We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks impressive!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hungerford
Certificate of Excellence
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Looks impressive!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have stayed here on several occasions as a couple and as a foursome with family members. When you arrive by car the driveway into the property is certainly very impressive. The staff are always friendly and helpful. The majority of people who stay do seem to be in their 70's to 80's. The rooms every time we have stayed are in my opinion very dated and could do with a lick of paint and new handles on bathroom doors etc. A walk in shower is better than rooms with a bath as the baths are very narrow with a shower curtain that clings to you! The main restaurant is very impressive but tables are very close to each other. The waiters/waitresses are very efficient and polite but you do feel as if they are serving very quickly to get you in and out. The Carvery is very good and you can have as much or as little as you like. The food off the menu is good and there is a reasonable choice. Breakfast is very good. The grounds of the hotel are lovely. The evening entertainment is very good but if you go often to this hotel some evenings are a bit repetitive. The Littlecote Players are excellent. If you like the all inclusive type holiday then this will possibly appeal. Due to the standard of the bedrooms though we don't think we will be staying again - unless of course the price makes it a bargain!

Room Tip: Wi-fi was only available in the bar or reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ragjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    579
    427
    153
    46
    36
See reviews for
176
693
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I have just had the best 5 Day Break for ages. the lovely Comfy Bed,very clean Room ,had to request a Feather Pillow due to Neck Problems, but nothing was too much trouble from the Cleaners to the Entertainers, Waiting Staff and Bar Staff. I was so impressed to have such a Beautiful Garden to stroll about in at my Leisure to stop and have a Coffee outside The Hall , I felt like Lady of the Manor everyone so friendly , I am now going to try Holme Lacy, I have decided to stay in the UK now fed up with thr Airport Chaos, this is so much easier and nicer.Thankyou Warners.

Room Tip: Next time I would ask for a Ground Floor Room with A Verandah with Table and Chairs as it was quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We booked a room very last minute to go and stay at Littlecote for one night on a Saturday. The venue was fantastic, beautiful grounds and lovely to be able to walk around Littlecote house which is really interesting. Unfortunately there was a wedding on during our stay so the staff were a little pre-occupied when we checked in and having never stayed at a Warners venue before we were a bit unsure of where to go, whats included etc... The reception staff were not very helpful in this respect.
The room we had was nice, although we booked a double and the room had twin beds this was not an issue for us. Everything in the room was very clean and we had everything we needed.
We wanted to have a nice dinner that evening so decided to book into Oliver's Bistro for something a bit special - when we asked at reception we were told that the Bistro was closed all evening due to the wedding. This was very dissapointing considering we had not been informed when we booked the room.
We went to the main resturant where we were seated on a table in-between 2 other couples, the tables were positioned so close together we may as well had been sat on a large table for 6! This made us feel really uncomfortable. The food didn't make our evening much better as we found it to be poor in quality, the choice was limited, alot of the food overcooked and service quite rushed. Appreciate the costs are on a half board basis but I would expected something a bit nicer.
Having looked at the hotel online we were really excited to be able to stay somewhere a bit special for an evening but came away feeling really disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katefk82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Although we found the Warners experience not for us, the house around which the main Warners complex is attached is fascinating. Having peaked at the rooms in the historic building on cleaning day they did look atmopsheric and HUGE,mostly with lovely views. Those were too pricey for us. We loved to wander round the old building in the evening and virtually on our own at that. The £3 tour around the house by Warners is well worth the money- i loved it (it lasts about hour and half ) but you can wander anywhere yourself.Its fun! Full size free snooker table in one of the rooms- we enjoyed that, library, puzzles etc; The surrounding grounds (complete with roman ruins and a remarkable mosiac) and gardens are carefully tended and were a treasure to walk round. All the staff at Warners were friendly and our waiter was wonderful- friendly, polite, attentive. Leisure centre sparcely used and very clean. Enjoyable.

The negatives for us were okish food, not 4*, okish entertainment (felt like a holiday camp), Loud building work going on outside our room 403 at 7.45 on Saturday/monday morning. Avoid rooms (if you are light sleepers or want quiet) near to reception as they get the morning noise from the delivery vans and late night entertainment too. Upper floor rooms VERY warm, even though fans provided- it was unbearable, even though not hot outside. When you go into dinner we were asked to show our hands and have them sprayed heavily with antisceptic . I hated that...it felt very institutionalised and rather patronising. I wont go into the details why they do it.

Room Tip: Strongly advise you to book your particular room before you go. You may want to avoid the very warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHugHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had four very enjoyable days. The gardens are beautiful and a joy to walk around. Our accommodation was very good, and very comfortable. Our only negative was the size of the dining room, there must be 200 tables in the room with very little room for privacy between them, but the choice and quality of food was very good. Because of this we had dinner on two evenings at Olivers and that was excellent especially if you want a romantic evening for two. We couldn't fault the staff in any department, they were all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a groundfloor room with patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is our second stay here. Following our previous experience we wished to confirm our opinions and also to make up for the fact that one of us could not make the most of our previous stay. This
time we stayed in Henry VIII suite. An excellent choice but one with two flights of stairs(32 steps) to climb!
A huge apartment with equally large bathroom. Adequately furnished with four poster canopied bed which proved very comfortable. However, why, in such a high quality apartment, have they put the cheapest toilet seat and cover they could find?????
The restaurant was well served with attentive staff and very good choices of menu. I took advantage of the archery and shooting which proved to be an excellent pair if activities. The grounds with tennis,bowls,putting course and lovely gardens proved to be a real attraction for both of us.
We drove in to Hungerford to visit the Antiques Arcade. As avid viewers of BBC Bargain Hunt, we spent a happy two hours browsing and seeing the vast range of items on sale.
Our next outing was to take a trip on the Horse drawn barge on the Kennet and Avon Canal. We did not avail ourselves of the cream tea which was on offer.
The whole hotel experience is really like a cruise on land. The evening entertainment was excellent with a very competent entertainment company.
We found that all the staff were very friendly and very willing to help in any way.
This was our fourth stay in a Warners and we shall certainly be repeating our experience

Room Tip: If you are over eighty choose a ground floor room !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuhillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

As this was our first visit here we were delighted to find wonderful gardens to walk round .Excellent service throughout. at mealtimes a good choice of food.very clean and comfortable rooms all in all a most pleasant experience and one we will repeat in the future.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hungerford
5.5 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,788 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
#3 of 4 in Hungerford
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
634 reviews
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Membury M4
Days Inn Membury M4
#2 of 4 in Hungerford
280 reviews
6.4 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel

Property: Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel
Address: Hungerford, Hungerford RG17 0SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Hungerford
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hungerford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There's so much to explore in the setting of this fabulous Grade I listed Historic Hotel. Enjoy the sumptuous stately rooms and the beautiful landscaped gardens. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Littlecote Hotel Hungerford
Littlecote House Hotel
Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel Hungerford, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing