We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky hotel”
Review of Hotel Plaza Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Plaza Inn
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Figueres
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great hotel- next door to Dalli museum. Super clean, quaint room, interesting decorations, easy walk to great restaurants. Friendly, helpful staff. Didn't have breakfast at hotel so can't comment about food. Easy parking on the street- just needed to move the car in the morning before 9 am. Loved this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to see available rooms- some more interesting than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

This property is in the best spot for visiting the Dali Museum, and you can get lucky with parking outside the museum by checking time of arrival, then after 4pm its free I think it was all night until next morning !!! Pays to check like we did. We hardly paid anything. Hotel is just so ´happy´. The animals and figurines outside and inside the lobby are just the bees knees. The rooms have some very cute designs, but the room wasn't available as a double that we had booked. They did find another room for us, but it was roadside, and rather noisy, but still nice. The good old rubbish trucks and cleaning in the morning of course wakes you. Reception was very helpful and walking round Figueres was just lovely. A beautiful spot, although in April, we were surprised how many French tourists were in town and throughout the Museum. We found out this is normal for the area being so close to the French border.... Cafes in the square closeby are great, as are the Panaderia´s and the whole feel of Figueres. Worth another visit.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the backside of the hotel, not roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TedandBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Convenient to Salvador Dali Museum and with parking (cost 10 euros) nearby.
Room of a reasonable size (as was the bathroom) - and with surrealist paintings on the walls..
Had trouble with WiFi connection and later Google put a stop on my account as thought it was a fraudulent connection.
We were told (probably my Spanish was not good enough) that breakfast was not available when we walked in the restaurant at 08h10 though as we checked out, the pleasant receptionist who also spoke some French and some English said that we should have spoken to her earlier about this. Thus we has an enjoyable and good value breakfast on the pavement outside a local café.
However would happily stay again and if you are expecting a 3 star hotel at a reasonable price, this is ideal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Cycling from Zurich to Barcelona we decided to head to Figueres after riding over the Pyrenees. We're not sure how we found this hotel, but it along with the Salvador Dali museum was the highlight of this wonderful city. The hotel has everything that is needed, but is mostly unique because of its decor and attitude, both of which flow from the effervescent owner. One look at the exterior of the hotel tells you that you've found the right address: merry go round animals adorn every balcony. The rooms are all filled with a variety of art, from funky to surreal to classical. But the highlight for us was the rooftop barbeque on Saturday night. No charge for anything for hotel guests. Sardines, shrimp, and as much libation as you want. Best of all is the owner's pure joy in having guests enjoy themselves. He even arranged our seating according to language skills. We sat with guests from Spain, Honduras, Bolivia, France, Russia and Puerto Rico.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the spotted pony on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doug h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Our short stay in Figueres unexpectedly turned into one of those experiences that you never forget - in a very good way. We were driving from Spain to France and needed a hotel en route for a Saturday night. We booked the Plaza Inn because it looked quirky and different. After all we were only staying there for one night.

When we checked-in, we were invited to a free fish barbeque on the roof held by the owner. We were told that even the drinks were free. Of course, we accepted! We went up to our room (number 203) and were pleased to see a 7 foot tall rabbit on our balcony. We needed a nap because we were jet-lagged and were even more pleased to find that the beds were very comfortable and firm. Then it was on to the barbeque which was fabulous. The owner was the host and we could tell that this is more of a lifestyle than a job for him. We had a great time, eating sardines and shrimp, drinking and socializing with Catalan and French guests. After drinking beer and wine with the meal, our host insisted that we have mojitos and we accepted, not wanting to disappoint!

If you are in Figueres for a Saturday night, check with the hotel to find out if the owner is hosting a barbeque on the rooftop. If so, this is the only place to stay!

Room Tip: Room 203 has a 7 foot tall bunny on the balcony and robots on the walls. Wacky but perhaps no less s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We chose this hotel for it's location close to the Dali Museum and it's quirkiness and were not disappointed. We arrived by car and initially got lost even with printed directions but hotel signs are all over the town directlng you, so you'll quickly find your way. They have a temporary spot outside the hotel for check-in and we had pre-booked parking for Euro 10 per day. When we entered the small garage just across and up a street from the hotel, the two spaces were occupied so we parked in an empty space and told the reception lady who directed us to a public garage at probably twice the price but while we went to our room for a minute, she dashed across and found one of the occupants next door who immediately came and moved for us, so no problem and were grateful she made the effort. Very friendly and helpful staff.

Our room was small but adequate with a good-sized terrace with table and chairs. No clock or coffee-maker but hairdryer and flat-screen TV, although no english language channels that we could find. Free wi-fi that requires new code every 3 hours. Only weird thing was the towels that were not absorbent and need to be replaced. Rooftop terrace was also funkily decorated along with the reception area and parts of the exterior. We didn't book breakfast so can't comment on that but there's a good cafe/restaurant/bar adjoining the hotel open early and late. Dali Museum and the old town and Rambla just steps away. This part of town seems to cater mostly to the daytime Dali visitors, so be aware quite a few restaurants close very early. Good Pintxos restaurant though open later at other end of Rambla. Figueres also good base for visiting Besalu and Cadaques.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zappcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Decided to stop over in Figueres just for the Dali museum and picked the quirkiest looking hotel. The hotel room, lobby and stair wells are filled with art but the corridors are a bit bare (which I assume is to stop people gawking in front of other guests rooms - but it was a bit disappointing).

The check in time for the hotel was a little late (3pm) but we spent the day going to the museum and when we came back our bags had been brought up to our rooms.

We had a few minor issues with the room - shower hose was busted, fridge was very dirty and the tv remote was out of batteries. None of these affected our stay, just thought I'd mention it. It's a perfectly adequate place for a night since it is in walking distance to the city's main attraction.

The terrace upstairs did seem like it would be a fun place to be in a busier season though.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Figueres hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Duran
Hotel Duran
#1 of 12 in Figueres
745 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ronda Hotel
Ronda Hotel
#2 of 12 in Figueres
425 reviews
2.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Figueres
B&B Hotel Figueres
#4 of 12 in Figueres
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pirineos
Hotel Pirineos
#3 of 12 in Figueres
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rambla
Hotel Rambla
#11 of 12 in Figueres
144 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Trave
Hotel Trave
#12 of 12 in Figueres
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza Inn

Address: c/ Pujada del Castell 14, 17600, Figueres, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Figueres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Figueres
Price Range: £49 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Plaza Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Plaza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing