We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hacienda Cristoforo
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Iberostar Anthelia(Costa Adeje)
US$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
GF Fanabe(Costa Adeje)(Great Value!)
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$208
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
GF Gran Costa Adeje(Costa Adeje)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tinerfe Garden(Costa Adeje)
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Troya(Costa Adeje)
US$626
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$564
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
71
7
1
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
7
1
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyoga retreatyoga hallcommon kitchenwebsite picturescharming cottagemin drivecanary islandsspent days heresmall poolprivate terracehot waterlarge roomadaysteinerwaldorfaccommodationstenerife
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I have been to Cristoforo many times and it has always been a magical experience. There is beauty everywhere around you. It's wonderful place to relax and " disconnect" from it all. Highly recommendable !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank Olivia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Visiting Cristoforo was an amasing experience. I can only recomend you to give yourself the plesaure and experience. It is incredible authentic and calm, and it truly works.
Denis the forunder is a genuien person and are providing a true peace to the place.
The food was extremly good, we had all our meals at the place, and have not regretted that. Really an extrodinary healthy and tasty experience.
Lastly I will comment the looks and feels, it is so beuatiful and original, it is food for eyes and soul.

We will be back soon
Alex and Tina

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
23  Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Staying at the Hacienda Cristoforo is a unique experience - I stayed for 5 nights to take part in a week long Lishi tai chi/qi gong course on site (superb teachers!) The Hacienda has beautifully designed individual guest houses, each with their own character; a sense of local community from the people (a lot of them volunteers) who maintain the place, also those who come for the various activities. The owner, Denis, has a philosophy and vision of harmonious living, and everything at Cristoforo aims to maintain this tranquillity. If, like myself, you are accustomed to hotel service, you might be surprised by the quiet, discreet and unobtrusive manner with which guests are welcomed. I think a big part of the hospitality is to give visitors space to be quiet and undisturbed, allowing for private meditation and reflection in the lovely setting. I quickly discovered that a warm, sincere and exceptionally helpful level of care exists at the Hacienda. Denis personally drove me to the nearest supermarket to buy drinking water when I arrived thirsty and without supplies. The efficient and multilingual receptionist Rosa (who is on site weekdays from 10 til 2pm) did her best to track down the mobile phone I'd left in the taxi from the airport. Rosanna, who cooks delicious vegetarian food (and also teaches classes in vegetarian cuisine) was most gracious and flexible in meeting the different dietary needs of some of my fellow guests. The nights at Cristoforo are especially peaceful (although there was company available, meals can be shared at the communal kitchen, so solitude is optional.) The Hacienda is lit mostly by moon and starlight, so it is like going back to a more peaceful time before hotel chains existed!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank Penny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I have visited Hacienda Cristoforo three times and will return again in December. Hacienda Cristoforo is really an "environmental therapy" retreat in the Canary Islands. It includes beautiful gardens with integrated volcanic stone houses with hand-crafted wood and works of art and sculptures - all created by its charming owner and architect, Denis Devaris who is there to welcome the guests.

The individual houses have a nice warmth to them. My favourite is Cinco Peldanos (Five Steps). I have included a photo.

During the day you can just rest by the rock pool, which is fed by a "stream" of water cascading through "flow forms". Holistic therapies are available if you wish, such as massage which I enjoyed very much. There were also Yoga classes and Reiki available, amongst other therapies .

I enjoyed the presence of a small Waldorf kindergarten crèche that is on the property. The children attend from 9am till 2pm and visit the gardens at a set time singing and playing happily with their teachers.

Restaurants, shops and beaches are only a 5 minute drive by car, which I found very convenient. A nice public beach very close is called Callao Salvaje where they also have a good restaurant overlooking the beach. My favourite beach was El Duque.

All of these factors combine to make Cristoforo a harmonious and peaceful place to rest, reflect and recharge.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
27  Thank CRW1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

First of all I must say that I don't understand the negative reviews expressed here. The owner is charming and genuine, who welcomes people to the oasis that he built himself over around 40 years. I cannot imagine that events happened as described, as it goes against everything I have witnessed there. The Hacienda Cristoforo is completely unique. Each house is built from simple materials (mostly wood & stone) and every one has its own character, making up what is a little like a medieval (in a good sense) village. It is a place that just makes you smile, due to the immensely human(e) way everything was designed (serendipity, simplicity, love for nature come to mind). Don't expect 24-hr pampering...this is not that kind of place: This is a place to relax and enjoy a break from pressures of everyday life and soak up nature and the genuine atmosphere, away from consumerism and the usual standardised and sometimes de-humanising tourist offerings that are dished out by the tourist industry...

Room Tip: Look at the plan of the village to see what you want to be close to (pool, reception etc).
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank pedrito69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews