We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont believe all you read--this is a proper review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
Ranked #3 of 81 Hotels in Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

the comments i read before i went to this hotel were very good but others are just utter rubbish,more like quirky things to knock a star off the the final rating----just to put in one word "FABULOUS" from the time we arrived to the time we left nothing was too much trouble for the staff as others have said ,and the manager was always looking into the restauraunt day and night to see if things were going well and also checking if things had been replenished-- .on the first day we arrived the sea was very rough which threw up a vast amount of boulders onto the promenade which very dangerous to go near ,we noticed the manager was on the spot to investigate and next morning diggers were there clearing this away-prompt action by the manager--.the food was very very good and the atmosphere was very relaxing in the restaurant with staff making you feel at ease me and my wife enjoyed a lovely week at this hotel as otherr people have commented-we had a lovely room 436 which i reqested to the management by e-mail 2 weeks prior to going but as they were busy that week we had 1 other room for 1 day then moved into 436 the next day ---many thanks to the manager-just to sum up--- the staff were a credit to the riu name and the manager -roll on next year

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lewform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

736 - 742 of 1,531 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just returned from a nice weeks break at the Riu Palace, From the minute we checked in, to the time we left, the staff could not have been more welcoming, nothing was to much trouble, the food was excellent, with lots of choice for everyone.
Two slight downsides, one is that the TV channels are geared up for Spanish and German channels, and if you want to get a sunbed of your choice, you have to be up around 7am, although the hotel states no sunbeds should be reserved everybody ignores it, in fact two groups near us, actually took it in turns reserving up to ten beds at a time every morning, which was disappointing, especially as you walk by other hotels along the sea front, and they hardly had a towel in site, without somebody sitting on their lounger.

Room Tip: If you could get a sea view it is worth it, we were on the ground floor, which was alright but with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We took a one-week spring break this year and chose this hotel. We are both professionals each with our own companies so needed to get away from endless business. Everything excellent although the firm beds may not suit everyone. The position and facilities are just right if you want to simply unwind. The buffet restaurant was busy, the food fresh, plentiful and imaginative. Chilling out at breakfast-time on the veranda was such a pleasure. The pool area was calm and never crowded. The sat all were all so eager to please and friendly. Definitely worth a return for us for pure relaxation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nottingham_Engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We have just returned from Hotel Riu, and are fully recharged after a brilliant relaxing break. We endorse previous comments on this hotel, it was clean and you were very well looked after the staff could not do enough for you. We had no problem with hard beds, did take extra pillows which were not an issue for the staff. The food was very good, well presented, well prepared and displayed, the show cooking added to the atmosphere. We were well looked after by Maria in the restaurant. We did not find the guests being particularly older and there were some children there who were welcomed by staff in the restaurant, saw high chairs being provided with no fuss.
The Thomson rep was sadly lacking with info, we were not told passport number needed for La Gomera trip and were given totally the wrong return time! (The trip was well worth seeing despite the poor info provided) The English folder was never seen in reception and we had no info board. The welcome pack we were told about was just a leaflet about trips!
It was definately the riu itself that made the break for us so good.

Room Tip: We were upgraded by the hotel to a bigger room on the third floor and it was a quiet room, and quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AnnM1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Just back from a great week's break at the Hotel Riu Palace, with exception to the Thomson rep!! Lovely hotel, needs a bit of updating in parts but the fantastic food, and the most brilliant staff make up for everything!! Having not stayed at this hotel before the only downside (which is nothing to do with the Hotel) was the lack of a half decent Thomson rep!! Too young and inexperienced for a hotel with this type of clientele. She (Rachael) had written the wrong time on our welcome meeting pack! Lost the first day of our 7 day holiday trying to locate her. Not very apologetic - couldn't care less attitude. Didn't try to contact us or any other Thomson holidaymakers during the week. Everyone complaining. Saw her many times in the hotel bar on her mobile, laughing, chatting etc etc etc. VERY surprised Thomson reps are no longer professional and caring as they once were. NO Thomson notice board in Reception (welcome pack says there is!) - no Thomson rep table/books showing photo of rep or general info (might have been easier to locate her?!). Other nationalities' reps were in and around the hotel every day, We have stayed at Riu hotels all over the world but very disappointing and not sure we will travel with Thomson again. We know Tui is German but we felt we Brits were not represented at all at this hotel. Many Brits felt the same. Also Platinum hotel - were NOT dropped off the coach for hours!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you book a full sea view room. We wanted to upgrade from half sea view and were told it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david_richards788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have visited several times, including last October and we will be returning in 4 weeks time. Furnishings may seem dated but if you want cleanliness, friendliness, superb service and good food then you will not be disappointed. Wonderful location on the sea front in the upmarket resort of Costa Adeje/ La Caleta.
Sorry potobob but you must have stayed in a different hotel! The clientele are mostly middle aged/ retired couples and usually there are only a few children. Manel the Maitre d, would have a heart attack if children were riding scooters or playing football in the dining room!!! Dinner is a very civilised event, 2 sittings, dress code for men is long trousers and the waiters are efficient and polite.
The hotel is supposed to be undergoing a major refurbishment next year but as the hotel is maintained to a very high standard we would still return if the refurbishment did not happen.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Marge8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We visited this hotel in June 2011 for our honeymoon, we were the youngest in the hotel (we were 26 and 27). The hotel is in a great location, it is a quiet upmarket resort of Costa Adeje and with access on to the promenade. It is about a 20 minute walk to a bar with entertainment and the shopping centre. The entertainment int hotel was shocking. The decor is traditional and it is spotlessly clean throughout.

Tables are packed in tightly in sometimes we had to sit with other couples. Try the Krystal a la carte restaurant for excellent service and food and as a haven of tranquility with stunning views, we went twice within our stay it was amazing! The staff were professional, efficient and friendly. Especially if you tip them. The beds were very uncomfortable!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adeje hotels
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
0.8 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Arecas
Hotel Riu Arecas
#14 of 81 in Adeje
1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
H10 Costa Adeje Palace
#30 of 60 in Costa Adeje
3,218 reviews
0.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Anthelia
IBEROSTAR Anthelia
#4 of 60 in Costa Adeje
2,637 reviews
1.3 mi away
Royal Garden Villas
Royal Garden Villas
#1 of 60 in Costa Adeje
743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife

Address: Urbanizacion La Herradura | Playa del Duque, 38670, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
#3 Spa Hotel in Adeje
#3 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
#10 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
#12 Family Hotel in Adeje
Price Range: £185 - £521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Costa de Adeje* 9 storey building* Located on the seafront * 21,000 garden * 150 m from Playa del Duque beach * Entertainments and shopping centre are within 1,8 km distance in La Caleta * 22 km from Internacional Airport Reina Sofía Tenerife Sur (TFS) * 150 m from a bus stop * The hotel has been completely refurbished in spring/summer 2015 * Accepted Credit Cards: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tenerife Adeje
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing