We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“West Woods-Bluebells”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hungerford
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“West Woods-Bluebells”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

May Bank Holiday 2014 traveled down from London to see the Bluebell display at West Woods near Marlborough. Stayed at Littlecote House, Hungerford. Spectacular drive into the hotel and the old house is beautiful. However we stayed in the new built part of the hotel, Our room was comfortable but you could hear the footsteps in the room above. Essentiallt Littlecote is 2 hotels in one. Rooms in the old house and Oliver's Bistro are far more sophisticated than the new rooms, dinning room and entertainment room in the new hotel. However even staying in the new hotel you still have access to the lovely old house and numerous activities, putting, swimming pool, fitness center, bowls and more. We would go again but stay and eat in the old house - more expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: The new hotel reminded us of a Butlins Holiday camp - vast dining area with entertainment, which by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oliver_khan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    414
    149
    42
    34
See reviews for
167
667
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Totally happy with this Warner Leisure break having been here last November too.

Obviously Warner play to their target market, the over 60s, but that is their choice and job as a business. As a couple in our 50s we felt completely safe and happy there.

In response to an earlier criticism about the Lee Mead night, he did a very personal question and answer session before his excellent act then stayed to sign every autograph request. He was a total professional.

In respect of things complained about in the restaurant, all I can say is we had excellent service throughout. My personal view is if you treat people like you would like to be treated, we all win.Food quality was outstanding.

We will be rebooking soon without a doubt.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

A Warner Leisure hotel which is a real treat. As usual, the food is excellent and the staff are friendly, helpful and efficient. The grounds are beautiful and the great hall is well worth a tour with a guide. It seems a priviledge to be able to stroll around such an historical building and just sit down, and read if you wish, in such comfortable chairs and think about the 14 Kings & Queens of England who stayed there. Also, Oliver's bistro is well worth a treat.

Room Tip: I have marked cChildren's activites as terrible as this is an adults-only, non-child hotel venue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilynx48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in June for a 3 day weekend deal break. Hotel rooms were of a themed style and we had a Oriental style superior room which was comfortable and spacious with a lovely window overlooking the grounds. Food was in abundance. Breakfast was a vast choice of both continental and cooked. Evening meals were delicious and very filling. On site amenities were varied and interesting especially they pottery painting which is run in one of the little houses on site by an in dependant couple who were helpful and friendly. Really enjoyed the pottery painting. The evening entertainment isn't my thing at all but if you like that kind of cruise / pub singing style entertainment then it's value for money !

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Coconutcrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We has just returned from an excellent weekend 3 night break. A wonderful location with a Grade 1 building. We had an excellent tour of the old Grade 1 section of the hotel explaining its history from 1555 to present, well worth the 90 min tour.
Our room was excellent and clean and tidy with a massive 7 foot wide double bed. The food was excellent and all the staff were attentive and helpful. The young entertainment team were the best we have experienced in a Warner hotel. The resident band was OK, they could be better. Overall we would recommend this location to anyone wanting a Warner break. We would certainly return again in the future. Thank you Littlecote Hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOldBoyStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

It was the first time we had heard of littlecote,and were delighted when asked if we would care to join our family for one of the days,they were staying there.
Such a huge house full of history and so interesting,especially the haunted Landing and Bedroom,and a couple of us really did experience the coldness,quite earie to be sure.
had a very lovely lunch served by a very attentive waitress and even did some of the jig saw puzzles,which were laid out on the long table,
We shall certainly try to get a holiday in this grand old property some time in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed here for three nights on an all- inclusive basis. We stayed in an historic room (4 poster bed) in the old house and dined for our three nights at Oliver's Bistro. Littlecote House is lovely and is apparently haunted. Spotlessly clean with all staff attentive and friendly.

I was recovering from a major op on my leg and had great difficulty walking up the stairs ( no lift in the old house). Unfortunately there were no ground floor rooms available despite the best efforts of a lovely manager to find one for us. However, this was more than compensated for by the attentive staff in Oliver's where I was given a lovely comfortable chair with arms (to help me to get up from the table ) and the kindness I was shown. The food was superb and the breakfast in the main dining room was also excellent. Nothing was too much trouble.

As I was unable to walk far, we spent time in the main bar. And went to the quizzes (not enough of these unfortunately). Bit disappointed when we won the first quiz to receive a key ring where at other Warners we received champagne and latterly wine.

Entertainment was not great but we were able to be a bit detached and listen from the bar. I find all entertainment at Warners not to be to our taste but most people seemed to enjoy it.

Although I was in pain, I did enjoy my three days and would not hesitate to return when fully fit!

Room Tip: If you chose an historic room you will get the best. Haven't used the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubyslippers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hungerford
4.2 mi away
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
#3 of 4 in Hungerford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Three Swans Hotel
Three Swans Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hungerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Membury M4
Days Inn Membury M4
#2 of 4 in Hungerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel

Property: Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel
Address: Hungerford, Hungerford RG17 0SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Hungerford
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hungerford
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's so much to explore in the setting of this fabulous Grade I listed Historic Hotel. Enjoy the sumptuous stately rooms and the beautiful landscaped gardens. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Littlecote Hotel Hungerford
Littlecote House Hotel
Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel Hungerford, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing