We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a revamp. Dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
Ranked #2 of 80 Hotels in Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Needs a revamp. Dated”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a quick week. The hotel is very dated and was very disappointed in the beach. Well there is no beach! We had to walk down to a nice beach daily and pay for the use of beds! Food was ok and plentiful. Tables packed in a little too tightly for my liking and in some instances you had to sit with other couples.
The entertainment was absolutely shocking. I felt like I was stuck in a 70's working men's club.
Just needs to move with the times

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mummajuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    932
    320
    87
    21
    9
See reviews for
299
916
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Just back home from a really relaxing holiday at the Riu palace in Tenerife.
Ten days of blue skies, sunshine and temperatures in the mid seventies, perfecto
The hotel is in a great location in the upmarket resort of Costa Adeje and with direct access on to the wide promenade makes walking to the resort centre easy. We had returned to the hotel after some nine years and it was just as we remembered it. The decor is traditional or dated depending upon your point of view but it is immaculate and spotlessly clean throughout. The food is of a good standard but the dining room is a bit cramped and can be a bit frenetic at peak times. Try the Krystal a la carte restaurant for excellent service and food and as a haven of tranquility with stunning views. Our suite on the fifth floor had similar great views was very spacious and comfortable.
The staff were without exception professional, efficient and friendly. Would we go back? We have already tried for January and February 2015 but the hotel is pretty much fully booked which speaks volumes for its popularity.

Room Tip: Choose a large sea view or suite, worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This hotel is simply perfect in its location in costa adeje on the flat ideal for gentle walks and gardens open onto the promenade which will take you to La caleta to the right and costa adeje 5 mins in the left.
Nice size hotel with rooms on 6 floors -we got allocated a 3rd floor room which was just fine.Can only book through thomson or direct only ,we booked with thomson(cheaper) but werent offered option of seaview,think thomson have so many rooms allocated to them so it is pot luck which room you will get, but i think 90% of rooms would get some kind of seaview.Point to make thou email ahead if you want twin bedded room as these are classed as a better catergory and not automatically given.
Reception staff excellent and v helpful we also asked for a mattress topper and softer pillows and got delivered along with free cava and fruit package which i think most guests get given, nice touch.Every single member of staff without fail, greets you good day/evening.
Food very nice and good idea to have allocated table at dinner,we chose the 6pm sitting which was abit early but as long as you finish by 8pm(next sitting) you can go down abit later.
Entertainment good and different acts each night we saw 'simon and garfunel' and 'tina turner!' in a lovely big room there is a separate bar area with pianist and lovely outdoor terrace to sip a cocktail with stunning views across the bay.
Nice atmosphere within the hotel with good mix of nationalities and age is mostly over 50,s.
We decided this will be The hotel for us in Tenerife.We will be back!.

Room Tip: high floor have best views and nearer reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WorcesterHelen35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ne england
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We returned for our break in the sun in May and we have visited this hotel many times hitting double figures now for visits, so have seen all the changes over the years.
Overall its still a good hotel in an excellent location with great staff, the only staff blip and its a first was the pool bar staff on the saturday never smiled and hardly chatted as they walked around looking after the guests, normal service resumed on the Sunday. Reception staff really helpful and when we requested something it was dealt with in half an hour - new shower head and extra pillows, did not try the mattress topper may next time.
Staff in the restaurants were outstanding on an evening, however on a morning the seemed to be fewer staff around compared to previous years and the struggled to keep on top of things, clearing tables and keeping dishes topped up. Choices seemed to be a little fewer than last year and the salad choice was much reduced and the individual salad options introduced last year did seem to be as good as when they were first introduced. Would say its standard 4 star food these days and the cost cutting continues, but if you had not experienced the original palace concept then you would not know.
WIFI speeds seemed better and range a little better than last year.
Pool and towels on sunbeds, this seems to change everytime we go back these days, and this year it was back to its worst, towels being put out around 7 or earlier, last year it was an enforced 7.45am and had been 8am on some occasions, and some beds were not used until late in the day and this was Brits as well as German's. They need to be consistent and not just keep changing as the current Director has been there a number of years now. Pool clean and well looked after, staff friendly and they have a lifeguard on duty these days.
First time the were more Brits than any other nation, which was quite a surprise.
Re the refurb its not a done deal yet and if it happens it will probably be May to Sept 2015.

Will we continue to return - yes- we like Tenerife and Adeje and this still takes some beating despite the comments.
Still a good value hotel compared to others with good staff

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tt240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ESSEX
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 10 day stay at the Riu Palace and have nothing but good things to say about it. Our ground floor garden room was one of the biggest and best we have had on your average package holiday. Be aware though - the higher the floor the smaller the rooms. The first room we were offered on the 4th floor was really small. Great choice of food, all to a high standard. Staff are helpful and friendly. The grounds are kept immaculately. Hotel set in a perfect location.

Room Tip: The lower the floor the bigger the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Riu hotels are run very well and this one was no exception. Upgraded to sea view room located on the 3rd floor, which was well worth it. Good size bedroom/ lounge area, decent bathroom although the bath was a bit tricky to get in and out of. Shower worked well, plenty of power. Room was a bit stuffy at night unless you had the Air Con & fan at full blast. Too, the beds were overly firm, so get a mattress topper which are available on request.

Meal times were good, we like the two sittings as there is an opportunity for staff to restore order and calm. Ate in the Krystal Room on one evening which was delightful with plenty of friendly staff on hand throughout. Breakfast we took on the terrace most mornings, you had to queue, but for no longer than 5 minutes. Selection at the buffet meals was generally pretty good.

Set in lovely, well maintained grounds, very good pool complex and facilities generally. There is a small sandy beach area immediately in front of the Hotel, the sea being sheltered by an artificial barrier and very safe for swimming.

It is very quiet around the pool area and along the prom. In fact if I have a criticism it is maybe too quiet, being pretty much on the end of the run of seafront hotels. Other than hotel guests there are not too many people about and in consequence not a great deal happening outside the hotel itself.

Evening entertainment was reasonable. Wi-Fi available free in the lobby area only which by today's expectation falls a little short.

Hotel closes in a few months I believe for major refurbishment.

Room Tip: Do take the opportunity to dine in the Krystal Room. You have to book but it costs nothing extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livesnearthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypridd
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Just returned from a week at "The Palace" were here about three years ago as my memory serves. Liked it then and was not disappointed this time. Lovely welcome from all staff including the assistant manager on our second evening. Bottle of Cava and a selection of fruit in room on day two, simple but a nice touch. We emailed in advance for a mattress topper and it was there on the bed for our arrival. I have commented before on Riu beds, I believe "diabolical" was my word so could not face another week of torture on their bed. Slept a lot better on the topper so worth it if you are used to a softer bed. Also asked for a sea view...bit of a cheek, but had a decent email back saying I should have requested that one month in advance, so there's a tip for you. Get your email off one month before arrival date. That said we did get a sea view room but it was a little to the outer part of the hotel, not a problem though unless you have mobility problems, but again not a prohibitive distance. So to summarise, a lovely break, good food, always a friendly welcome and it helps when you get the weather..and we did. Will I go back..of course. I,m a bit of a fan of the Riu concept. Not to everyones taste but is suites me.

Room Tip: Email one month before arrival with your request. It might just work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gaandir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adeje hotels
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.8 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Arecas
Hotel Riu Arecas
#13 of 80 in Adeje
1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#5 of 57 in Costa Adeje
2,487 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bahia del Duque
Bahia del Duque
#10 of 57 in Costa Adeje
2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
Address: Urbanizacion La Herradura | Playa del Duque, 38670, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
#2 Spa Hotel in Adeje
#2 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
#10 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
#12 Family Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Costa de Adeje* 9 storey building* Located on the seafront * 21,000 garden * 150 m from Playa del Duque beach * Entertainments and shopping centre are within 1,8 km distance in La Caleta * 22 km from Internacional Airport Reina Sofía Tenerife Sur (TFS) * 150 m from a bus stop * The hotel has been completely refurbished in spring/summer 2015 * Accepted Credit Cards: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tenerife Adeje
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing