We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as Bembridge” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hungerford
Certificate of Excellence
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not as good as Bembridge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

This review is based comparing this turkey & tinsel with a break with the same Warner type break taken at Bembridge last month. The very first impression left a lot to be desired there was a separate table for concierge members to book in but despite standing for some long time with card in my hand I still had to go to the reception desk to get served . We had to ask where to park whilst at Bem. we were told and a place was reserved for Royale guests but not here. No mention was made that mince pies and mulled wine was on offer in the great hall ,we had to find it for ourselves. At Bem. the staff were in Christmas dress but not here. Father Christmas visited all the guests Christmas morning with little presents but this time he was there I think about 10.30 am so we missed him.
We enjoyed the break good entertainment , very good food , but there seemed to be so mnay little things missing. We will certainly go to other Warner breaks but not to Littlecote.

Room Tip: We did not feel there was an advantage to have a Royale room at Littlecote
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    538
    401
    140
    42
    34
See reviews for
163
645
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Went there with a coach party for a day Xmas package. Was made very welcome. Hotel had a lovely aura to it. Had our own staff member looking after us. Meal was great, would have liked a warm roll mind! Tasty sweet of lemon tart. Afternoon entertainment although l thought the singers show was too short. Lovely gardens. Pity it was too cold to really enjoy them. Well worth it. Warner's did a good package.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We have just returned from our first visit to Littlecote House and it was a fantastic weekend. The historic house is set in beautiful grounds with plenty of history attached. We explored the area on bikes provided by the leisure complex - great fun. Our room recommended by staff when booking, overlooked a stream and did not disappoint. As usual, food was of the same high quality (the best cauliflower cheese and lemon raspberry tart). The entertainment hall was in constant use which made it the place to be either to join in or enjoy watching others. We like dancing and were pleased that Littlecote offer classes without extra cost, and afternoon dancing as well as an evening slot before the main entertainment starts. This is one of the reasons we will return. But my reason for this review is to congratulate the entertainment team. Warners teams are usually full of energy and enthusiasum, encouraging everyone to get involved. This team certainly excelled. But not only that, ALL of them had strong singing voices - far better than being just good dancers. This meant that the solo lounge events were equally supported. The afternoon play was an added (hilarious) bonus. Finally, I urge Warners to renew Adam's contract when it ends very soon. This young man could not only sing, dance and act but had his audience laughing just by walking into a room. A hilarious host, one to hold on to. I would book a break at any of the Warners locations just to see him in action again. We have booked to return in February - can't wait. Well done to the Littlecote team.

Room Tip: Room 443/401 beautiful view and very close to car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERKSHIRE
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

very quiet location. Extensive well cared for grounds. The main part of the hotel, the oldest part with lots of history attached, is visually beautiful. Be careful to check where you are staying as, attached to the building, there is a modern block housing many rooms. Most of the pricey suites are in the main house. Do look around the hotel as there are many corridors, Cromwellian chapel, haunted room, museum. In the grounds are the perfect remains of a roman villa. Staff are very accommodating and we would certainly go again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TILLYFARLAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Got the train from Paddington to Hungerford. Had trouble getting a taxi, but enjoyed a cuppa in the Tulie Pole cafe and when we managed to book one it took 5 minutes from town to hotel. The old buildings and grounds are stunningly beautiful, all the more so with pretty sparkling Christmas lights. The Great Hall, with its roaring log fire, was the perfect setting to hear about Jane Seymour, and make sure you have a look at the haunted room and the armed forces museum. The grounds are extensive, and well worth an explore. There are also countryside walks or paths down to the village, but we didn't do these. We were in the modern building, which has been built very sympathetically with its surroundings. The rooms were comfortable and clean, although there was noise from floorboards as people got ready for bed. Also, the shower curtain billowed in and clung to me as the bath was so narrow.
Oliver's looked very nice, but we stayed with the carvery restaurant. You could also choose from Chef's specials. I was very impressed with the standard and variety of food on offer, and service was friendly and efficient. The bar was fine, if crowded at times, and we did enjoy the early evening cabaret show. Coffee was rather pricey, we felt. The entertainment was very professional, the shows beautifully done, and I even enjoyed the panto. The band were great, and everyone enjoyed their foxtrots and sequence dances! Later dancing was disco and rock and roll. Lots of activities, but difficult to know how long they lasted, and some overlapped. One quiz lasted only 20 minutes including answers. The leisure centre was lovely and the water nice and warm. Coach trip to Bath was with a delightful guide, who told us just enough to make it interesting, without boring us to death. For older couples or groups of people who like everything laid on, I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Some people said they were a long way from the Reception. More exclusive rooms and suites to be fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frimz10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Went to Littlecote for three night break, our second time at a Warner's and really enjoyed our week end. The staff are very good and cannot do enough for you, especially our waitress Raquel from Tenerife she was lovely. The room was very comfortable though a bit warm, however we were a long way from the reception and restaurant and we got fed up walking up and down the stairs, so if you are not that mobile ask for a room nearer to all the main facilities and on the ground floor. The entertainment was excellent and good fun and Adam was very good. The only problem was that if you didn't get to the theatre early enough you couldn't get a seat. Also at lunchtime the bar area became very crowded and difficult to find anywhere to sit and eat, and initially we thought there wasn't a lounge area to chill and read. but then found the lounges in the old house but on the last day.
The trip to Swindon and Marlborough was very good and both places worth visiting, especially Marlborough, and both the shopping outlet and steam engine museum are worth a visit in Swindon. The pool and sauna well worth a try, but I couldn't get any treatments as they were all booked up. Overall a good break, but I did think the food was not as good as our last Warners break at Lakeside, I found the vegetables were overcooked and the roast potatoes soggy at the buffet and food ordered from the menu disappointing, all slightly overcooked and lacking in taste. Though breakfasts were good.

I would like to revisit Littlecote but in the summer so I can enjoy the beautiful grounds, and hopefully the food will be a bit better but I will definitely go on another Warner's break in the future.

Room Tip: The signature rooms are very comfortable but ask for a ground or first floor nearer the reception ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We checked in, which went well, we noticed they was doing mince pies and mulled wine in the old house. The porters took our luggage away, all good. Then when we returned to our room we found our luggage had been left outside our rooms with my sister in laws expensive coat thrown over the top of her suitcase. On entering our room I found the bathroom had a shower over the bath and no bathrobes or slippers, what happened to the signature room experience, phoned reception and they would not change the room even though my wife is disabled, but would supply the bathrobes and slippers for 20 pounds.
We pre ordered the wine with the dinner, but when we asked for the cork to be removed, our waitress did not know what to do, she then had a full blown argument with her colleague who said she was to busy to do it. Eventually someone turned up when we were eating dessert, a bit late to enjoy it. To be fair the restaurant manager apologised and gave us an extra bottle of wine, and she was nice. We were told you now have to pay extra for tea or coffee at dinner so beware, also watch the plates, they are red hot.
The bars staff do not know what they are doing and spend most of their time talking about an earlynight which they managed one night when they waited for our party to go out to the smoking area, and on our return they had shut the bar so we could not get another drink. A couple of tips for the smoking area and bar. Take a torch and hot water bottle as there are no lights or heaters out there, also order double your order at the bar if you do not wish to spend most of your holiday waiting in a queue. On a bright note house and grounds lovely, and the littlecote players work so hard and do a great job.

Room Tip: Make sure if you have mobility issues they give you the right room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hungerford
2.3 mi away
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
#2 of 4 in Hungerford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Days Inn Membury M4
Days Inn Membury M4
#3 of 4 in Hungerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#1 of 16 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
2.3 mi away
Three Swans Hotel
Three Swans Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hungerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel

Property: Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel
Address: Hungerford, Hungerford RG17 0SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Hungerford
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hungerford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's so much to explore in the setting of this fabulous Grade I listed Historic Hotel. Enjoy the sumptuous stately rooms and the beautiful landscaped gardens. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Littlecote Hotel Hungerford
Littlecote House Hotel
Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel Hungerford, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing