We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Duran

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Duran
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Figueres
Certificate of Excellence
Aalst, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Good hotel in de center of the city. Very clean and quit rooms. Breakfast was good and enough. Garage is just around the corner and secured. Travelled single and had no extra charges. Perfect locations to visit the city and the area round.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamaram06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelduran, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Duran, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Tamaram06,

Thank you very much for your comments, in Duran Hotel & Restaurant we like to know that you enjoyed your stay, the satisfaction of our customers is a priority for us. Feedback from our customers help us to improve our services and facilities. We appreciate the time you have spent and remain at your disposal for future stays, please contact us if you so choose.

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    326
    78
    12
    10
See reviews for
116
408
39
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is a very nice hotel, with spacious rooms and bathrooms. It is in the center of Figueres, walking distance to both stations and just around the corner from the Dali museum and the quaint shopping area. Bed was comfortable and room clean. Staff pleasant and helpful. We did not book breakfast because one can find many cafés steps away for significantly less. We however had a delicious dinner in the restaurant which is famous with its Dali connection. Really nice place. We think that Duran hotel is a great deal, if you want to visit Dali museum and in Figueres and his house in Portligat. One can take the bus to Cadaques, but you’ll have to book in advance to visit Dali’s house or risk being disappointed. We booked online and the staff in the hotel was kind to print the tickets for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianaAndAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelduran, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Duran, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Diana,

From all of us at Duran Hotel & Restaurant, we want to thank you for the time you have the spent with us, as well as thanking you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. It's always a pleasure to get feedback like this, where you express your satisfaction. We are especially glad to hear that you enjoyed the Restaurant Duran . We will send your comments to the appropriate staff members.

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaluma, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Hotel Duran, like its bar and restaurant were favorite Dali haunts. The place has nice clean large rooms that are well thought out. Bordering on a real bargain it's a great place to park yourself before a nonstop orgy of surrealism the next at the nearby Dali museum (an amazing five star museum). Staff is friendly and competent. Parking is nearby and you can unload right in front. It is two steps to the Rambla and lots of nice restaurants and shops. We ate at the Duran's throwback high class restaurant that is dated, but we loved it (see previous review). Figueres is a bargain and I'm sure there are other fine options, but Hotel Duran is a fine spot.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelduran, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Duran, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Neal,

From all of us at Duran Hotel & Restaurant, we want to thank you for the time you have the spent with us, as well as thanking you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. It's always a pleasure to get feedback like this, where you express your satisfaction. We will send your comments to the appropriate staff members.

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed staying here! We chose Hotel Duran for its close location to the Dali Museum and were positively surprised by the overall quality of this hotel. The room was spacious with a very comfortable bed. Lovely bathroom with a great shower. The breakfast was ample, providing a good range of items.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelduran, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Duran, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Karin T,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are pleased to know that you found your experience at our Hotel enjoyable, especially the rooms. We are happy to welcome you back any time.

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

* Pristine, adequate rooms. Nothing fancy, but nice striped coverlet, good amenities.
* Best location imaginable - steps away from Dali Museum
* White tablecloth breakfast. Very proper, good coffee offerings, fresh cheese, conscientious chef
* A bargain

Room Tip: A trouble-free overnight on an overnight from Barcelona (with a stop at Mirona). Arrive here about 6...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelduran, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Duran, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Pam,

Thank you very much for your feedback, we are pleased to know that you found your experience at our Hotel enjoyable, especially the breakfast. We are happy to welcome you back any time.

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,445 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 845 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Room 204 – spacious with comfy bed but pillows too soft. Safe deposit box.

Wifi password given but we realised this is only for 1 device so we had to ask reception for 3 more passwords for our 3 other devices (free of charge).

Spacious enough bathroom with amenities. Hotel is walking distance to Dali museum and square (5-8 mins). Very central. Not too far from our car parking (5-8 mins walk) at Parking Formula on Jonquera (euro 26 for 1 night and 36 for 2 nights). Only 4 floors. Hotel has carparking next block but they did not tell us about this so we parked at Parking Formula.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tweetcoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelduran, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Duran, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Tweetcoz,

Thank you very much for your comments, here at Duran Hotel & Restaurant we appreciate to be informed about that you enjoyed your stay, the satisfaction of our customers is a high priority for us. Feedback from our customers help us to improve our services and facilities. We appreciate the time you have spent with us, and we continue to be at your disposal for future stays. Do not hesitate to contact us if you decide to return to stay with us, we will be happy to welcome you again.

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacarilla, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We picked this hotel for it's location and good reviews. The location is excellent but you do have to drive past a pedestrianisation post and no entry sign to drive up the Rambla to get to the hotel. I can see why many people find the garage first as it is on the main road through Figueras (N11).The garage is in the next block and a two minute stroll, the garage attendant was very chatty and helpful, the man on reception was smiley but keen to show he was busy. The hotel is charming, an old building with a modern conversion retaining charater. but not being purpose built it is a noisey building. All the room doors close with a bang and we had a very heavy footed insomniac in the room above us, but could also hear guests in the corridors and the elevator droning. The room was immaculate,the bathroom perfect. A fridge and kettle would have been the icing on it. Other than the noise the only other negative was the window in the room opened onto a beautiful courtyard that was used by the occupants of the next room to smoke in and they did like to smoke, so the window had to remain shut a great shame.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor if you are a light sleeper at the end of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelduran, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Duran, responded to this review, 1 June 2014
Dear Peter C,

From all of us at Duran Hotel & Restaurant, we want to thank you for the time you have the spent with us, as well as thanking you for sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community. It's always meaningful to get feedback like this, where you express your opinion. We will take your comments into consideration to improve our services.

Best regards,
The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Figueres hotels
0.6 mi away
Ronda Hotel
Ronda Hotel
#2 of 12 in Figueres
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pirineos
Hotel Pirineos
#3 of 12 in Figueres
283 reviews
2.0 mi away
B&B Hotel Figueres
B&B Hotel Figueres
#4 of 12 in Figueres
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Inn
Hotel Plaza Inn
#5 of 12 in Figueres
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rambla
Hotel Rambla
#11 of 12 in Figueres
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel President by Brava Hoteles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duran

Property: Hotel Duran
Address: Lasauca, 5, 17600, Figueres, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Figueres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Figueres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Duran 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duran Hotel & Restaurant is located in the heart of Figueres. It is a family hotel with great tradition and reputation. The hotel presents a sharp contrast in its interior design. Its upper floors, superbly renovated, displaying a very high-end finishes higher than expected in his category. They are distributing the 65 rooms decorated with functional furniture design wooden heads inspired Dalí elegant, warm tones on the walls and a nice lighting. The ground floor shows a more rustic, with the presence of the original corner stone of 1855, the Celler de Ca la Teta, and crowded restaurant, a landmark for those who want to learn the cuisine of the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Duran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duran Hotel Figueres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing