We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic pitstop”
Review of Eliane

Eliane
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Hungerford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Vibrant cafe in the heart of Hungerford open from 8.30Am to 5.30Pm weekdays and open from 7pm for dinner on Thursdays, serving a selection of teas and coffees, healthy smoothies and juices and wide range of nutritious lunch dishes and cakes catering to a range of dietary needs.
1 review
“Fantastic pitstop”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Whilst in town waiting for the car to be looked at I wondered down the high street looking for a venue where I could do some work and have a coffee whilst trying to entertain my five year old.

This place is a gem, the staff where great and really friendly and took the time to talk to "batman", we stayed for quite a while so managed to sample the cakes, sandwiches and tea. In the end we also left with chocolate treats for the rest of the family.

The food was very good, my five year old exclaimed that the cakes where "lovely" and the sandwich was "delicious". Will definitely pop in again when we're in Hungerford.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    68
    24
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Oxfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent +++”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Visited for first time today for early lunch/snack. Lovely smells on entering, friendly attentive staff, quick service, reasonably priced and food excellent. Will certainly visit again when in Hungerford. In addition to all this I left some very important documents behind...later phoned to be told that they had been found and were being kept safely. Returned to collect later in the day and staff were charming. Very reluctant to accept 'tip' I wanted to leave to show my appreciation. Can not recommend highly enough.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dottiepippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
88 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A gem on a high street that has little to offer other than antique shops”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were in Hungerford for two days for a family wedding and found ourselves having lunch on both days at Eliane. Frankly there is nothing to compare on the main street. It has a delightful ambience that is aided by the air conditioning (it was a very hot weekend) and the extremely friendly and helpful staff. Excellent coffee, very fresh sandwiches and amazing cakes make for a great place. Wish we had been able to try some of the other food because it all looked delicious

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beancounter27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Could do better”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

With so few eateries (that aren't pubs) in Hungerford I wandered into Eliane with my son. The food range is certainly different and the cakes look delicious, if a little obscure (orange and lavender!) but the prices seemed very high. There was a language barrier that resulted in my Americano being a Mocha and several attempts to get an Earl Grey Tea became a latte because it was easier. Our chilli chicken panini was just chicken, no rocket or tomato or anything. When it arrived there was mould on the bread. We asked for it to be replaced but by the time it arrived we had drunk our drinks and eaten our cake and were looking to head home. And the place wasn't busy.

I shan't go again - it's just too expensive for what I needed which was coffee, sandwich and a cake for two without the bill being the wrong side of £15 and the service was very very slow given there were 4 people behind the counter and only one other table of customers.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary-Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quality, stylish & friendly service”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We visited Hungerford on our Narrowboat & looked around the town. Eliane is a stylish cafe / restaurant. Tasty cakes & looking through into the kitchen you can watch the chef creating eye catching salads & lunch dishes. There's a small outside courtyard area too. Staff are all very friendly. Certainly recommend as a coffee / lunch venue.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimmykh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eliane also viewed

Hungerford, Berkshire
Hungerford, Berkshire
 
Hungerford, Berkshire
 
Hungerford, Berkshire
Hungerford, Berkshire
 

Been to Eliane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing