We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small Town Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hungerford
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The Bear. Cosy, small, great and ordinary. Very different thoughts I have about this place!

I stayed there a night on a business trip. It looks like nothing special from the outside. The rooms are cosy, small, old fashioned and it is time for a renovation. However, the main buildings bar and restaurant has a certain charme. The barkeeper is friendly and the Ale is tasty. So what am I complaining about? Burgers are home made and the fries are better than I had expected.

The breakfast was of good taste and all wishes were fulfilled.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TPa1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Bear Hotel Hungerford, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear that you found the Bear cosy when you stayed in September 2013.

Since your stay The Bear has undergone a refurbishment and we hope that you will visit again soon so that you can see the changes.

Kind Regards
Roger & Damian
General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2014

My partner and I stayed here for one night only as we were heading to Newbury. The lady in the reception was very friendly and gave us a warm welcome, also very helpful in telling us what to do and where to go around town. The restaurant and bar area is most modern with nice decor,The outside has a court yard looking over the other buildings with plant pots and trees, also a beautiful view looking over the streams and gardens, really beautiful and give you a peaceful feel to it. The bedroom we stayed was nice with French door that opens to the garden and stream at the back, nice to sit outside in the garden and have a nice cup tea and listen to the birds and the sound of the water, if your lucky enough you may see some fish swimming down the stream. The only down side was the housekeeping in the room ! needs more attention to detail ! was some very large coffee or tea stains on the carpet at the side of the bed that had not been cleaned, entrance carpets quite dirty also !
the carpets are the wrong colour to cope with the volume of guests ! small table top in the room with marks, the kettle need a bit descaling, in the bathroom need more attention to the sink, brown lime scale around the plug hole and plastic cups was not washed or changed as they still had tooth paste marks left from the last guests. But overall the room was good. Definitely recommend for a short stay or break.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, General Managers at The Bear Hotel Hungerford, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear that you had a nice tranquil retreat; Bear Island really does have a peaceful feel to it.

With regards to the carpets in the bedrooms then we do regularly clean these but they do stain very easily and do hope to change the carpets at some point.

We also take on board everything you have said with regards to attention to detail and have spoken to our Head Housekeeper who is ensuring that thorough checks are completed on each room.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Roger & Damian
General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Have just had the best weekend break at The Bear.
My faith has been restored after a horrendous stay a few months ago at another old English inn at Ringwood hants.
But back to The Bear, I cannot praise enough the staff at this venue,they gave 110% of their time & effort. I was there for a reunion of friends & we all agreed we had picked the right place to stay. My compliments to the Chef,my steak was cooked to perfection just how I had asked for it. The food,staff & accomadation for us was perfect. Well Done to all for making our weekend memorable. Will certainly be back xx

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Bolly55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, General Managers at The Bear Hotel Hungerford, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are so pleased to hear that team made your weekend memorable and have shared your review with them as feedback like this is so important to us all.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Roger & Damian
General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We spent two nights at The Bear Hotel recently. We stayed in Bear Island with our dog and found the room to be very comfortable. A pretty outlook overlooking the stream and garden. The bathroom was basic but very clean.
All the staff were so welcoming and we will definitely go back there.
The only thing I would change would be to have the meals better presented as the Sunday lunch (which we had in the early evening) was just bunged on the plate and we couldn't even cut the Yorkshire pudd, it was like concrete. The dinner consisted mainly of cauliflower and broccoli and a dessert spoonful of mashed potato. It was swimming in gravy. This problem could so easily be solved by serving the veg separately and also the gravy in a gravy boat.
Apart from this we had a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jacquelyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, General Managers at The Bear Hotel Hungerford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and found the team to be welcoming.

Our menu is being reviewed and we are launching a new one at the end of this month. We have passed on your feedback to our food development team but in the meantime we have provided further coaching to our kitchen team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Roger & Damian
General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Stayed one night in March while on a cycling tour of the area. When we arrived it was dark and we were wet, met by friendly and welcoming staff. The hotel had a secure room for us to store our wet bikes. Rooms were nice enough and the heating soon dried out our wet clothes. Shower was warm enough and easy to operate.Had a nice meal and drink in the bar although one of our party had to return his curry because it was cold. Nice cooked breakfast with buffet for cereals and a continental breakfast, just what was needed for a days cycling ahead! Friendly staff. Would go back there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silverstone1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, General Managers at The Bear Hotel Hungerford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for your review.
It is great to hear that you found The Bear to be good value and very welcoming.
We are however disappointed to hear that one of the meals in your group was not warm enough and further coaching has now been provided to the team members involved.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Roger & Damian
General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Had an excellent weekend at The Bear for a birthday celebration, in all there were 21 of us staying there. The rooms were clean with good showers, our room number 8, had an amazing bath in the room, sadly we didn't get to use it, but the room was fantastic. We had dinner for us all on Saturday evening and were amazed that all the food came out hot and all at the same time. Everyone had their choice of meal served correctly and nothing was left to waste. When we ordered more drinks they were brought promptly to our table. One of the girls in particular was really helpful, she even brought an unfinished bottle of wine out to us in the bar area at the end of the evening, most would have just thrown it away. Breakfast on Sunday morning was all served to our table without having to wait. Choice of breakfast menu was good with fruit juices, pastries etc., that you could help yourself to and cooked breakfasts that were served to the table. Plenty of good coffee/tea which was topped up for us without any hesitation.
From the time we made the booking with Amanda from the time we checked out on Sunday everything went smoothly.
A big thank you to all the staff that made the weekend brilliant. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to visit this area or just wants to get away for a nice weekend.

Room Tip: Check out Number 8, especially if you have a celebration, large superior room with huge bed and fabu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lol205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, General Managers at The Bear Hotel Hungerford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for your review.
We are so pleased to hear that you had an excellent birthday weekend.
Feedback like this is so important to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind Regards
Roger & Damian
General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Clean friendly and a great breakfast! The location was perfect for me as I was visiting the Hungerford area. The downside was I asked for a meal without onions or garlic and they got it wrong by adding a chilli sauce with garlic to the meal.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Golfingbirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old_English_Inns99, General Managers at The Bear Hotel Hungerford, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
We are pleased to hear that you found your stay to be good value but devastated that your meal was incorrect.
Further training has been provided to the team to ensure that requests are communicated correctly to the kitchen and that the kitchen team check ingredients when there are dietary requests.
Kind Regards
Roger & Damian
General Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hungerford
0.2 mi away
Three Swans Hotel
Three Swans Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hungerford
44 reviews
3.7 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Membury M4
Days Inn Membury M4
#3 of 4 in Hungerford
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
652 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,851 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Hotel Hungerford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel Hungerford

Address: 41 Charnham Street, Hungerford RG17 0EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Hungerford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hungerford
Price Range: £61 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear Hotel Hungerford 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbsihed in November 2013 The Bear is one of the oldest coaching inns with parts dating from the 13th century, situated 1 mile from Hungerford train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your The Bear Hotel Hungerford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Hungerford
The Bear Hotel Hungerford Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing