We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No air condition!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sigtuna Stadshotell
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sigtuna
Certificate of Excellence
Eskilstuna, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“No air condition!”
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We were in town for a wedding and spent one night here.
And boy was it a hot one!
You'd expect a 5 star hotel to have air condition in all rooms, but no. Hopefully they will have changed that when they close to renovate.
Otherwise it was a pleasant stay. Good service, excellent food and afternoon tea and a surrounding fitting a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Golben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    23
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
34
2
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Having been staying in Stockholm, we fancied getting away from the city and spent one night at the Sigtuna Stadshotell. First the good things. The hotel was beautifully designed and decorated in Swedish style, with pale blue-grey wood throughout. Views over the lake were stunning. Our room was a good size corner room, with big windows on two walls and lovely light. There was a good breakfast.

But, but....it needs to do much better than this to justify its 5* star rating. The young staff were charming and friendly enough but hardly schooled in the customer service you'd expect at this price. On arrival no-one offered to take our bags up to our room. Maybe its Swedish egalitarianism and we weren't that bothered, but it would have been nice to be asked. The dinner menu looked appetising but was fussy and pretentious (and, as other reviewers have noted, really salty) . Mark up on the wine was rapacious and the first bottle (which we we had to sent back) had a sulphurous whiff. The replacement was OK but nothing special for fifty quid price tag.

Our departure rather summed up the experience. Check out was at 12.00 and we didn't need to leave until 2.00. But, we were told, the hotel closed at 12.00 and there was nowhere we could leave luggage. With a shrug, we were told "perhaps the tourist information office could look after the bags". Now I might accept being turfed out at midday with our luggage from a hostel or a seaside B&B but in a 5* hotel?

A suggestion, Sigtuna Stadshotel. How about saying to guests in this position (when they check in) "I'm sorry but we are closing at 12.00 tomorrow. However not to worry, we have an arrangement with the tourist information office. When you check out we'll take your bags over and the taxi can pick you up from there". A small thing, but it would have made all the difference.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bobboblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2007

Sigtuna's Stadshotell is a pretty hotel overlooking the water.

The rooms are comfortable, staff is friendly and helpful.

Food however, is vastly overrated and overpriced. Far too much salt and oil and cream which tends to compensate for lack of flavour in my opinion. We had the set menu with the wines chosen for each course. Soup was nearly inedible due to the heavy handed use of salt.

Helpful?
2 Thank lizfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2006

Great food, very tranquil atmosphere, better than average service for Sweden. Room (I had a single) was tiny. Bathroom the size of a postage stamp.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Tips/Secrets — Great location very close to Arlanda Airport
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Risu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2006

I was lucky enough to stay in the Stadshotell for a business meeting, and have my family along too. The style of the hotel was very Swedish minimalist (gustavian as my wife/style counsellor advises me) built in 1909 - as all the hotel paper and pens remind you. It is newly decorated throughout in pale blue and white.
The food was fantastic, with dinner and lunch (for the business meeting) presented like a work of art. The whole table had to be seated before they would describe each dish and woe betide if you dont pay attention : what appeared as a chocolate mousse was in fact licorice!
The rooms were light and spacious (with enough rooom for two folding beds for the children). The staff were welcoming and efficient.
The hotel has a lovely view from the dining room out over a lake, still frozen at Easter, and you can walk striaght out onto the street of the town,which is Swedens oldest town.

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank choppiedoppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2005

A very romantic hotel with some of the best food you will find in Sweden. The views are epic. Tragically, they will be closed in july 2005 for renovations.

Stayed June 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank Tresise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sigtuna
1.2 mi away
Sigtunahojden Hotell & Konferens
0.4 mi away
Sigtunastiftelsen
Sigtunastiftelsen
#4 of 6 in Sigtuna
61 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotell Kristina
Hotell Kristina
#2 of 6 in Sigtuna
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Stora Brannbo Konferens & Hotell
2.7 mi away
Hotell Anstalten
Hotell Anstalten
#6 of 6 in Sigtuna
25 reviews
12.7 mi away
Gorvalns Slott
Gorvalns Slott
#1 of 2 in Jarfalla
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sigtuna Stadshotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sigtuna Stadshotell

Property: Sigtuna Stadshotell
Address: Stora Nygatan 3, Sigtuna 19330, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Stockholm County > Sigtuna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sigtuna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sigtuna Stadshotell 5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sigtuna Stadshotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadshotell Hotel Sigtuna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing