We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and cosiness combined with surprising rooms and service!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fribourg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Auberge Aux 4 Vents
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Fribourg
Köln
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun and cosiness combined with surprising rooms and service!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Every room has its own specific charm and surprise. Excellent cuisine, fabulous view from a wonderful garden, a more than friendly atmosphere. You may as well play the piano. Just ask for the room 'dreams' and leave your dreams on a piece of paper in the glassbottle

Room Tip: The room with the 'wishbottles' in which you can leave a message for the next visitors. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VSP502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    24
    10
    10
    5
See reviews for
12
45
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

stayed here for 2 nights, the room was quirky, strange, off the wall, many things in the room looked like they had been collected from a junk shop. Bed was clean. Room was tired. Bed was extremely uncomfortable! Over priced at 200CHF a night, without a proper shower over the bath that you can stand underneath. Friday night dinner Service was excellent, friendly Service, and the Food was excellent! Far better than the Hotel and somehow didn't match the Hotel room vibe. The Hotel Website lacks Information about the Hotel and Restaurant. We didn't know if breakfast was included in the room Price, happy to say it was. We didnt know that on Sunday they wouldnt be doing the normal breakfast Service, but instead they did a brunch from 10am - 2pm. We were up before 8am waiting around for hours before we could have a coffee. This is the type of useful Information the Hotel should put on their Website. The hotel sign is not at all visable at night time, so be surprised if you have Problems finding it in the dark. Excellent Chef in the kitchens, but will not be returning to this place.

Room Tip: dont choose room called "Anges" if you are two People as the bed is small and uncomfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swissmisstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sospel, France
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Unlike the myriad of rotten little hotels with no facilities that purport to be 'boutique' establishments, this is a genuinely 'boutique' hotel - and doesn't even know it. How could it be anything else? Only a few rooms, and each one arranged in a slightly crumbling, funky decor, the 4 Vents (Four winds) is a delight. By the usual, aseptic standards of what passes for Swiss hospitality, this is a real joy of a hotel.

Facilities are as minimal as the bogus 'boutique' hotels you know so well, but all this is made up for by a gorgeous garden, lovely service, and delicious home cooked dinners.

You could be forgiven for imagining you are lost in the countryside, so artfully has the hotel been protected from the world outside. Nonetheless a train line runs nearby and so does a major road. You are a mere 12 minutes from Fribourg main station. And yet you are aware only of twittering birds, fragrant flowers and creaky wooden floors.

Recommended, big time.

Room Tip: Go mad and ask for the room with the bath that slides out into the open air. Otherwise, all rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeremyCondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kusnacht, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

You go there because of the very special hotel. If you just want do visit Fribourg the hotel is far outside.

We waited for more than one year to get the chambre bleu on a Saturday. However, it's worth to wait. The hotel is very nice and clean and the chambre bleu is bright. The ride with the bath tube is amazing. It's nice to sit there outside the window in the first floor enjoying the nice view over the beautiful garden with a glas of champagne.

In sommer you can use as well the swimming pool and sit outside for having dinner. However, also inside we could enjoy an excellent dinner. Price is fine for what you get.

On Sunday mornings there is a breakfast brunch with a huge choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lexli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

A reply to septsez: Did we really stay in the same place? The staff couldn't have been more amiable. OK: I arrived there on a cold, rainy day and was extremely grateful to get inside a warm house at last. It showed. Also, I did my best to speak French although it's not my mother tongue. True: in most big hotels they'd have switched to my mother tongue ASAP. Here, they permitted me to practice. If you want robots instead of people, the Auberge Aux Quatre Vents is not for you. In German, we have a proverb: Wie man in den Wald hineinruft, so tönt es zurück. Meaning: as you shout into the woods, so the echo will be... Quite apart from the staff's friendliness, the place is magical, inside and out. The food was, too - I'm not usually a foodie but their menu painted a Cheshire cat grin on my face. And I had a room on the side of the railway line, and no, it didn't bother me a bit. Very highly recommended if you like small hotels with lots of character. I was here on business but I'll be back with the family!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna70Zurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Whatever image you have of Switzerland being a land of civilised, cultured and efficient people, dont be fooled into believing that service follows assuredly behind.

In the major tourist places, at 4 & 5 star hotels, your service expectations will be happily fulfilled by your smiling and amiable hosts as they take your credit card or your money from your hand.

Auberge aux 4 Vents is not one if them.

The lack of service at this auberge is quite infamous amongst the locals who live here. In fact it is the butt of many a joke amongst us. To list all of the bad stories would take too long. However here is our latest experience from yesterday.

Apparently, sweets (desserts) arent available/not served before 6pm. Having said that we werent actually told that, we discovered it ourselves after picking up their menu from the bar and quizzing them about the sweets that were listed. We were told that 'no sweets are available' and our choice was limited to a bowl of fruit that had been obviously sitting on their bar since 2-3 days beforehand (in 30C temperatures) or a tart (uncovered, unrefridgerated) that was keeping the fruit company on the bar.

The time? approximately 6pm. Seems it was too dificult for the staff to be bothered about giving us any information.

I am amazed to see that readers here are still rating this Auberge with high stars whilst overlooking the shortfalls or choosing not to communicate an accurate message to the rest of us.

For the same money, CHF260/night for 2 people in a 'quirky' room that barely meets your expectations, take yourselves into the old town of Fribourg where you will be happily surprised with the historic surroundings, cobblestoned streets, excellent bars and restaurants, picturesque river parks, amazing views over hundreds of years old wooden bridges and NO TRAINS buzzing beneath your window less than 50metres away from your window.

If still none of this detracts you from Auberge Aux 4 Vents, then please dont miss visiting the mens toilet. The open window of which is a mere 1 metre from the open door of the 'fine' kitchen and its bustling entering and exiting chefs.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms facing East are not next to the noisy Railway Line and Road. There is no aircondioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank septsez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

We stayed on a bitterly cold evening - the room was quirky rather than cosy with a table which moves on its own, a mirror at waist heght and fans to blow out candles.... Other reviewers have not mentionned the railway line which is 30m from the front of the house. It is a local line so trains are short, ponderous and infrequent, but you may want to ask for a room at the back.

Dinner was very good with a novel menu - altho the dinning room, like many other buidings, was struggling to cope with the extreme outdoor temperature and strong wind. Under normal conditions it should be fine.

Staff were all very friendly and I would recommend the auberge overall but you should expect a very unique auberge rather than a boutique hotel...Probably a few too many superlatives in other reviews for my liking, but I would definitely go back in the summer.

Room Tip: Check the website and book early if you want your bath under the stars. If you don't like train...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fribourg hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel de la Rose
Hotel de la Rose
#4 of 13 in Fribourg
174 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#3 of 13 in Fribourg
102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel ibis Fribourg
Hotel ibis Fribourg
#1 of 1 in Granges-Paccot
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aux Remparts
Hotel Aux Remparts
#1 of 13 in Fribourg
140 reviews
1.8 mi away
Au Parc Hotel Fribourg
Au Parc Hotel Fribourg
#7 of 13 in Fribourg
76 reviews
1.4 mi away
NH Fribourg
NH Fribourg
#8 of 13 in Fribourg
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Aux 4 Vents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Aux 4 Vents

Property: Auberge Aux 4 Vents
Address: Grandfey 124, Fribourg 1702, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > Fribourg
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Fribourg
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing