We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned hospitality at The Bear”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hungerford
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The Bear hotel has been welcoming tired and hungry travellers since the 13th century.
We were not that tired and our horses were under the bonnet of our car, but the welcome was great the room clean the beds soft and comfortable, the food excellent, the staff wonderful the logs fires were bliss. Nothing was to much trouble two very minor glitches dealt with with speed and courtesy. Well done to the mangers and their staff we will definitely be back. Dee & Chris

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deirdre d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, General Managers at The Bear Hotel Hungerford, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Thank you for your review and the kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Roger & Damian
General Managers
The Bear, Hungerford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

Booking a 'Between Christmas & New Year' break for my husband and myself turned out to be something of a nightmare. We didn't want to be 'In Town' but didn't want to pay out for a 'Rural Country Estate' style hotel, so when I came across The Bear Hotel at Hungerford, listed among 'Old English Inns' I thought it was just ideal. Located very close to the Marlborough Downs area it was just the right place for interesting country walks and at a very realistic price. I had visited the hotel a few years earlier and was very disappointed at it's strangely 'modern' interior. But on reading the resume` on their website I discovered it had only recently undergone a complete refurbishment, so thought we would give it a try, having stayed in other Olde English Inns' which we had found to be tastefully decorated. We travelled down from Derbyshire and were so lucky with the weather, cold but beautifully sunny all the way down and during our two day stay. Knowing that the hotel had undergone refurbishment we hoped this would mean a comfortable and sympathetic interior, rather than a modern update, as unfortunately happens to so many 'Themed' pubs and hotels owned by large company groups. We were therefore very pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome from the staff as well as the tasteful Olde Worlde atmosphere of what felt like a real Country Hotel, filled with lots of happy customers having lunch etc. We were greeted by exposed beams, roaring fires, comfortable bar, restaurant and seating areas with interesting nooks and crannies. Our room 'The Katherine Parr' was beautifully appointed and furnished with a huge comfortable bed, modern furniture and a 'quaint' wardrobe, set at an alarming angle, due to the seriously sloping floor......all of which added to the Olde Worlde atmosphere of the entire place. We absolutely loved it!! It has interesting and varied menus in both the Restaurant and the Bar where the food was excellent with good meal deals on 2 & 3 Courses. Drinks were not over priced and all of the staff were warm and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend this hotel to friends and family. Can't wait to go back for another stay!!

Room Tip: We were very happy with our room at the front of the hotel, but people who are disturbed by traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, General Managers at The Bear Hotel Hungerford, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and appreciate the changes that have been made. One of the important things to us was to ensure that character was brought back to The Bear and that it is a venue open to all.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kind Regards
Roger & Damian
General Managers
The Bear, Hungerford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We were off to a New Years Party at Plume, Hungerford and didn't want to drive so booked a room at this newly re opened hotel. We were very pleased with our twin bedded room, over looking the river Kennet.
Breakfast was OK except for the tasteless scrambled egg!! but we have our own chickens so are used to fresh eggs???!!!
All in all a pleasant experience and one we would repeat.
Note: some girl friends and I had supper in the bar just before Christmas and again it was very good. Only comment really is the bar. Its very small and you have to queue like McDonald's!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, General Managers at The Bear Hotel Hungerford, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant experience staying with us on New Year’s Eve.
Our scrambled eggs are made from Free Range Eggs and we are sorry to hear that you found these tasteless but do agree that there is a real difference when used to fresh eggs.
With reference to your note on dining with us before Christmas, the bar is quite compact and we are investigating ways of reducing any queues.
We do look forward to welcoming you again whether it is for an overnight stay or for a meal.
Kind Regards
Roger & Damian
General Managers
The Bear, Hungerford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I booked four rooms at the Bear recently for family members and myself. My sons room was No.16. He stayed for two nights and commented it was the worst nights sleep he had ever had due to a door banging continually as it was used as a short cut through from the street to the courtyard. He didnt manage to get any hot water out of the shower. My partner and I stayed in No.17 next door. We struggled to get hot water but it did eventually run through. The floor of the shower room flooded with water. The radiatiors were cold, only one set of towels for two people, the bin in the bedroom hadnt been emptied from the previous guest, only one pillow each (I like two) and there wasnt a door on the wardrobe. My sisters rooms, No's 20 and 21 were connected by interal doors so that her two boys could stay next door. My youngest nephew promptly told me there wasnt a door on the wardrobe and the radiator was cold. In fairness to the gentleman on Reception he immediately bought more towels and went to check on the heating system, promising to turn it up full, which he did and within in a short space of time all our rooms were cosy and warm.
We went to the bar area at about 6.30pm to eat as the boys were hungry. The noise was horrendous! Everyone descending at the same time for pre Christmas drinks and the length of time it took to be served really was dreadful. We finished eating at about 8.30pm, so two hours to get one course each and a couple of puddings.
We arrived for breakfast to be asked by a young lady "have you booked?" Why would we need to book for breakfast when we were staying on B&B board. We were given an empty table and eventually the young lady managed to find all the cutlery etc to lay it for us. Why she couldnt have just sat us at the table set for 8 and then taken her time to re-lay another table for 8 I dont know, would have made sense to me.
The last time we were at this hotel was a long time ago and it certainly has changed. I really do have mixed feelings about it. On the one hand there were a lot of little things wrong, but they were put right immediately by very cheeful and helpful staff. The noisey bar wasnt their fault as they were just submerged in customers, however the long wait for food was.
There are certainly things which need to be put right but the attitude of the staff is at least taking it in the right direction.

Room Tip: Dont stay in room 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindascobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, General Managers at The Bear Hotel Hungerford, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thank you for your recent review.

We are sorry to hear that there were a lot of things that have caused mixed feeling but are pleased to hear that our team were cheerful and helpful.

We have looked into the points raised and spoken to our Head Housekeeping with regards to the room being only set for one person. Daily checks are made on all of our arrivals but it would appear on this occasion it was missed that 2 people would be occupying the room and it was left set for one.

Room 16 is indeed by an exit out to a side street which is shut at night with only residents able to access it. We are looking at keeping this locked at night to reduce the noise from outside.

With regards to the radiators then on the day in question we were having works done on our heating system and the entire system had been drained down during the day. When you checked in then it was just being powered back up, we are sorry to hear that this was not explained to you at the time.

We would also like to explain about the wardrobes. When the hotel was bough by Old English Inns then we found that all of the wardrobes in the hotel are designed to be open plan and so have no doors. With the rooms in question then it looks as if doors were once there and so we have plans to make these look more attractive.

On the Friday evening that you dined with us then it was the last working day before the Christmas break and so our Bar was extremely busy. We have looked at the time your order was placed for mains and this was at 19:10. An hour later your order for desserts was then placed, after you had finished your mains. We do apologise for the delay that there was in getting to the bar to place your order as we can understand how frustrating it must have been with so many people at the bar.

The following morning we were running an event that people had booked called Breakfast with Santa. This is the reason that the waitress asked if you had booked as she was expecting a table for 8 for this. We have spoken to the team member involved and coached her on how she could have greeted you in a nicer way and seated you immediately. We do hope that the children enjoyed seeing Santa though.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write your review and we do hope that if you in the area again you will visit us.

Kind Regards
Roger & Damian
General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

After staying one night we arrived in the restaurant at 8:50 for breakfast and gave our order to the waitress. One other couple present at the time. Pot of tea arrived with toast. At 9:30 we asked the duty manager to check on our order "I will check for you" was the reply, he never came back to update us. At 9:40 we asked the same waitress who went to check also. At 9:50 still no cooked breakfast. We cancelled the order. When we went to check out we asked to make a complaint to the duty manager who said he would knock the cost of the breakfast off our bill. I should think so we did not have breakfast. Since the refurbishment the service is absolutely terrible.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MangoMarkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, General Managers at The Bear Hotel Hungerford, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

On the morning in question then breakfast service was very slow and we are very sorry about this. Added to this we have learnt that your order had been misplaced. Action has already been taken to ensure that when the hotel is full, as was the case on this morning, that food is sent out quicker and if there is a delay then this is communicated to guests.

We are pleased to hear that Breakfast was removed from the Room Only Rate previously booked.

Kind Regards
Roger & Damian
General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

We upgraded to a superior room and were very happy we did, the room was amazing for the price! Large and spacious with an excellent sized bathroom. The only quibble would be that whoever cleaned the bathroom left the plugs down so when using the sink and the bath it didn't drain properly this made us first of all think there was some major plumbing issue however this wasn't the case! The bed was comfortable and the room very clean. Excellent large flat screen tv and good tea and coffee area, iron and ironing board as well as a trowser press. We dined in the restaurant our meal was very nice, however we did have to ask for a steak knife this was a little annoying!
Bar area was lovely and had a good atmosphere, breakfast was good and seemed to have a large selection on offer however we stuck to the full English!
Would stay again and would recommend.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank the-hotel-inspector2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, General Managers at The Bear Hotel Hungerford, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Thank you for your recent review.

We are pleased to hear that you found your room to be amazing for the price and would recommend us.

Our Housekeeping team have been instructed to now leave the sink plugs up and we are sorry if this caused any confusion.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bear.

Kind Regards
Roger & Damian
General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

I was a little apprehensive booking into this hotel after reading some for the reviews. However, how surprised was I!!! The place has just undergone a recent refurb, the whole building is light, clean and welcoming. The staff went out of their way to make our stay perfect. The restaurant menu was very extensive, all the food was cooked fresh. I just wish my partner could cook as well !!! After our meal we were treated to a little tour, and history of the hotel from the new managers. To some up, would I stay here again? Yes defiantly! Would I recommend this place to a friend? Without a doubt!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matti1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, General Managers at The Bear Hotel Hungerford, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are pleased to hear that you found the new surroundings to be welcoming and that our team went out of their way to make your stay perfect.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Kind Regards
Roger & Damian
General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hungerford
0.2 mi away
Three Swans Hotel
Three Swans Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hungerford
48 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
7.2 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Membury M4
Days Inn Membury M4
#3 of 4 in Hungerford
291 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,853 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Hotel Hungerford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel Hungerford

Address: 41 Charnham Street, Hungerford RG17 0EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Hungerford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hungerford
Price Range: £61 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear Hotel Hungerford 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbsihed in November 2013 The Bear is one of the oldest coaching inns with parts dating from the 13th century, situated 1 mile from Hungerford train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bear Hotel Hungerford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Hungerford
The Bear Hotel Hungerford Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing