We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st time at any Warners place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hungerford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

ok so we were expecting this to be mainly focused on the more elderly and that was true but it didn't detract from our stay at all. Room was lovely ( but a very long walk from reception/ all main areas in the hotel). The Christmas spirit was in full flow with decorations everywhere and staff in silly jumpers and hats!
Previous reviews had criticised the food as school dinner standard but that was not our experience at all - food was great, plentiful choice and you could go and pick for yourself at the carvery or some meals were served to the table. Entertainment was fun if a little cheesy at times! only small gripe was the housekeeping needs a bit of a check at times - eg bedside light fixtures were very dusty as were the lower shelves on the bedside shelves, there was a dead fly in the bathroom etc. BUT this was not a huge issue and the break was very enjoyable and recommended.

Room Tip: choose a room near to reception if you aren't so fit and able. We were in 358 which was about a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liney223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

906 - 912 of 1,325 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2013

Visited the hotel for 2 nights 28th/29th December.
First impression very nice. Lovely building set in vast grounds.
Food was really good and plentiful. The housekeeping was not great though. The bed wasn't made and the toiletries and coffee were not replenished. Asked at reception for more coffee but sadly nothing came ....
The entertainment crew were very good Dan and Adam very funny.
The highlight of the trip though were the "Temptations" they were great!!
Overall enjoyed this break ... Good laugh, great company, really enjoyed it. Great time had by all.
See my Sister's review Joanne903.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KPRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Our Christmas bolthole, the Queen Elizabeth Suite, shared a bedroom wall with the haunted bedroom. Our living room was off the haunted landing. The bathroom backed onto the Jerusalem Staircase and the Long Gallery; both reputed to be haunted.

First, though, to our worst bugbear: "Adults Only". According to the cover of the Warner brochure, "Strictly for Grown-ups". On the cover of the welcome brochure, "No little ones". And then, in the small print, "The grounds and the Tudor mansion are open to the general public, there may be small children in these areas."

No kidding. Toddlers in the gardens, skittling over the elderly guests with their new bikes. Screaming infants in the Great Hall. According to Warners, they can't be kept out, but may be asked to leave if they annoy the guests.

"Adults Only: £430 per night. Asked to leave IF they annoy the guests???

So, back to our truely chilling Christmas in the Old House. Add together all the power cuts (including the one which started on the 23rd and lasted all of Christmas Eve) and we've finally agreed to a 60% refund.No power, no heat, no lighting. The problem was simple. There is a generator to give emergency cover to the main block, but not to the Old House and Historic Rooms.

Which was why, on Christmas Eve, I found myself changing into my DJ in inky darkness and total silence, with a wind-up flashlight. In the most ancient and haunted part of the house. I can honestly say there's nothing to fear, except for Bourne Leisure's accountants.

Next year, the BL beancounters are gunning for Oliver's Bistro. One of the luxuries of staying in the Old House was coming down to breakfast in night clothes and slippers. The breakfast goods in Popham's are adequate, but those in Oliver's were a far superior offering. Off course, it couldn't last. Next year, there will be no breakfasts in Oliver's, so we'll have to dress and haul ourselves out through the cold to the new block.

Maybe that doesn't sound like much of a hardship, but then again I'm willing to lay odds that the loss of amenity goes without a price reduction.

Room Tip: The Henry VIII Suite, Jayne Seymour Room and the Queen Elizabeth Suite are the quietest, but with no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve-and-Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Historic Littlecote House looked splendid with attractive Christmas lights and decorations around the house and grounds. It is a Grade 1 listed building located in many acres of lovely gardens and parkland. We were very pleased with our room on the ground floor with nearby parking. It was spacious, comfortable and kept very clean. After visiting the impresssive Great Hall to have our mulled wine and mince pie by a roaring log fire we had a quick look around the lovely Chinese Room and Library - later we booked a historic tour around this lovely medieval building which has many rooms, a long gallery,chapel and haunted bedroom to name a few.

Our evening meal was first class - plenty of menu choice and the carvery was excellent. Delicious buffet breakfasts also offered a wide choice. Friendly waitress service at all meals. We found all staff to be attentive and welcoming and we especially enjoyed the evening entertainment with a most talented and versatile team. Their musical shows and pantomime "Dick Whittington" were great especially the Buddy Holly tribute. The small dance band and singer got many of us up and dancing. So many activities offered on their daily Entertainment Guide from quizzes, sports, to walks around the grounds - the Roman mosaic was well worth a visit. Afternoon cabarets and dancing too. The leisure centre had a lovely pool in bright modern surroundings and beauty treatments could be booked there.

We have been to several of the Warner's Historic Hotels and have always enjoyed what they have to offer. Their standards are high and we've never been disappointed. Our Christmas came early this year and we had a fabulous time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank renef804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Myself, my partner and my sister and brother-in-law have just returned home today from Littlecote. We stayed for two nights, 28th-30th December and had a really good time. We have previously stayed at Bodelwyddan which we disliked, Nidd Hall and Holm Lacey. The signature rooms we had were the usual Warner's standard but I would comment that the house-keeping wasn't as good as usual i.e. our bed wasn't made on our second day or our bin emptied and on the day we arrived, there was a used napkin left on our coffee table. That aside, the bathroom was clean and the shower was great.
The food was lovely with a lot of choice and plenty of it. The service in the restaurant on our first night was a little slow but when I was chatting to our waiter, he said all the guests all seemed to come in at the same time that evening so it was very busy. The breakfasts were lovely with lots of choice with something for everyone.
On our second day, we went to the Leisure Centre to use the pool. It's worth just mentioning that you are not given towels by the Leisure Centre staff, you have to take the ones that are in your room, inside the bottom of your wardrobe! We forgot ours so had to go back to get them. In the ladies changing room there was a limited number of lockers which were all in use so we had to leave our belongings on a bench but luckily we didn't have anything valuable with us at the time so it was OK.
We thought the entertainment team were great, especially Dan and Adam who would give Ant and Dec a run for their money and they can actually sing too!!
All in all, we had a really good time and would recommend it to others.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Joanne903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Having stayed at most of the Warner hotels this was by far the best all round break we have had. The hotel looks magnificent on approach through the parkland.
Check in was very efficient and we were given all the information we needed and there were bellboys to help with your bags if required. There was also a welcome drink of mulled wine available in the old hall.
We had a signature room overlooking the woods and stream at the back of the hotel. It was a big room with a bay window and had a large walk in shower [350].
We used the leisure facilities each day, they were always spotless and in excellent working order [unlike some other hotels we have stayed in].
The food and service at breakfast and dinner was what made this hotel stand out from the rest. The food was always hot, well cooked and with a good choice and the waiters were very attentive. The bar service was also excellent with drinks being brought to the table promptly.
The evening entertainment was very good, both by the resident team and the visiting ABBA tribute.
We did our own tour of the grounds to see the Roman mosaics and also the old hall and found it to be very interesting and informative. You can also go on an organised tour if you prefer.
There is not much to see in Hungerford but Marlborough is a lovely town and worth spending a couple of hours there.
Overall we have no complaints at all about this hotel and hope that our stay at Nidd Hall in the New Year can match it.

Room Tip: All rooms are serviced by lift but can involve a lot of walking so check with reception if this is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We really enjoy our breaks at Warner hotels. However since the control company corporate has taken over some 15 months or so ago? our pleasure with staying at a Warner Hotel has diminished somewhat with the creeping added costs that are an issue to almost every guest we talk to.The high expectation of the Warner experience is tainted with the extra charges being sneaked in such as after dinner coffee or tea charges, charges to attend the discovery of the house history.charges for basic day programmes etc etc. Most people would like to have their overall charge paid for before they arrive so that the embarrassment of extras to the staff having to ask for payment can be eliminated to allow both the guests and staff to enjoy their stay the English way.

I dare not suggest what they might charge for next( not included in the TOR's of their brochure )as they might start to get the Ryan Air ideas of charging for the air that we breath.

Come on Warner get back to what your customers feel happy about and sack the so called ideas person who usually with their suggestions for improvement end up as the American style "Employee of the Month" . Dont be so cheap and give your guests the experience that we have all praised in the past to recommend your hotels to new customers.

In the end it will cost you millions to put right the couteous image that you had previuosly----ask Ryan air about their huge expense currently to improve their public image lost in the drive for excessive profitability.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hungerford
3.4 mi away
Days Inn Membury M4
Days Inn Membury M4
#3 of 4 in Hungerford
297 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,935 reviews
2.3 mi away
Three Swans Hotel
Three Swans Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hungerford
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
#4 of 4 in Hungerford
330 reviews
12 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#10 of 25 in Swindon
716 reviews
9.4 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel

Address: Hungerford, Hungerford RG17 0SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Hungerford
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hungerford
Price Range: £50 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's so much to explore in the setting of this fabulous Grade I listed Historic Hotel. Enjoy the sumptuous stately rooms and the beautiful landscaped gardens. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Littlecote Hotel Hungerford
Littlecote House Hotel
Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel Hungerford, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing