We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are like a prison cell”
Review of NH Fribourg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Fribourg
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Fribourg
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The worst room I have stayed in on a business trip. It was like a prison cell, with no environmental controls (unless you include the fact that the window can be opened). The only advantage is that it is close to the train station for a quick exit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
1  Thank MarkandMina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2013

The hotel location is very good: very close to the station and the old town. Just around the hotel there are various clubs: night-life was very active on Saturday night. For this reason I suggest a room in a high floor. The staff has been very professional and kind.
The only issue was that the room wan not very big and not in perfect conditions. Furniture looked quite old and there where some scratches. Also the acoustic insulation was not the best.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paoletor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Well, there’s no getting away from it. The hotel is by far the ugliest building in Fribourg. No matter where you are in Fribourg, you can see this hotel. It is an eyesore.

But, inside reception, it has been redecorated to a high standard, the staff are very helpful and polite. The bar area and breakfast area are very clean, and again waited by very helpful staff.

The room I stayed in was a superior room on the 8th floor. The views over towards the river and pre-Alps were amazing. The windows open wide, which is a nice change. The room is VERY spacious, but needs modernising. They look like they were last decorate in the 70’s. But are VERY clean, and the beds are VERY comfortable.

All in all, if you get past the ugly building, and the dated rooms (no aircon, would not stay in summer) the place is clean, central and staff are great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HP1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Do not take notice of such negative comments. The receptionists were helpful, knowledgeable and so friendly. Internet is not as slow as it was mentioned in the other reviews and free of charge. The b'fast was in abundance and dinner in the eve was v reasonable. the only bit of drawback is that there are no A/Cs in the rooms but during the night the temperature in Switzerland cools down. This hotel is in prime location exactly near the shopping centre and the main street.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller010478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

In a country renowned for its attention to detail - particularly where luxury is concerned - this is a relatively Spartan property offering the absolute minimum requirements for business travel: a bed (designed for very small people), a washroom, and a closet.

Service was friendly and professional, the food in the restaurant was decent, and the property was clean. We were met each evening upon returning by a gang of what looked like bikers loitering outside the main entrance, but they presumably weren't staff so it can't be held against the hotel.

Room Tip: Apparently the rooms on one side of the hall are palatial, and the rooms on the other side - where I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPK_YVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

The NH is a really nice hotel. The staff was lovely, and the breakfast was delish. Our room was the only suite in the hotel, and it was marvelous. The view is great, and it is within walking distance of anything you would like to do in Fribourg. It is a great little town, and the NH was well worth it. We will be going back.

Room Tip: We had the suite on the 6th floor and it was huge and very nicely appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuntBec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I had a 9th floor view to the mountains, which was lovely, and overall my own experience here was great, but I was one of 7 and all on different floors and areas of each floor.

Overall the view from all, was that the rooms were very warm, and opening the old style windows precarious. Some facilities were quite limiting, eg some no baths, or light and loose wardrobes with security safe that could be easily removed.

The mini bars were well stocked, and the tv had 40+ channels, but only CNN was English! Complimentary internet was worse than old dial up, but hey, it was free for 24 slots (new slot codes available each day).

Otherwise overall the location was great, and staff friendly, but the doors to the passages are not very sound proof, so outside noise is very prominent in many rooms, especially from other door noise. Also if you did open the window, outside noise was very audible as in city centre, with bus routes and sports fields quite close. With that though, is a huge variety of restaurants close by (eg Penguin, which served a large mix, including Bison, Spring buck, and crocodile) and then the shopping centre is 2 min walk away, and the train station 2 min further - so extremely convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobIrving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fribourg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#3 of 13 in Fribourg
105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Rose
Hotel de la Rose
#5 of 13 in Fribourg
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Faucon
Hotel du Faucon
#4 of 13 in Fribourg
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel ibis Fribourg
Hotel ibis Fribourg
#1 of 1 in Granges-Paccot
347 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aux Remparts
Hotel Aux Remparts
#2 of 13 in Fribourg
147 reviews
0.7 mi away
Au Parc Hotel Fribourg
Au Parc Hotel Fribourg
#6 of 13 in Fribourg
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Fribourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Fribourg

Address: Grand-Places 14 | Perolles, Fribourg 1700, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > Fribourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Fribourg
Price Range: £82 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Fribourg 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Fribourg hotel offers a perfect location right next to Fribourg's historical city center. Our warm and welcoming service and excellent cuisine are only a few of the numerous advantages you will enjoy when you stay at this comfortable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, NHHotels, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your NH Fribourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Fribourg
Nh Hotel Fribourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing