We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rural Victoria
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in La Orotava
Certificate of Excellence
Tonsberg, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This is the Place in Orotawa. Great atmosphere, excellent Food, hospitable staff. They've got everything roght. We really enjoyed our stay - and will definitely be back, and next time we will bring more family members with us.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finntho2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    74
    19
    13
    2
See reviews for
17
158
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We really liked this hotel. The food is Michelin standard. The staff were really helpful when our car was towed away and got the fine waived.
My only quibble is the "rural" in the hotel name as it is located in the centre of the historic town of Orotava.
Jim Wintour
London

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jimwintour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed here for 8 days end March / April. Hotel Victoria is a 14 roomed hotel, old fashioned and sedate which for us added to it's charm. It has a delightful inner courtyard with a bar; very good cuisine at lunch and dinner. Breakfasts absolutely fine. Our room did have a small en-suite but was perfectly adequate. Nice view. Interesting old town. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This was a treat. Beautiful old building, well maintained and with excellent service and information from the staff. In addition to free WiFi there was also a PC and printer to use for free also. Breakfast had some good choices including fruit and yoghurts.
The roof top terrace and views were stunning, but if you choose these rooms, you do have to carry your luggage up some steep stairs! Our room was 301 and it was perfectly clean with comfortable beds.
Parking was a bit tricky - there are plenty of free road parking spaces around, but we went three times around the block before we found an available one.

Room Tip: The roof top terrace and views were stunning, but if you choose these rooms, you do have to carry yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cleggy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Having stayed in a lovely hotel in Santa Cruz we chose this place as had late availability. I'm really surprised at the other reviews here. Our room was fusty, old fashioned, grim old creaky mattress, worn carpet, wonky floor and walls, tiny shower designed for a dwarf. I'm sure that some other rooms must be better from the reviews on here but think - b&b in Blackpool rather than chi chi charm!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bunnyqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craven Arms, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is a hotel with a striking central interior "courtyard", approached up a stairway tiled in exotic looking metallic Moorish tiles. We were greeted on our arrival by Miguel who proved to be the perfect sommelier, receptionist, waiter, you name it. Miguel mixed for us his special gin & tonic which we watched being made for us, sat at the bar in the central area. It was indeed very special and to be recommended.

We had not really appreciated that La Victoria offers fine dining until our evening meal began to arrive. The chef is Scottish and has been working on the island for twenty years. His food was excellent and we were told that all the locals pile in there to eat too.

Our room was on the first floor near reception: the inner side of the door was padded so that there was no noise at all. The view included several palm trees and roof tops. For a better view, you could also go up on the roof and look around. The room wasn't huge, nor was the shower room but both were pleasant and adequate.

Parking was a bit fraught as you had to rely on finding a space on the narrow road.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We booked a standard room on half board direct with the hotel, as we had gathered from other reviews that this is the best (only?) place to eat in La Orotava in the evenings. It is a lovely building, the courtyard downstairs makes an excellent lounge and dining area, really atmospheric. The room was not large but was well equipped in a traditional style and the bed was good. En suite shower was small but effective. Wifi worked fine in the room. Good window with a lovely view over the town. The only disadvantage of the room was the location over the kitchen, which did mean a bit of clattering in the morning and after dinner, but not at unreasonable times apart from one night of our 5 when there seemed to be clattering all night. other guests remarked on it at breakfast as well: it really isn't good to keep your guests awake!

Apart from that one incident, i didn't need the earplugs I often rely on in hotels, so it was quiet despite a central location. Breakfast was adequate (reasonable choice, prooer service for your tea and coffee) Usual tepid eggs and bacon: go for the cold things! Pastries very good.

The best thing last: the food is really good, beautifully presented. half board is 16 euros per person, so much cheaper than the a la carte. and there is a choice of at least 3 items for starter and main. Amuse bouche, a sorbet between course and a dessert also arrive! Full marks to the chef and the kitchen staff. On valentine's day we upgraded to the special set menu which was imaginative and beautifully prepared. Thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mendip_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Orotava
1.8 mi away
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Spa Garden
Hotel Botanico & The Oriental Sp...
#2 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,598 reviews
2.1 mi away
Apartamentos Casablanca
Apartamentos Casablanca
#4 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
1,753 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Garoe
Hotel Riu Garoe
#1 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#18 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
366 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Puerto Palace
Hotel Puerto Palace
#10 of 80 in Puerto de la Cruz
795 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alhambra
Hotel Alhambra
#3 of 6 in La Orotava
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rural Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rural Victoria

Property: Hotel Rural Victoria
Address: Calle Hermano Apolinar 8, 38300 La Orotava, Tenerife, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > La Orotava
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in La Orotava
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rural Victoria 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rural Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rural Victoria Hotel
Hotel Rural Victoria Tenerife/La Orotava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing