We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A highly controversial spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of NH Fribourg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NH Fribourg
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Fribourg
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“A highly controversial spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

Stayed one night in February. The location is really very convenient, but a bit off the main road. There is a large parking lot just outside the hotel, which is ok. But at the same time there are some low-class bars and a small park outside (poorly lit in dark-time and not properly cleaned), which don't add much charm to the place.
The twin room itself was enormously large according to Swiss standarts and had two separate queen-sized beds. However the room was very uncomfortable and was lacking proper furnishing and any attempt at decoration. The windows were dirty, so the view over the city was ruined. At first I was surprised to find the fan in the wardrobe, but later I discovered that there was no air-conditioner or even a central ventilation in the room. As the day was sunny it got really stuffy in the room.
The breakfast-area is modernly renovated and very comfortable. It was so dissonant with the living areas of the hotel. The breakfast itself proved to be a real pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elena076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    117
    119
    71
    40
See reviews for
39
67
40
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
zurich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2011

I stayed for a couple of days in the NH - the location is convenient (easy walk to the centre and train station), the breakfast is very good, the rooms are maybe a bit too small and not the most modern ones, but otherwise ok. What was annoying was the noise of the bar downstairs (on a Thursday night, not a Friday..), I could hear the music up until my room (until 3 am) on the 5th floor which prevented me from sleeping which was annoying as I had to work the next day.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level Contributor
77 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

I stayed at the NH hotel in Fribourg for three days in January 2011. the hotel is ideally located at a walking distance from the station and in area where one can find resturant and bars. i received a room on the ninth floor. there was nothing to fault during my stay, the room was clean, spacious and the bed comfortable. The hotel is also very quiet. TV has a wide choice of channels and a good but pricy high speed internet. The breakfast was good with an efficient service, only the orange juice was sub par. I would use this hotel again if I were to go back to Fribourg.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnTheRoadAgainOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2010

Have stayed at this hotel three times now over the last two months, each time things are getting progressively worse...

Positives:
- good location within fribourg - near station, shops, restaurants
- breakfast has reasonable selection

Negatives:
- staff not too happy
- hotel rooms are small (some have single beds) and despite booking non-smoking room have turned up and been given a smelly room as n/s ones have all gone
- surronding area is very noisy (pub next door with noise, cars racing round car park pulling 'doughnuts' - one attempted to burnout his tyres and filled my room with an acrid rubber smell on one evening!, noise every night until 0430) and difficult to sleep
- pole dancing bar under hotel attracts 'interesting' characters
- twice have attempted to charge me for items from the mini bar that I've not taken
- expensive wi-fi
- rooms can be grubby

there is a lack of competition within firbourg for 'corporate' hotels - more competition would liven things up and make NH work harder for its money.

particulary amusing is the 'display' in the entrance of NH hotels where they've stuck up the pages from the NH brochure.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nozmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NHHotelesAT, Manager at NH Fribourg, responded to this review, 29 September 2010
Dear Sir/Madam,

first of all we would like to thank you having taken the time to give your feedback on tripadvisor.com.

We regret to learn that your stay has not turned out to your entire satisfaction.
Please be assured that we constantly work on improving our services in order to enable a pleasant stay to our customers.

We would like to take the opportunity to point out your queries as following:
It is a constant process of refurbishment to adapt all our rooms to the latest standards.
We have changed already beds, curtains, chairs, TVs in most of our rooms and will proceed with this in the upcoming months.
Please understand that it is not possible to do all at a short term and at the same time.

We sincerely regret the disturbance during the night. Our downtown location can mean extra street activity on weekends, as much as we try to contain it. On your next visit, we would be happy to assign one of our quiet back-side rooms upon request.

As you were looking for a more spacious room, we would recommend to reserve a double room for single use or even a superior double room for single use. A further advantage of rooms in superior category is that they are all facing the quiet side.

As a result of guest feedback like yours we have changed two more floors (with 27 rooms in total) into non smoking area.

Furthermore we are trying to find a solution with our internet provider in order to offer WIFI for free at least within public area. This process should be finalized hopefully within the next weeks.

We hope that you could spend nevertheless a nice stay in Fribourg and would of course look forward to welcoming you to our hotel again in future.

With our kindest regards,
The NH Fribourg Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fribourg hotels

Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2010

The NH Hotel in Fribourg is sandwiched between the Mai Railway Station and the Altstadt of Fribourg, so it's easy to walk there from the station and to see the town. The hotel itself is not very excitingbut it's clean and efficient. But it is round the corner from a pub, a cinema and shopping on a pedestrian mall. The receptionist was also able to recommend a couple of places to eat in.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ming W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

The best thing about this hotel really is the location. It is very centrally located and you can walk to the train station, restaurants, main attractions.
My room was comfortable and quiet with a nice view of the old town. No airconditioning, but i didn't find it to be a problem, even in August.
Breakfast was very good too, with plenty of options.
I stayed for 12 days and during the stay did have a few minor issues but the staff was very pleasant and always tried to accomodate me.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpetrovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

Know that the entrance to this hotel is a bleak parking facility (30 cars at least). While the lobby itself is adequate and appears reasonably clean, the elevators, hallways and rooms are tired and threadbare. The room was quite dirty with very little in the way of amenities. For example, there were stains all over the carpet, some as large as a couple of feet in diameter. Also, while we were there in the middle of winter, the room was unbearably warm, even with the baseboard heater turned off. So we had to leave the windows open all night long. Reception was cold and unwelcoming. Breakfast was minimal/barely a meal and the staff in the restaurant could not have been more unpleasant. There appears to an adult club in the basement of this hotel with prominent signage at the entranceway. While they provide WiFi, it is quite expensive on a daily basis.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kentfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fribourg hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Faucon
Hotel du Faucon
#5 of 13 in Fribourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel de la Rose
Hotel de la Rose
#4 of 13 in Fribourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#3 of 13 in Fribourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Aux Remparts
Hotel Aux Remparts
#1 of 13 in Fribourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel ibis Fribourg
Hotel ibis Fribourg
#1 of 1 in Granges-Paccot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Au Sauvage
Hotel Au Sauvage
#6 of 13 in Fribourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Fribourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Fribourg

Property: NH Fribourg
Address: Grand-Places 14 | Perolles, Fribourg 1700, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > Fribourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Fribourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Fribourg 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Fribourg hotel offers a perfect location right next to Fribourg's historical city center. Our warm and welcoming service and excellent cuisine are only a few of the numerous advantages you will enjoy when you stay at this comfortable hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), NHHotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Fribourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Fribourg
Nh Hotel Fribourg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing