzada

Hostal La Calzada
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hostal La Calzada
Ranked #20 of 32 Tarifa B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Better Than I Expected”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

So, we wanted somewhere to stay in Tarifa that was walking distance from the ferry terminal for a planned trip over to Tangier. There were not a lot of options available to us and it was with some trepidation that I booked a place called a "Hostal" and at the low price they were charging we travelled with low expectations. The entrance to the hotel is along an alleyway, although one that is perfectly in keeping with the style of the old town and it is only 50 yards maximum from a bustling set of restaurants and bars. We received a warm and friendly greeting upon arrival, although entirely in Spanish, and were handed the keys to the rooms we had booked along with a TV remote control (this was a first for me). Both of the rooms we had booked (one double and one twin) were of a reasonable size and, as with the public areas of the hostal were scrupulously clean. Everything in the rooms worked, including the only slightly noisy air conditioning units, and the en-suites facilities were perfectly adequate - although with no bath. In fact, it speaks volumes that the only quibble I could really find was the presence of a single bolster type pillow across the whole of the double bed rather than separate pillows. There were no room safes, but we left cash, iPads, phones and other valuables in our suitcases with no problems at all. The service from reception seemed to be available 24 hours a day and was always very helpful - although always in Spanish. Very reasonably priced bottles of water, soft drinks and beer are available from reception should you need them. The hostal is in a lovely part of the old town and it is only a short walk to any of the bars and restaurants in the surrounding area. An ideal combination really, with the hostal being on a very quiet alleyway but all the buzz of the town being so close. The ferry terminal is also only about 5 minutes walk away, and if you need the beach then the best beaches in central Tarifa are just a few minutes farther on from the ferry terminal. We managed to find parking in a secure public car park which is locked at night and monitored by CCTV just outside the city walls, only a very short walk away. I would strongly recommend parking up at the earliest opportunity and walking to the hostal rather than trying to navigate around the narrow one way streets of the old town. Overall, this was really quite a charming little place that far exceeded our expectations and offered quite extraordinary value for money. I would certainly use it again and would have no hesitation recommending it to people provided they acknowledge that they are going to an extremely good hostal and not a full service hotel.

Room Tip: There is no lift and no porter service, so a room on the first floor might be a good idea if you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grinanbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    15
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

What? We are going up this little alley to a hotel? What a wonderful find. If you want a clean simple quiet place to sleep and don't require a gym and pool this is it. The staff is friendly and helpful though their english is limited. It is also easy to find because it is very near the church square. The only down side is that it's a walk-up: no elevator. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed two nights at Hostal La Calzada which is very conveniently located in the old town. We happened to be there during Semanta Santa and the parade route was meters from the hostal. Since Tarifa is small and quickly seen we opted to take a day trip to Gibraltar which worked out well - about 15 minutes walk to the bus station and an hour's ride to Gibraltar.

Our twin room was rather small but adequate. However, the bed linens/mattress had a bit of a mildew smell to them, perhaps because of the dampness of the nearby sea. The managers did not speak any English so even with my few words of Spanish communication was a bit of a problem. They also would not give us a receipt /"facture" for our cash payment.

The hostal is located five minutes walk from the ferry port making it very conveniently located for that purpose.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oakleyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
229 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Simple well kept hotel close to the centre of the old town. Small rooms but they had everything we needed. The hotel is very well placed being yards from plenty of bars and restaurants. The only downside I noticed is that there’s no lift but the stairs are reasonable. I doubt if their is any on sight parking.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank universal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
costa del sol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We had concerns about booking this hostal because of its size and rating. However it way surpassed our expectations. It is a small, budget, back alley hostal. That said, the reception and night staff were great, the room was more than adequate and perfectly positioned. Cold bottled/canned drinks were available from reception at excellent prices. Would recomend this to friends and will stay there again.
This is a very popular town with very little Hotel accomodation within the town area so don't expect cheap accomodation.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cornisacostadelsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin1978
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

in the centre of old town tarifa in the middle of everything on a quiet lane....but our twin room was TINY ... like tiny with two tiny beds and only one of us could stand up at a time or we'd be tripping over each other.........but cheap and clean .... with a woeful smell from the drains at certain times of the day but think that's a problem all over old tarifa..

  • Liked — it was so central
  • Disliked — it was so small
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank deedee1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tarifa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hostal Alameda
Hostal Alameda
#7 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Misiana
Hotel Misiana
#1 of 19 in Tarifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
5.5 mi away
Meson de Sancho
Meson de Sancho
#4 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal Tarifa
Hostal Tarifa
#3 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel La Torre
Hotel La Torre
#6 of 19 in Tarifa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hostal El Levante
Hostal El Levante
#1 of 32 in Tarifa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Calzada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Calzada

Property: Hostal La Calzada
Address: Calle Alferez Justino Pertinez 7, 11380 Tarifa, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Tarifa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Tarifa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hostal La Calzada 1*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal La Calzada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing