We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Island Village Apartments
Ranked #12 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Adeje
CornwaII
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Great Staff”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We exchanged a time share into this accommodation, and after reading some of the reviews I was concerned. On arrival our welcome at reception was by Rosa and very helpful and friendly. We were allocated 125A, the walk up to this apartment showed clean tidy paths, well kept garden areas, however the apartment itself was not up to the usual exchange standard and definitely needed a make over. We had several trips to reception for missing essential self catering items, must say the staff always were wonderful, helpful and did not make us feel we were a nuicense. However the main problem was the building work, on both lower and upper units beside us and the unit immediately above us. Now I accept that this work needs doing and it is good to see the updating going on.... but Mon - Fri between 9 am and 5 pm fine, but not seven days a week from 8 am till it got dark at 1915. Another trip to reception, do realise that they cannot always assist if they do not have the space, they were lovely and tried to help, must especially mention Sandra, who tried to pull out all the stops. When we returned on Monday a note under our door and a move to 101 which was what they call a villa. This also could do with some TLC in parts, but it was fully equipped, a wet room instead of a bath, and pleasant terrace garden area.
The maid service was daily and excellent, the towels changed regularly and always clean bed linen, towels etc. Yes one day we did have a frayed edged towel but it was still very useable.
The whole site was kept very clean, and tidy.
There are two heated pools and entry to these is via a key card or key, which means they are not used by outsiders. There could be more sun beds as I imagine if it gets busy these are not enough. Iceland on site is fine, although we used the supermarket at San Eugeno. Picassos bar did not seem very busy, although the prices were excellent.
Yes someone did have a robbery while we were there, but security and local police dealt promptly and their mobile and purse were returned in a matter of minutes. They had left a ground floor window partly open, something the information book tells you not to do, and something you probably would not do at home.
We seventy plus unfit persons could walk from the beach back to the apartment in 30 minutes so the position is good. There are local inexpensive eateries and bars available without going down the hill. The place is partly residential so is not lively, but lots of long stayers seem to be on site. There is English TV although the pixels do break up.
Big question would we return to this accommodation the answer is yes, because the staff are wonderful and try their hardest to be helpful, and never ever make you feel that you are being a bother, in fact we are looking at a longer stay booking direct with the accommodation, so don't think it is quite as bad as painted by some.
Big thank all the staff if you are reading this one, we had a very pleasant holiday, thanks to all of you.

Room Tip: Try for a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Silverheadskiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaAnnNicol, Director General at Island Village Apartments, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you so much for your constructive review. I am really happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated our friendly & helpful staff. We are gradually trying to update the apartments and do apologise for any noise from building works that disrupted your first few days. However, I am gald that you enjoyed the remainder of your stay and that you will be returning! We look forward to seeing you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    30
    23
    13
    14
See reviews for
49
44
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

had one weeks holiday at island villiage terrible complex ants everywhere even in kitchen cupboards,worktops,floors and around bath, cockroaches in bedrooms, it was not cleaned until the 6th day when i complained i was told they have a problem with ants, and the cockroaches must have come under the doors, would never go there again and would not want any one to experiance what we had to m ryman

Room Tip: i dont think they had any good rooms very old and outdated
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 548maureen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaAnnNicol, Director General at Island Village Apartments, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your review. I am very upset to hear that you were not happy with the accommodation. As you can see from the other reviews this is not standard at Island Village and our cleaning staff are very efficient. Furthermore, when any problems do occur if they are reported to Reception we always do our utmost to solve them and take any action necessary. I do apologise that you did not enjoy your stay. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Adeje hotels

london
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

the photos speak for themselves - we had a villa near reception and were told by some people who stay regularly that ours was one of the best on the site. As soon as we went into the place we could smell damp and mould - this was coming from the bathroom but also came into the bedroom as well - the wardrobes and wool blankets also smelled damp. We did report to reception and a couple of days later, having been out all day, we returned to find the bathroom had been painted out (although this could have been down to the fact that our villa was being sold). The front door had big gaps in it and all the furniture had seen better days. There is an Iceland store on site (that also sells Waitrose and other English groceries). The staff on reception were helpful - I would go back to Tenerife but not to this accommodation.

Room Tip: book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaAnnNicol, Director General at Island Village Apartments, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Island Village. We are in the process of refurbishing many of the holiday apartments to bring them up to a higher standard. I apologise for any inconvenience you experienced whilst you were here but pleased that our staff did their utmost to assist you and dealt with your problems promptly. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Just got back from stag trip here...

We were robbed on night 2 whilst 2 of the lads slept in there beds.

No sign of forced entry so key card must have been used! They stole money, phones, iPods & watches.

When we told staff they said it must have been our fault that somebody gained access!!

We suspect they must have been disturbed when hearing other lads return as front door was wide open and looks like they exited via back door and ran off down alley.

We all suspected inside job and now reading the reviews above have confirmed it.

Such a shame as would be a good little place for stag / hens to go cheap and still get to main strip for 5 euro.

If you stay here take care, get a safe and put every valuable thing you have in it. Oh and sleep with one eye open!!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dazsharps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaAnnNicol, Director General at Island Village Apartments, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your review. However, after checking our records we notice you did not want to call the police or report that any break in had happened during your stay. Furthermore, we have a report from our security company which shows the reading of the key card door system and we can confirm that during the night of the supposed robbery only your cards were used for entry throughout various times during the night. Therefore, you must have left a door or window open at some stage. Obviously the last thing we want to hear is of any guests being robbed, and this is why we have made many security increases over the past years we have not had many robberies at all as a result of this. However, we always recommend to all guests to rent a safe and keep doors & windows closed at night as a general security measure. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed in a one bed apartment, and everything was good. Clean and tidy and site is ideal if you just want to relax, or is close enough to Peurto Colon if you want the beaches and bars.
I can see improvements since last time I was here and Picasso's pool bar is handy for a beer and decent bar meal or breakfast. Good value too.
Only one criticism is that the sunbeds and parasols around the pool bar pool are in desperate need of replacement. The site is improving all the time and the pools are good. Please sort out the beds and parasols.

Room Tip: Ones around top pool area are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaAnnNicol, General Manager at Island Village Apartments, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay here at Island Village and that you have noticed the improvements we have been making in general. I have noted your comments about the sunbeds and parasols and will do my best to improve this situation as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon at Island Village. Thanks Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Our fourth visit in five years to Island Village and once again not disappointed.Plenty of work and refurbishment still going on but staff cheery as usual on our arrival pointing out that the James Brasserie had closed since our last visit but a new Iceland supermarket was opening in its place that week.Had a nice meal at Picasso's and then headed on down towards the front.Booked a day trip to La Gomera which was a brilliant full day out including a 3 course meal and a demonstration of the local whistling language.Well worth the money.Also tried a couple of new restaurants this year and would highly recommend Carlos Restaurant on the road down towards the harbour.As usual our villa was clean and spacious with a lovely garden space.Im sure we will be returning very soon.Thanks to all the staff once again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flinty50plus2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaAnnNicol, Director General at Island Village Apartments, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thanks very much for your constructive review about your stay in Island Village as well as the surrounding area and recommendations. It is true that Iceland supermarket has now opened in place of James Brasserie & they have also opened a cafeteria on the poolside which serves lunches and snacks. I have passed your kind comments on to the staff & we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chislehurst, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

First surprise, after the customary warmest of welcomes from the staff in Reception, was to find the we had been upgraded to a lovely 2-bedroom bungalow with its own spacious garden and pool, right next to the larger of the two recently refurbished pool areas! Second surprise was to find that the long awaited supermarket (Iceland) had opened that very morning (in the building formerly occupied by James's Brasserie) and that the local radio station was on-site promoting it. Seemed to do the trick as people from all over San Eugenio were shopping there by the end of the week!
Island Village itself just as we remembered it: they are pushing on with the long-term refurbishment and the whole complex is beautifully clean. The staff as a whole could not be more cheerful and efficient, the service and atmosphere at Picasso's and the cafe attached to Iceland was fine and the prices very reasonable. The only downside as far as we were concerned was that the various routes back from the beach and local attractions seem to have got steeper this year, pushing us all too often towards the plentiful taxis! We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonykingshott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulaAnnNicol, Director General at Island Village Apartments, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your lovely review about your stay at Island Village. I am happy to hear that you noticed the improvements we have made since your last visit and appreciate the new services offered by Iceland & Picassos on site. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adeje hotels
0.5 mi away
Sunset Harbour Club
Sunset Harbour Club
#14 of 59 in Costa Adeje
711 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Malibu Park
Hotel Malibu Park
#33 of 59 in Costa Adeje
496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laguna Park 1
Laguna Park 1
#46 of 59 in Costa Adeje
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Regency Torviscas Apartments and Suites
0.9 mi away
GF Fanabe
GF Fanabe
#24 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,846 reviews
0.6 mi away
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
IBEROSTAR Bouganville Playa
#16 of 59 in Costa Adeje
3,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Village Apartments

Property: Island Village Apartments
Address: Avenida Austria | San Eugenio Alto, 38660, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Island Village Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Island Village Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Village Apartments Hotel Adeje
Island Village Apartments Tenerife/Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing