We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely peaceful Saturday afternoon in the sun”
Review of Clayton's Marlow

Clayton's Marlow
Ranked #27 of 76 Restaurants in Marlow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Marlow High Street lies Clayton’s Marlow, an independent bar and kitchen owned and run by two friends who share a passion for style, service and music.Created with the vision of being a destination venue where you can eat, drink and party in style, they combine quality entertainment with real good burgers and lovingly crafted cocktails bringing a touch of London’s vibrant bar scene to Buckinghamshire.Opening Hours: Monday – Thursday 4pm to 11pm, Friday 4pm till 1am, Saturday 12pm till 1am Sunday available for Private Hire.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful Saturday afternoon in the sun”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I came to Marlow for some rest and relaxation. We stumbled across Clayton's after a walk through the town where it was very busy. Clayton's is awesome... Whilst it's a popular night bar, in the afternoon it's quiet and peaceful. The American young lady behind the bar was very helpful and chatty, a credit to the team! (Good luck on her next travelling adventure). We had a gorgeous Greek mezze and despite us asking to exchange olives for cold meat (which is more expensive) it was no trouble. Delicious home made humous... If you’re in Marlow, come here

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    25
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really nice staff and food”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Went here for a date, a little quiet, but the bar lady was lovely, and helpful.

Had Tapas, which was excellent especially the Chorizo in red wine.

Whole thing was very nice and the slightly less busy atmosphere suited, as gave a chance to talk.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kindnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“How do they make money?!”
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

20 degrees, sun splitting the sky, decent beer garden...and we're the only people...how does that happen? We called last Saturday afternoon and were greeted by a lovely young girl behind the bar. The bar looks grand, it's central and the menu looks good, so why no customers? We called here for Sunday lunch next day. I'm sure it would be good...if they opened Sundays. So we're not really in a position to judge it unfortunately.

Helpful?
1 Thank McFoieGras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“This bar is not what it used to be!”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

The new management of Clayton's have really changed the place from what it used to be. We popped in for a drink on a Friday evening. The staff were extremely friendly and attentive and there was a lovely atmosphere. A good mix of clientele, couples and groups of friends - not the kind of "pick-up join" it once was, thankfully. Definitely worth a try and if you had an old perception of Clayton's, think again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank MFBF0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benidorm, Comunidad Valenciana, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“New Years Eve”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Well as you can read in the title there's not much I can say about the food as it was mainly drinking but would like to thank the team at Clayton's for a wonderful night.
Just one thing: we forgot our New Years tickets and was told over the phone that not a problem, they had our names and ticket numbers. Then I receive voice message from someone else telling me that that was not possible having to get a cab back to slough and return for a large sum of money. A bit of common sense asking the door staff to look out for us would have been sufficient. Hence 3 stars not 5.

Helpful?
Thank Riweb1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clayton's Marlow also viewed

Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
Marlow, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to Clayton's Marlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing