We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B&B”

Alderborne House B & B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hungerford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alderborne House B & B
Ranked #4 of 9 Hungerford B&B and Inns
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed at Pat & Colin's B&B for one night whilst attending a wedding close by. We would recommend Alderborne house to antone wanting to visit the area the rooms are warm, light and the beds are very compfortable. Pat gave us a great breakfast on Sunday morning and told us all about the area. All in all a very very good place to stay with good home cooked breakfasts.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RayT020150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dursley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

After a long day in the saddle, cycling the National Cycle Networks's Route 4 from Bristol we received a warm and friendly welcome from Pat and Colin. One of our party of 4 cyclists is blind and Pat made such an effort to ensure things were just right for us that it felt like we were staying with old friends. Colin willingly came to the rescue in helping with a repair to a cycling shoe and nothing seemed too much trouble.

Staying at Alderbourne House is very convenient for eating out in Hungerford. Pat and Colin shared their sound local knowledge of the various local establishments and as a result we enjoyed a great evening out with good food and beer and a pleasant walk back afterwards.

Our rooms were very comfortable and clean and we all enjoyed a comfortable night's sleep.
A lovely breakfast was cooked by Pat as we sat chatting in the kitchen, after which it seemed such a shame to be moving on again.

If we are in the area again we won't hesitate to book in at Alderbourne House, it's just perfect.

Steve C. Dursley, Gloucestershire.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We stayed for a weekend while visiting friends in Hungerford and would recommend the Aldbourne House B & B to anybody visiting the area. The hosts were both very hospitable and friendly towards us and the room was delightfull. We enjoyed a hearty breakfast and felt that nothing was too much trouble for our hosts Pat and Colin.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Lovely house and lovely hosts. Very warm welcoming greeting, quiet and a relaxed atmosphere away from the noise of the High Street. Easy to find and above all a safe place to park our car off the road. Much attention to detail making this a great little place to stay. Excellent choice of breakfast with our vegetarian diet in mind. All rooms are immaculately dressed as evidenced on their website and we have no hesitation in recommending this bnb. Lovely photos dotted around and pictures picked up from their extensive travelling.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fkwalker64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

We arrived at Alderbourne, after a long day of walking on the Kennet and Avon Canal, to be met with big smiles and a handshake from our hosts Colin and Pat so we knew we had come to the right place to rest for the next day's walk. The smell of fresh bread just baked by Colin added to the welcome feeling. The room was bright and airy and spotlessly clean so, after a badly needed shower, we collapsed on the bed, hardly believing our luck. Breakfast the next day was served up promptly, as they knew we had a long walk ahead of us, with a well thought-out menu to nourish us for the day ahead. Being experienced walkers themselves they knew the importance of this sort of preparation. We were given a nice send-off with directions to get to the next stage of our walk on the canal. Altogether it was a great experience.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed equally well placed for views over the Berkshire countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed in this bnb earlier in the year when the weather was so cold but a complete contrast inside - attention to our comfort was the foremost on our hosts minds which was much appreciated. Our room was superb and the wonderful warm walk-in shower - albeit not a power shower - was just perfect. Colin's helpfulness with walk suggestions and the loan of maps was unsurpassed as was the picnic prepared by Pat. On our return from our first day's walk the 'after care' provided by Colin to our walking gear was very much gratefully appreciated which enabled us to walk again the following day. Fellow walkers you are in for a treat at this bnb

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoL7473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012

A friendly greeting by host Colin made us feel welcome as he ushered us in and helped carry our luggage upstairs to very comfortable rooms. A full English breakfast next morning was beautifully prepared by Pam and helped make our stay most enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Team132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pat H, Owner at Alderborne House B & B, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
I have only today noticed that we are on trip advisor and that you had made a review of our bnb. Thank you and do hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Britain. We have lots of your fellow countrymen and do enjoy their company as we do with all our guests - our motto being Come as a Guest and Go as a friend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hungerford
0.7 mi away
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
#3 of 4 in Hungerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Three Swans Hotel
Three Swans Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hungerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Days Inn Membury M4
Days Inn Membury M4
#2 of 4 in Hungerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
The Sun Inn
#5 of 9 in Hungerford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Pelican Inn
The Pelican Inn
#1 of 2 in Froxfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alderborne House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alderborne House B & B

Property: Alderborne House B & B
Address: 33 Bourne Vale, Hungerford RG17 0LL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Hungerford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hungerford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Detached Family Home located on the southern edge of the town in a quiet location. Backing on to open countryside with far reaching views of the Berkshire and Wiltshire Countryside. We are a short walk from the town centre, railway station and the Kennet and Avon Canal. M4(J14) is approx 3 miles away making this an ideal stopover or touring base. Hosts pleased to help with touring information - many excellent local walks. Offstreet parking, secure cycle store and drying facilities.  All rooms decorated to a very high standard, light and airy with splendid views of garden and the beautiful countryside. Single Room available if let with another room and prepared to share bathroom. Very convenient for business in the Thames Valley.  Fishing on the River Kennet can be arranged.  Warm welcome in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alderborne House B & B Hungerford, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing