We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$200
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pheasant Inn(Hungerford)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tally Ho(Hungerford)
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Three Swans Hotel(Hungerford)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$52
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$37
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Queens Arms(East Garston)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$342
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$332
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sun Inn(Hungerford)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (1,412)
Filter reviews
1,412 results
Traveller rating
649
481
183
61
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
649
481
183
61
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold housesignature roomevening entertainmententertainment teamoliver's bistroage grouproman mosaicmid week breakolder generationhistoric roomsdaytime activitiesrifle shootingresident bandtable tennisentertainment areaguided toursteeped in history
Filter
Updating list...
874 - 879 of 1,412 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Staying at Littlecote16 Broadland MGOC members had one of the most enjoyable Warner Breaks since holidaying with Warners over the past years such as stays at Thorsby,Cricket St Thomas,Nidd Hall,Norton Grange,Bodelwythin,Home Lacey all of which are well worth visiting.
Littlecote's location was ideal for driving through the Cotswolds before returning for a game of bowles and refreshments back at Littlecote afternoon's
Food was excellent everything was hot and well presented.
We found staff and evening entertainment team were tops
Everyone took advantage of Littlecote's excellent facilities.

Great

David

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlecote W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Thank you for your kind sentiments following your recent stay - I was pleased to read that you had a great time.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Lyn Maughan
Guest Liaison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We visited Littlecote House 15th August for a weekend break with my parents. The staff were lovely and it's a very interesting house with Medieval, Tudor and Elizabethan elements, including creaking wooden floors, panelled rooms, and a haunted gallery, well worth exploring. There was also a very nice leisure club with a decent pool and a well appointed gym. The food was ok, not earth shatteringly good, but perfectly acceptable. The rooms were ok, we had a signature room, the bathrooms need upgrading. This hotel caters superbly for our senior citizens and has everything on site. It was pretty full so it's obviously popular. Make sure you visit the Roman mosaic and ruins, preserved within the grounds, very interesting. The grounds are just lovely and there are tennis courts and a bowls green too.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and have one of the royal suites in the old house
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank joolstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlecote W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Thank you for the Review you posted on Trip Advisor - your kind sentiments are really appreciated and we all look forward to welcoming you back to Littlecote House in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Lyn Maughan
Guest Liaison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

A friend and I visited the spa for a facial. We booked via travelzoo and for a £70 deal for 2 we were able to spend the day at Littlecote House, enjoy a 55 minute facial and make use of the spa facilities. I will start with all the positives. The facial was absolutely fabulous, we were pampered for a full hour and it was worth every penny we paid. The grounds are fabulous so we took full advantage by having a good look around the house, the Roman Mosaic and the beautiful grounds. It was a gorgeous day so even sitting around in the grounds was relaxing and pleasurable. We stopped for lunch which was lovely and the service was extremely quick. We also received a free glass of bubbly! The negatives would be the spa facilities such as the pool, Jacuzzi, loungers, etc. These are more suited for a low budget holiday and do not compare to some of the other spa's that I have visited. The swimming pool area is not luxurious at all, it is just a fitness style pool which really needs a makeover. The Jacuzzi again needs a total makeover. The hotel felt extremely empty but then I believe it was cross-over day. The majority of people you see are retired couples so there is no real buzz or atmosphere. I would certainly go back for another facial or massage but not for the whole 'spa' experience.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tara108n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlecote W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Thank you for your comments following your Spa Day here at Littlecote House - I would like to add that your comments regarding some of the equipment in the Stables Leisure Club has been noted.

Once again many thanks for your Review on Trip Advisor.

Kind regards

Lyn Maughan
Guest Liaison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Our first trip to Littlecote House, and what a fantastic setting. The room was great, the food excellent, the staff attentive. We enjoyed the evening entertainment and felt there was something for everyone. We would recommend the hotel and Warner's to anybody, just be prepared to enjoy yourself!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Tiimh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlecote W, Guest Relations Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Littlecote House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a Review on Trip Advisor - your kind sentiments are really appreciated. We were so pleased that you had a good time and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Lyn Maughan
Guest Liaison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Booked our first Warner holiday here on recommendation of friends. 5 days, for my hubby's 70th Birthday treat.
Also booked a "Surprise" Birthday Lunch Party for him on our first day, in "Oliver's Bistro", and have to highly commend Marcus Neal, Assistant Manager at Littlecote, who arranged everything perfectly and presided over our event giving greatest attention to detail, and ensuring everything went smoothly. Tables beautifully decorated with streamers, silver star confetti, & lovely balloons! Food was excellent - from "Oliver's" Bar Menu, and our requests for several "extras" were met perfectly. The service was superb - Eve, Jess & Eugene, plus Marcus. Thank you! We had a wonderful time.
Marcus always answered my pre-arrival questions so promptly and efficiently.
Marcus, we are so sad to hear that you have left Littlecote for another position elsewhere, and are sure that Littlecote guests will be the worse off for your absence.
We have worked in the Hotel & Catering & Customer Service industries all our working lives, and your professional, friendly and very efficient service was second to none!
We found ALL the staff at Littlecote to be very friendly, helpful, polite, and even if there was a slight glitch here or there, (no hotel is 100% perfect in all areas), it was quickly remedied with a sincere apology and a smile.
We felt that the staff genuinely wanted to make our experience a pleasant and enjoyable one.
None more so than the fantastic resident entertainment staff - Dan, Lucy, Kieron, Byron, Jenna et al, and the superb resident Band. They all worked their socks off, hosting the twice daily Quizzes, taking Dance classes, Choir classes, during the day, and so much more, then giving us the most professional and exciting shows every evening! What an amazing group of young people! They should all be on the West End Stage!
The restaurant was very busy, but presided over by Alex very well. Can't understand the moans in other reviews about the food. Yes, it is mass catering, but it was also excellent mass catering. A wide choice on the menu each evening, and if you wanted or needed anything special, you just had to ask! Don't moan - just ask !!!
All 6 of our party who stayed there enjoyed the food very much, and as catering professionals, we praise Littlecote - it was great to have HOT PLATES. There were always serviettes on the service counters to use for carrying your plates - at least the food stayed hot - not like 99% of hotels & restaurants nowadays that serve hot food on cold or lukewarm plates !
You need to choose your table carefully, on arrival, as many were very tightly packed together, and the various levels were difficult for the elderly & not so agile to negotiate, so remember to tell the staff when booking your stay that you need easy access!
Our first waiter, Max, was a pleasant and good waiter, but he needs to learn to smile a wee bit more! Whereas, our second waitress, Corina, was always bright, cheerful, observant, helpful & extremely efficient.
Now, to the bedrooms. We had a Contemporary Royale, which was spacious, very comfortable, with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space for clothing & storage, a small fridge, a safe, a hairdryer, tea & coffee making facilities, a settee and extra chairs, a large screen tv & DVD player (DVDs available to borrow) and had an extra large, comfy double bed, a fan, in case we were hot - only one window, with nice view overlooking stream - quiet - a large bathroom with tub, separate superb rain shower & small "hand shower" attachment - very useful & essential for us ladies !!! - washbasin, toilet, & the usual small bottles of shower gel, shampoo, etc, plus soap and a shower cap. We also had 2 bathrobes & 2 pairs of slippers provided.

We must also praise our Room Maid, Donna B, who kept our room spic and span whilst we were there.
HOWEVER - & nothing to do with the Room Maid in any way whatsoever...
On our penultimate day there, we discovered a problem within the bathroom which we immediately reported to Reception, & were told it would be dealt with that day. The same problem was still apparent that evening, and on our final morning there, and this time, we sent an e-mail to the General Manager, Nick Dodds, and we again reported it to Reception. Whilst various people went into the bathroom to "investigate", no-one was really wanting to deal with the issue properly - i.e. To call in profession assistance, and TO THIS DAY, over a week later, we have had no response to the 2 e-mails sent to Mr. Dodds. NOT very satisfactory!!!!
This matter should have been dealt with properly & immediately, & despite a half-hearted apology as we were leaving, from the "Customer Relations" lady, & the problem being brushed aside as something WE KNOW it WAS NOT, we suspect that "commercial" & other pressures have meant that this particular issue will still NOT have been remedied in the correct manner.
Please note, Mr. Dodds, that we are prepared to "go public" if you do not deal with this matter!

Nevertheless, we thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our stay at Littlecote. The guided tour of the Historic House was fascinating, thanks to Pauline, and the grounds so beautiful, with the added bonus of the beautifully restored Roman remains & Mosaic.

A good shop in main hotel building, selling newspapers, postcards, confectionery, toiletries, & souvenirs, etc., and another shop in grounds plus a craft/paint your own ceramics shop.

We only used the swimming pool once, and with about ten people in there, half of whom were doing "lengths", it was a bit crowded, so choose your swim time carefully. Jacuzzi, sauna & steam rooms there. Didn't use any of them, so can't comment. Pool surround could do with a good deep clean &/or a refurb. It's not great. Changing facilities adequate, but only 1 hairdryer working in the Ladies. Didn't use Gym or other facilities, or Hire bicycles.

Tried to book a Shooting Session, but fully booked. Seems you need to pre-book some activities, before you arrive, to stand a chance of getting a "go".
Enjoyed the putting green. A bit of fun. Had a game of snooker.
Didn't get time to do all the other leisure activities - croquet, bowls, tennis, table tennis, but will have a go, IF we return.

Our return depends entirely on
Management's response to us & to our "bathroom" issue.

We usually stay in 4 or 5 star hotels or B&Bs in the UK, and Littlecote gets by - just - on its 4 stars, mainly due to the staff and the entertainment & activities they provide, but with the huge quantity of guests there at any one time, it is a mammoth task to keep up with standards in every area. This venue is beautiful. Just hope that they can maintain and, more importantly, IMPROVE
standards. Please take note, Mr. Dodds - and CEO !

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VETTRIANISTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews