We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good amount of space, quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel du Faucon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Faucon
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Fribourg
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good amount of space, quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We came to Switzerland after 4 days in Germany. This hotel is quiet, but it is understaffed and stuffy. There is no staff after 9 pm, and there was hardly anyone around to help us out, we had to figure out a lot of stuff on our own (including the fact that the grocery stores close at 7pm, when we just wanted some snacks for the room and we were basically chased out of Coop). The room was spacious, we had a large fridge which was a nice amentity. The stove was out of order but we did have an electric kettle. The bed was comfortable but the shower was weird. There was a little less than half a door that as a result water got all over the floor. The room was kind of stuffy so we opened all of the windows. There was a bit of street noise but overall it was quiet. Whatever products they use to clean the rooms is highly perfumed and there is no escaping the smell. I eventually got used to it but it may be a problem for people with allergies or sensitivities. If you are in Friborg take a drive to Gruyere and Molson; we had a lovely day walking around the town, eating cheese, and then taking a cable car up the mountain and hiking down!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ev4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    72
    24
    3
    4
See reviews for
16
51
12
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
203 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I had just moved to Fribourg and needed a hotel for one night; luckily we stumbled across this hotel on TripAdvisor!

We don't speak French, but when we wandered in off the street the day before checking in, the gal in reception understood enough English to communicate with us, which was very welcome. She had a room available, gave us a key to go up and see it, and offered us a "special rate" of 100 CHF ($115) for the night we needed it, a Saturday. We let her know we had not one, but 3 pets with us, 2 cats and a dog, and asked about the pet policy or if there were fees. She laughed and said she loved animals and of course there were no pet fees. (We later stayed at a different hotel that DID have pet fees, so it's not a Swiss policy...simply a welcome bonus when staying at the Faucon).

We checked into our room, #32, the next day. We appreciated the elevator, regardless of how small it was or that it was a bit antiquated. It isn't typical for businesses or hotels in Fribourg to have elevators, so we were glad we didn't have to lug our heavy luggage and pets with crates up multiple flights of stairs (as we did before and after our stay at the Faucon at other establishments).

Our room was very small but incredibly clean, comfortably furnished, cheery, and appeared newly renovated. Doors closed to hide the entire kitchen, which included a decent size immaculate mini fridge with small freezer, sink, and an oven that unfortunately was not working. The only reason I can't give this hotel 5 stars is because we were counting on the stove for making dinner (no microwave either, which would be a simple, inexpensive fix...?) and reception didn't mention that the stoves aren't functional in the building because of an issue with the fire code (unless we misunderstood the French/English conversation when we later asked). It turned out to be a minor issue since we were there for one night, but a week later, we again needed a place to stay and if they'd had functional ovens/microwaves, we would absolutely have booked for an entire week.

I read other reviewers' complaints about the wifi and agree that it was on the slow side, but even in the middle of the night, we didn't get bumped off. I suppose folks are so accustomed to 4G and always having internet access that it starts feeling like it's vitally important, but for us, it merely reminded us of those "good ol' days" when you could hear the dial up pings while waiting to be connected! We were grateful to have free wifi, but if you need a lightning fast connection, this might not be the hotel for you.

Our hotel window overlooked the rooftops along the Rue de Lausanne, which is a major shopping street in Old Town. The street does allow cars if you do need to take a cab, but is generally restricted to pedestrians. We were there on a Saturday night and there's a restaurant downstairs, so we did hear street noise until well after 11 pm. We didn't mind so we left our window open, but most of the older buildings here have such thick walls and windows, you can block out quite a bit of noise just by closing the window. If you're a light sleeper, you might want to request a room that doesn't face the street.

We needed a cab the following day when we checked out (again, because of the pets...our one fatty fat cat weighs over 14 pounds). Another gal in reception also spoke English and called us a cab. We later realized we wouldn't have even known who to call. You can request one by calling 026.466.1010 if you have a Swiss phone and/or are calling in country. If you need a cab and don't speak French/German, don't worry. We have since called for a cab on our own and though the cab driver didn't speak English when we called him, we just said taxi, gave him our address, he said "oui", and arrived a few minutes later to pick us up. We handed him our next address on our sheet and we were on our way!

Other folks mentioned how close it is to the train station, which is a definite bonus, and if we hadn't had the pets, we happily would have walked the few minutes to the hotel.

There are lots of shops and restaurants near the hotel, but keep in mind that the entire town is virtually closed on Sundays, after 5 pm weekdays, and in general, shops close early. If you need groceries on a Sunday, just about your only option is the Co-op at the train station; even by Europe standards, restaurants (and even groceries) in Switzerland are spendy!

If you have a few hours to wander around town, my favorite area is Basseville, the part of Old Town that's down in the valley along the banks of the Sarine River. The roads become more narrow, the streets and quaint old buildings are picturesque, and at times, you'll have the streets to yourself.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoSmallPotatoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bovey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This little gem is right in the middle of the fun! While it is right in the "old city," it was quiet, comfortable, and a great price. We planned to stay one night but liked it so much, we stayed a second. The room was large, had two separate beds, a kitchenette (unfortuantely our stove/oven did not work while we stayed), a large refrigerator, and a large bathroom. It was clean and comfortable. The staff did not speak much English but we were able to communicate with a little help from our French guidebook. As other reviewers have mentioned, it is located only 10 minutes walk from the train & bus station; don't bother taking a taxi or bus.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelajulius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santee, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The Hotel du Faucon is an easy walk from the train station, on a wide pedestrian only street. Great neighborhood, lots of shops and restaurants. The receptionists were very friendly and helpful. There is an elevator which is nice for us tired, older folks. The room we had was very large with large windows that opened. There is a table and chairs with a little kitchenette, huge refrigerator, but the stove/oven didn't work. We had purchased some food at the nearby market and were unable to heat them, but the receptionist sent us to the restaurant next door and they were happy to oblige. The room was very clean and comfortable with lots of storage and very bright and cheerful. We were sent to the restaurant next door for breakfast, through a private door, and it was one of the best we had in Europe. It is an Italian restaurant with an espresso maker and you're welcome to any coffee drink and as many as you want. There is a cute little pick up truck where some of the breakfast items are displayed and served off the back end of, very cute. Large and varied choices also, all very fresh. The hotel is about half a block from the finnicular to the older part of town, a great experience. Everyone at this hotel is friendly and helpful and it was a pleasure staying there for 4 nights.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie4742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

the location on the main street, but our room had window to the garden so it was very quite there. the room is big and very conformable, has the big refrigerator, and even small kitchenette. so if you plan the small trip around Switzerland it will be the nice upgrade) we had not breakfast incl in our room so we had a wonderful one in the cafe on the opposite site. the stuff is very very nice and helpful. the one thing it was not the double bed but to single beds putted together, but I know is the common practice for many hotels. the hotel has no parking so we used one underground parking near to the hotel, and it was only 20 CHF for 24 hours.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ryzhik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

The hotel is on one of Fribourg's pedestrian streets, just 5 minutes walk from the train station. Swiss cab fares being what they are, that's like a 25% discount off the room rate, which is already quite reasonable. Rooms small, but simply and tastefully decorated. Staff friendly. Reception about the size of a large Persian rug, but that's expected in this part of the world.

Fribourg is more French than German, so breakfast follows that tradition in the pizza restaurant next door. That restaurant is better than it looks from the street, opens up to a very nice dining room inside, with a complete Italian menu much more varied than the "Pizza" sign out front implies. Almost as good as the fancier place up the block, but about half the price.

And, Fribourg is a treat. Worth a day if you're passing through, and the Faucon and very good option. I'll be back.

Room Tip: I had a single room, number 51, which was fine for me, would be OK but tight for two people. The ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milburnski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
232 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

In this day and age travellers should expect wifi to work unconditionally especially in a first world country. The connections went down in the middle of the night for two nights in a row, thus my low reviews. I felt I had no options but to change hotels.

Otherwise this is a decent option in town. It is close enough to call it walking distance from the train station. The rooms are functional and clean and in line with the budget. The breakfast was fine with personal service.

On the first night due to a missed flight my arrival was delayed until around 1 AM. When I emailed them about that they gave me detailed instructions on how to retrieve the key while reception was closed. I hadn't recalled reading that the reception had opening hours so it was very good that I emailed them.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fribourg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel de la Rose
Hotel de la Rose
#4 of 13 in Fribourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Aux Remparts
Hotel Aux Remparts
#1 of 13 in Fribourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Fribourg
NH Fribourg
#7 of 13 in Fribourg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#3 of 13 in Fribourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Au Sauvage
Hotel Au Sauvage
#6 of 13 in Fribourg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel ibis Fribourg
Hotel ibis Fribourg
#1 of 1 in Granges-Paccot
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Faucon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Faucon

Property: Hotel du Faucon
Address: rue de Lausanne 76, Fribourg 1700, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > Fribourg
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Fribourg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel du Faucon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing