We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Internet going down” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Faucon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Faucon
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Fribourg
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
233 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Internet going down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

In this day and age travellers should expect wifi to work unconditionally especially in a first world country. The connections went down in the middle of the night for two nights in a row, thus my low reviews. I felt I had no options but to change hotels.

Otherwise this is a decent option in town. It is close enough to call it walking distance from the train station. The rooms are functional and clean and in line with the budget. The breakfast was fine with personal service.

On the first night due to a missed flight my arrival was delayed until around 1 AM. When I emailed them about that they gave me detailed instructions on how to retrieve the key while reception was closed. I hadn't recalled reading that the reception had opening hours so it was very good that I emailed them.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    72
    24
    3
    4
See reviews for
15
51
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmacolm, Scotland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Central location in pedestrian area. On street parking one street behind hotel free after 1830 or in nearby underground garage. Lift. Large room and bathroom with shower. Kitchen facilities in room. Plenty of nearby cafes for breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cml017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlestown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Small boutique hotel centrally located. Clean, comfortable. Loved the orange and yellow colors of the room...bright and cheery. Parked in an underground garage a short walk away. Stayed 4 nights and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wicki55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Hotel du Faucon is located in the center of Fribourg, in a shopping street. We parked the car in a public P-garage called: des Alpes, a 5 min walk from the hotel. The room had a strange triangular shape, very awkward. There was even a full kitchen in the room. It all looked neat and clean. The elevator was outdated and the reception was only a small ticket window where a few girls were. One of the girls also took care of the breakfast (in the adjacent Italian restaurant). The Breakfast was not overly great, but good (enough). Because the weather was hot, we had to sleep with the window open (no air conditioning). Unfortunately, a lot of noise on the street at night

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bartho0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

This little hotel is very well located in the pedestrian zone of the town, and the elevator up to the rooms was very convenient (not all Swiss hotels are equipped with elevators!). The breakfast wasn't worth the cost, but you could opt out. There was no safe in the room.
The biggest problem for me was that they seemed to spray some kind of air freshener in the room that was so strongly perfumey that I could hardly sleep, even though I left the windows open for hours trying to air it out. So I would say that if you do not have a sensitive nose, or don't mind perfumey smells, this is a good hotel. But if you're like me, this is not a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tripoli, Lebanon
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Very well situated, it is a small boutique hotel, very clean, renovated, the size of the room was good with plenty of closets and drawers and a kitchen which was not necessary for us since we just stayed one night

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Kaleno1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eichenau b. München, Deutschland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Really super position - in the pedestrian area. Little bars, interesting restaurants, and shopping all within walking distance.
Just a few metres away the Funicular starts down to the old-town. And on Wednesday morning there is a fine vegetable market just around the corner.
We enjoyed the light airy room and the squeaky clean bathroom.

The check-in and check-out were managed efficiently. Parking in a nearby city parking lot added some 20 Swiss Francs to the price of the overnight stay - but still made really good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fribourg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Rose
Hotel de la Rose
#4 of 13 in Fribourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aux Remparts
Hotel Aux Remparts
#1 of 13 in Fribourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Fribourg
NH Fribourg
#7 of 13 in Fribourg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#3 of 13 in Fribourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel ibis Fribourg
Hotel ibis Fribourg
#1 of 1 in Granges-Paccot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Au Sauvage
Hotel Au Sauvage
#6 of 13 in Fribourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Faucon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Faucon

Property: Hotel du Faucon
Address: rue de Lausanne 76, Fribourg 1700, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > Fribourg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Fribourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel du Faucon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing