We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Figures if visiting Dali museum or motoring the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Emporda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Emporda
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Figueres
San Francisco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Figures if visiting Dali museum or motoring the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Emporda for seven days in May and really enjoyed the experience. The room was clean and very well designed and appointed. If you are coming to Figures and plan to see the Dali Theatre/Museum, Hotel Emporda is particular nice because a 10-minute stroll on the street behind the hotel (Av. Perpinya) takes you to the museum. Our room faced an open field and I would highly recommend asking for that side because of the traffic on the main drag (S. Dali Av.).

We ate twice at the hotel's famous restaurant El Motel twice and were very pleased to have done so.

Figueres is a very busy little town with lots of traffic and a complicated system of one-way streets punctuated with traffic circles. Hotel Emporda with its easy parking and easy access to the areas highway system really helped us get on the road to other Costa Brava destinations.

After staying at hotels in Paris and Barcelona, I was particularly impressed with the brilliance of whoever set up the Emporda's wifi network. It worked! Didn't have to get a new password every 24 hours or walk the halls to find a good signal.

We asked at the Desk about finding a laundromat and were vaguely directed to the other side of town. In fact we discovered too late that there is a very nice one two blocks from the hotel on Av. Perpinya ... some nice bars there too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zososfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    91
    45
    18
    11
See reviews for
54
109
9
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Masnou, Spain
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I have been going to this Hotel since 1975, it hasnt changed much accept the price, the rooms are comfortable and its located only a few miles over the border in Spain, on the outskirts of Figueres.

The food service is excellent but it isnt a cheap Restaurant, many people go to it for fine dining who live locally.

The Duck is particularily good, and its wine selection is immense too many wines to choose from.
There is Garage parking so if you are travelling your vehicles safe.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StMichael800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel Emporda because it had parking, was relatively close to the Dali museum and has one of the best restaurants. The hotel is nothing remarkable (unlike the restaurant) and the breakfast was below standards for a 4 star hotel. As a matter of fact, the hotel is more like a 3 star and some areas show a need for attention. Overall is an average 3 star hotel. .

Room Tip: check your room before unpacking
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRLorie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suisse
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This well maintained hotel accepts people traveling with dogs. Unlike another commentator, we had a quiet room, excellent beds and a very clean bathroom with modern, well working plumbing. Breakfast was more than adequate, plenty of choice. As it is difficult to find a good hotel when one has a dog, we appreciated this one very much.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MusicalArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bari, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Small dark room, noisy as it was on the main road to Figueres side. (Possibly that's what they reserve to travelers with dogs or kids). Bathroom looked clean but there was a clipped nail on the floor.

The double bed was comfortable, but the single one looked like an ex-hospital (old) one. We had to turn off the wall radiator completely because the temperature control knob was not functional.

Breakfast was varied, but the ham (jamon cocido) smelled and tasted sour. The hotel has a "signature" restaurant and I sampled risotto con azafran (saffron risotto); maybe I should have tried a different dish.

The room was definitely not a 4-star one. Furthermore, the front entrance is not accessible to persons with disabilities.

It takes about 15-20 minutes to walk to downtown; the area looks pretty safe.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tourism_revw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Booked this as it was close to the Dali museum and was at least 4 stars and we booked a large room, two bathrooms, jacuzzi style bath and a lounge area. The hotel was clean friendly and all that we needed and reasonable price too. Breakfast was very traditional which we both like so we were happy but if you are looking for traditional English you may not altho Kellogs cereals were evident. The jewel in the crown is the restaurant which is a real gourmet experience and if you are there for just one night, I'd challenge you to find a better place to dine

Room Tip: Room at the back although we were never troubled by road noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmaurs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We got a suite in the hotel. Big, nice and quiet. The hotel is just 20 mn walking of the Theatre Museum Salvador Dali. The restaurant in the hotel serves amazing food. We got asparagus, peas, lamb and wee squids. All that with local red wine and sparkling water. Big selection of chees T9 finish. Everything cooked perfectly. The service was great too. Very professional and warm.
Well done Hôtel Emporda

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Figueres hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Duran
Hotel Duran
#1 of 12 in Figueres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ronda Hotel
Ronda Hotel
#2 of 12 in Figueres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pirineos
Hotel Pirineos
#3 of 12 in Figueres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Figueres
B&B Hotel Figueres
#4 of 12 in Figueres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Bon Retorn
0.8 mi away
Hotel President
Hotel President
#10 of 12 in Figueres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Emporda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Emporda

Property: Hotel Emporda
Address: Avda. Salvador Dali i Domenech 170, 17600, Figueres, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Figueres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Figueres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Emporda 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOTEL EMPORDÀ is located on the northern approaches to the town of Figueres. Well know for the cuisine. Easy and free parking just in front the hotel. Rooms have all modern conveniences to guarantee the most comfortable stay, just a few minutes from the centre of Figueres and the Dalí Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Emporda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emporda Hotel Figueres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing