We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“brilliant!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
Ranked #6 of 81 Hotels in Adeje
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“brilliant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

returned from a two week stay 5 days ago and what a lovely hotel with staff to match. Must mention Sonia on the lobby bar- always making us laugh and always happy. I did request a mattress topper and extra pillows so I slept well- so well in fact we only made it to breakfast four times!!!. The food was lovely and piping hot, although we also dined in the Krystal on 3 occasions but the menu never changed. We thought some of the drinks expensive as in most hotels but saw the wine we were drinking at 22 euros a bottle in the supermarket for 5 !. Our room was on the second floor and was very large, with sun on our balcony from 2pm till sundown. They are closing down for a refurb next year and I only hope they don't spoil it or lose fantastic staff- in my opinion only the bathrooms and swimming pools need attention. We don't reserve sunbeds but most people did even those from the sister hotel across the road -this isn't allowed but someone should check as people actually staying at the palace couldn't get sunbeds because of this. We met some lovely people especially John and Barbara from Liverpool. Would I go again? in a breath! Keep up the good work riu and thanks to all for a fantastic holiday.

Room Tip: rooms get smaller the higher the floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janet g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    868
    307
    86
    20
    9
See reviews for
281
866
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

definitely a 5 star hotel without a doubt, amazing and friendly staff, as well as quick service and amazing atmosphere along with the entertainment and the food thoroughly enjoyed although there was no children's entertainment there was enough to do for all ages

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannoncollx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel, our first being approx 9 years ago. We remembered the hotel fondly, and looked forward to a hotel geared to adults. Unfortunately this was not the case on our second visit. The hotel had more than its share of children, who noisily occupied the pools, kicked footballs around in an available space around the pool, and therefore my quiet and relaxing holiday was not meant to be.

The beds were hard, and so sleep was difficult.

Food however was good. The Krystal restaurant was a little pretentious, but the main restaurant always offered a good variety of foods so all tastes were catered for.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacquihay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We had a fabulous week and will be back again.
Lovely staff, beautifully clean, and great food.
Yes beds were hard, so will ask for a mattress topper next time.
Issue with sun beds did not bother us as we tend to go to the pool later in the day, but can understand frustration of prime sited beds occupied most of the day with a towel and book.
Thanks to every one of the hotel team who made our holiday a delight.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just had a week at this hotel. I had emailed the hotel before we arrived asking if we could be put on second sitting and also if we could book the Krystal restaurant as it would be our anniversary while on holiday. We were given a very warm welcome by the reception staff and they were aware of our requests both of these were dealt with for us. We were also given a upgrade to a full sea view room, what a great start to the holiday. Luggage was delivered to our room straight away. We requested extra pillows and these were delivered promptly. We arrived late evening and a cold buffet was served for all guests arriving at this time.
Breakfast at the hotel always had plenty of choice something for everyone. It was nice to sit out side on the terrace over looking the pool and sea. Staff were very efficient at clearing the tables and serving guests tea and coffee, nothing too much trouble. On a evening in the restaurant we had the same table. We were asked on the first night if we were satisfied with the table. We were spoilt for choice for our evening meals, lovely food. Excellent service again by all staff always a smile and a friendly word. On one occasion we ate in the Krystal restaurant which was nice but think the menu should be changed every 3 to 4 days to get more people in. Bar staff were very efficient they always remembered what we drank same again service with a smile.
Our room was always kept very clean. The only fault we could find was the hair dryer in the room had not enough power to dry the hair but not a massive problem.
The pool area was always clean but we preferred to be on the sun loungers in the sandy area more room to move the sun beds. The areas were peaceful no loud music playing.
There is a nice walk along the promenade which leads to some nice relaxing bars, just nice to sit at these and watch the world go by. None of these bars have anyone standing outside trying to drag you in.
We will defiantly be returning. Thank you again for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank autumnmeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Just returned from staying at this hotel. My own impressions were:-
Good points
- Very friendly staff - Ruben who served in the restaurant was particularly nice and made us all feel extremely welcome...he was lovely to us and our children and we were genuinely sorry to say goodbye to him.
- Rooms and balconies were very clean, as were outside pools
- Food was nice and had a good selection each night

Not so good points
- Although a nice hotel for all, it is definitely geared towards an older market. Our kids were a bit bored after a week as there was not a lot for them to do (There were no kids clubs or dedicated entertainment). The kids play area is mostly made of metal which was not ideal in high temperatures! The pool is quite deep in most places, so there was a very limited area for kids to swim in if they are not confident in deep water. There is also a sign that says no inflatables in the pool although I noticed this did not seem to be adhered to.
- The walls in the rooms are quite thin in my opinion. I am a very light sleeper and I had to phone reception one night to complain about the noise in the next room. I then heard their phone ringing and could hear the woman apologising, so this is an indication. After 2 nights of noise, I then had to spend quite some time convincing the reception staff that I would like to move rooms. After being advised they couldn't guarantee I wouldn't experience the same problem, I got given a new key and told to move my stuff within the hour as they needed my old key back. Something about this situation left a bad taste in my mouth.
- Not the hotel's fault, but the Thomson rep was not the best in my opinion (did not seem overly friendly and was lacking in knowledge in certain area's)....A caveat however is that she has only been a rep for 3 months, so may still be finding her feet.

To summarise, I personally wouldn't return to the hotel in the near future, but it does have some very good points and would most definitely be best suited to anyone over 50.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ajmacgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Just back from 11 days at this hotel and what a lovely hotel it is. The staff could not do enough to ensure that you had everything you needed. The beds are rather hard and as we both suffer back problems we asked for a mattress topper as we went to breakfast when we returned to our room they had been and put a topper on the beds. The whole of the hotel was cleaned to a high standard, inside and out. We had no problems with sunbeds even at 11am in the morning we always found two. The evening entertainment on the terrace was lovely and watching the sunset. Previous reviewers have commented on it being for the older generation, while we were there it was a good mix of ages from the older generation to young people and families, we found all the children to be very well behaved in all areas of the hotel. the area is nice in the quieter area of adeje, if you want lots of bars and late evening entertainment then this is not the place to be.
The hotel is having a refurb next year i hope it does not lose the warm and friendly appeal it has now. I would like to thank all the staff for making this a really excellent holiday for us I cannot praise you all individually as you all worked to such a high standard. Will we go back YES

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22ladybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adeje hotels
1.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel El Mirador
1.0 mi away
Vincci Seleccion La Plantacion del Sur
0.7 mi away
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
Costa Adeje Gran Hotel
#14 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Jardines de Nivaria - Adrian Hoteles
1.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Arecas
Hotel Riu Arecas
#15 of 81 in Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iberostar Anthelia
Iberostar Anthelia
#5 of 57 in Costa Adeje
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife
Address: Urbanizacion La Herradura, 38670, Adeje, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Adeje
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Adeje
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Adeje
#6 Luxury Hotel in Adeje
#10 Romantic Hotel in Adeje
#12 Family Hotel in Adeje
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife 4*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located on Costa de Adeje* 9 storey building* Located on the seafront* 21,000 garden* 150 m from Playa del Duque beach* 1.5 Km from various shops* 22 km from the airport* 150 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers and Lastminute so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Tenerife Adeje
Hotel Riu Palace Tenerife Adeje

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing